Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Pick
Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L. Browne
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Chlorine Sky

$15.40 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
Length 2 hours 4 minutes
Language English
Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X 

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.

Mahogany L. Browne is a California-born, Brooklyn-based writer, educator, activist, mentor, and curator. She has published several books of poetry, and she is an Urban Word NYC Artistic Director (as seen on HBO's Brave New Voices), founder of Women Writers of Color Reading Room, and Director of BLM@Pratt Programming, and facilitates performance poetry and writing workshops throughout the country.

Mahogany's poetry picture books include Black Girl Magic and Woke Baby.

Mahogany L. Browne is a California-born, Brooklyn-based writer, educator, activist, mentor, and curator. She has published several books of poetry, and she is an Urban Word NYC Artistic Director (as seen on HBO's Brave New Voices), founder of Women Writers of Color Reading Room, and Director of BLM@Pratt Programming, and facilitates performance poetry and writing workshops throughout the country.

Mahogany's poetry picture books include Black Girl Magic and Woke Baby.

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting Libro.fm app with a bow

Reviews

"A profound reminder that sometimes the most revolutionary thing a girl can be is herself. I couldn't put it down." —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"A story about heart and backbone, and one only Mahogany L. Browne could bring forth." —Jason Reynolds, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

"Browne’s searing and poignant writing will undoubtedly bring readers back to her stories again and again." —Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author

"A searing voice that commands attention." —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of the Belles series

"Chlorine Sky is a vivid literary balm that animates the English language with rhythm, heart, and radical truth telling love." Aja Monet, Nuyorican Poets Café Grand Slam Champion

"A remarkable, compelling voice." —The Bulletin, Starred Review 

"A coming-of-age novel for Black girls
who have been told they’re too much and yet never enough." Kirkus Reviews Expand reviews