Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Audra' Favorites

She Come By It Natural

Dolly Parton and the Women Who Lived Her Songs

By Sarah Smarsh
Narrated by: Sarah Smarsh
Length: 4 hours 33 minutes

If you enjoyed Yours Cruelly, Elvira, then you’ll love She Come By It Natural.

“This slim cultural study lovingly explores how Dolly Parton’s music has given a voice to generations of working-class women. Parton is one of the few celebrities that has a truly unifying effect, bringing folks together from all walks of life. This book will give you a greater (if that’s even possible) appreciation of Dolly and might even give you a new perspective on the women that came before you.”

Blue Cypress Books image LeeAnna, Blue Cypress Books
Audiobook details

Dark Archives

A Librarian's Investigation Into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin

By Megan Rosenbloom
Narrated by: Justis Bolding
Length: 6 hours 58 minutes

On bookshelves around the world, surrounded by ordinary books bound in paper and leather, rest other volumes of a distinctly strange and grisly sort: those bound in human skin. Would you know one if you held it in your hand? In Dark Archives, Megan Rosenbloom seeks out the historic and scientific truths behind anthropodermic bibliopegy?the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Vesper Flights

By Helen Macdonald
Narrated by: Helen Macdonald
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

Vesper Flights

“This audio book was my daily meditation. It is the perfect way to wrap up 2020. Soothing and inspirational, I am recommending to all my friends and family. ”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kristine, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Breath

The New Science of a Lost Art

By James Nestor
Narrated by: James Nestor
Length: 7 hours 18 minutes

A New York Times Bestseller

A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2020

Named a Best Book of 2020 by NPR
 
“A fascinating scientific, cultural, spiritual and evolutionary history of the way humans breathe—and how we’ve all been doing it wrong for a long, long time.” —Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Big Magic and Eat Pray Love

No matter what you...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Shit, Actually

The Definitive, 100% Objective Guide to Modern Cinema

By Lindy West
Narrated by: Lindy West
Length: 7 hours 16 minutes

Shit, Actually

“Lindy West makes true observations about movies in ways that will make you laugh at out, and cause you to re-think some of your 90s/00s favorite films! Her witty commentary is what we all NEED in this 2020 world, even if you have not seen the films. It’s written by someone smart and hilarious who has strong opinions about things that don’t matter. The PERFECT road trip audiobook, listeners can come in and out without loosing place in the book. *12/10 DVDs of The Fugitive*”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details

Circe

By Madeline Miller
Narrated by: Perdita Weeks
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

Circe

“This sweeping tale of the gods and heroes of Greek mythology as seen through the eyes of a minor goddess had me from the first chapter. I listened to this as an audiobook from our audio vendor, Libro.fm. The brilliant narrator was the 29-year-old Welsh film actress, Perdita Weeks.”

Changing Hands image Bob, Changing Hands
Audiobook details

Luster

A Novel

By Raven Leilani
Narrated by: Ariel Blake
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

If you enjoyed Such a Fun Age, then you’ll love Luster.

“An incredibly unique story, Luster inserts the reader into the head of the novel's protagonist, a young Black woman having an affair with an older white man in an open marriage. Things get complicated when she sneaks into her lover's house and is caught by the wife who then invites her to stay for their anniversary party. Luster is a brilliant mash-up (kind of) of Such a Fun Age and The Roxy Letters, but with added layers. Raven Leilani's writing is going to stick with me for a long time!”

Skylark Bookshop image Mary, Skylark Bookshop
Audiobook details

American Oligarchs

The Kushners, the Trumps, and the Marriage of Money and Power

By Andrea Bernstein
Narrated by: Andrea Bernstein
Length: 15 hours 36 minutes

A multigenerational saga of two families who rose from immigrant roots to the pinnacle of U.S. power that tracks the unraveling of American democracy.

In American Oligarchs, award-winning investigative journalist Andrea Bernstein creates a vivid portrait of two emblematic American families. Their journey to the White House is a story of survival... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Library Book

By Susan Orlean
Narrated by: Susan Orlean
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

The Library Book

“A love letter to books, librarians, and libraries (and the often quirky communities that inhabit them), The Library Book sets out to uncover the truth behind the mystery of the Los Angeles Public Library Fire of 1986. As always, Orleans exhibits her talent for translating historic details into engrossing narratives, while thrilling the reader with all sorts of surprising twists and outlandish characters that you really couldn’t make up if you tried. Witty, poignant, riveting, Orlean’s performance is fabulous! A must-listen for every devotee of bookstores and libraries.”

Oblong Books image Noelle, Oblong Books
Audiobook details

Naturally Tan

A Memoir

By Tan France
Narrated by: Tan France
Length: 7 hours 3 minutes

Naturally Tan

“Maybe the most fun audiobook ever. Plus I know now how to find the perfect pair of jeans.”

HearthFire Books and Treats image Mollie, HearthFire Books and Treats
Audiobook details

Wow, No Thank You.

Essays

By Samantha Irby
Narrated by: Samantha Irby
Length: 10 hours 3 minutes

A new rip-roaring essay collection from the smart, edgy, hilarious, unabashedly raunchy, and bestselling Samantha Irby.

Irby is forty, and increasingly uncomfortable in her own skin despite what Inspirational Instagram Infographics have promised her. She has left her job as a receptionist at a veterinary clinic, has published successful books and... Read more »

Audiobook details

How Democracies Die

By Steven Levitsky & Daniel Ziblatt
Narrated by: Fred Sanders
Length: 8 hours 24 minutes

For readers of On Tyranny and Why Nations Fail, a bracing look at the demise of liberal democracies around the world--and a roadmap for rescuing our own

Donald Trump's presidency has raised a question that many of us never thought we'd be asking: Is our democracy in danger? Harvard professors Steven Levitsky and Daniel Ziblatt have spent two... Read more »

Audiobook details