Skip navigation
Skip content
The Corpse Flower by Anne Mette Hancock

$28.74 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
  Add to wish list

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your wish list you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Corpse Flower

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Sharp Objects in this internationally bestselling psychological thriller—perfect for fans of Jo Nesbø and Henning Mankell.


Danish journalist Heloise Kaldan is in the middle of a nightmare. One of her sources has been caught lying, and she could lose her job over it. Then she receives the first in a series of cryptic and unsettling letters from a woman named Anna Kiel. 

Wanted in connection with the fatal stabbing of a young lawyer three years earlier, Anna hasn't been seen by anyone since she left the crime scene covered in blood. The police think she's fled the country until homicide detective Erik Scháfer comes up with a lead after the reporter who originally wrote about the case is found murdered in his apartment. Has Anna Kiel struck again, or is there more than one killer at large? And why does every clue point directly to Heloise Kaldan? 

Meanwhile, the letters keep coming, and they hint at a connection between Anna and Heloise. As Heloise starts digging deeper, she realizes that to tell Anna's story she will have to revisit the darkest parts of her own past - confronting someone she swore she'd never see again.

Gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting app with a bow

About the author

Anne Mette Hancock is a Danish author. In 2017, she made her debut as an author with The Corpse Flower, where we are introduced to journalist Heloise Kaldan and police officer Erik Schäfer. This poignant suspense novel awarded her with the Danish Crime Academy’s debutant prize in 2017 and made the top of all the bestseller lists.

The second book in the series, The Collector, was published in Denmark in 2018 to great acclaim. That very year Anne Mette Hancock was named Author of the year in Denmark. Her third novel Pitbull was published in January of 2020 and many of the critics called it Hancock's "best book yet."

The series is sold for publication in 18 countries, including Germany, France and the US.

Hancock has a bachelor’s degree in History and studied journalism in Denmark. She was born in the small town of Gråsten in Denmark and has lived in both the US and France. Today Anne Mette lives in Copenhagen with her family.


“Scandinavian noir at its noirest.”

Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[A] gripping debut . . . Assured prose matches the intricate plot. Hancock is off to a strong start.”

Publishers Weekly

“Anne Mette Hancock, newcomer to the Nordic thriller, has a lot of talent.”

ELLE (France)

“Anne Mette Hancock has composed a truly suspenseful mystery with elegant twists and intriguing characters.”

Bielefelder. Das Stadtmagazin (Germany)

Related reading

Author's Instagram

Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Audiobook details