Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Bookseller Pick
Migrations
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Migrations

A Novel

By Charlotte McConaghy
Narrated by Barrie Kreinik / 8 hours 48 minutes

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.

Bookseller recommendation

Migrations

“Imagine a world where almost all the animals have disappeared. Imagine a love strong enough to believe it can make a difference. In a fragile, near-future world, author Charlotte McConaghy gives us Franny Stone, a character as wild and broken as the few remaining Arctic terns she is determined to follow on what will most likely be their last migration. Franny’s quest is as epic as Captain Ahab’s, and while it leaves much destruction in its wake, it is ultimately a quest toward life. Migrations is a book so beautiful it will leave you breathless. Breathless with cold despair, and breathless with pulsating life and hope. This is a truly stunning debut.”

Buffalo Street Books image Lisa Swayze, Buffalo Street Books

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world’s last flock of Arctic terns and follow them on their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds she is tracking will lead them to fish.

As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny’s new shipmates begin to realize that she is full of dark secrets: night terrors, an unsent pile of letters, and an obsession with pursuing the terns at any cost. When the story of her past begins to unspool, Ennis and his crew must ask themselves what Franny is really running toward—and running from.

Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Charlotte McConaghy's Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking story about the lengths we will go for the people we love.

A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books

Gift

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Start gifting
 

About the Author

Charlotte McConaghy is an author and screenwriter based in Sydney, Australia. Migrations is her U.S. debut.


Reviews

“Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer. ”

Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven

“Transfixing, gorgeously precise…[The] evocation of a world bereft of wildlife is piercing; Franny’s otherworldliness is captivating; and her misadventures and anguished secrets are gripping.”

Booklist starred review

Author
Narrator Barrie Kreinik
ISBN 9781250751508
Length 8 hours 48 minutes
Language English
Publisher Macmillan Audio
Publication date
Edition Unabridged
Genres Fiction & Literature & Literary Fiction
Libro.fm rank #472 Overall
Genre rank #119 in Literary Fiction