The Boys in the Boat (43-Minute Excerpt)

Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

By Daniel James Brown

Narrated by Edward Herrmann
43 minutes

  Add to your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

×

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

Get The Boys in the Boat Unabridged

About the Author

I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and attended Diablo Valley College, the University of California at Berkeley, and UCLA. I taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford before becoming a technical writer and editor. I now write narrative nonfiction books full time. My primary interest as a writer is in bringing compelling historical events to life as vividly and accurately as I can.

I live in the country outside of Seattle, Washington with my wife, two daughters, and an assortment of cats, dogs, chickens, and honeybees. When I am not writing, I am likely to be birding, gardening, fly fishing, reading American history, or chasing bears away from the bee hives.

Reviews

The Boys in the Boat is an exciting blend of history and Olympic sport. I was drawn in as much by the personal stories as I was by the Olympic glory. A must read for anyone looking to be inspired!

Luke Mcgee, USA Rowing Men’s National Team Coach

For those who like adventure stories straight-up, The Boys in the Boat… is this year’s closest approximation of Unbroken….It’s about the University of Washington’s crew team: “Nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant.

New York Times

An evocative, cinematic prose… [Brown] makes his heroes’ struggle as fascinating as the best Olympic sagas.

Publishers Weekly

Cogent history…, and a surprisingly suspenseful tale of triumph.

USA Today

Author

Narrator
Edward Herrmann

ISBN
3938559381926

Length
43 minutes

Language
English

Publisher
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group

Publication Date

Abridged
No