Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Sara's Picks for June & July

Sara's Picks for June & July

Here are some of my favorite audiobooks for the months of June & July!

Playlist Tags: Bookish

View all playlists

Rodham

A Novel

By Curtis Sittenfeld
Narrated by: Carrington MacDuffie
Length: 13 hours 58 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of American Wife and Eligible . . . He proposed. She said no. And it changed her life forever.
 
“A deviously clever what if.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
“Immersive, escapist.”—Good Morning America
“Ingenious.”—The New York Times

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New Yorker • NPR • The Washington... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Long Bright River

A Novel

By Liz Moore
Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
Length: 13 hours 18 minutes

Long Bright River

“At the heart of this sleek police noir is a family decayed and ravaged by drug addiction. And make no mistake, LONG BRIGHT RIVER does have a heart. Although it is full of twists and turns and has a who-done-it element that will blow your mind at every second, it is also an examination of family, motherhood, and inherited trauma that is both bone- chillingly accurate and almost heartwarming in its cautious optimism. We follow a police officer in Philadelphia named Mickey who is desperate to find her drug addicted sister, Kacey, after she disappears off the streets and a string of addicted women turn up murdered. Will Mickey get to her sister before it's too late? It's clear Moore had her finger to the pulse of this country at the time of writing it; it's eerie to see the foreshadows to today that crept their way into the narrative that I'd wager are both conscious and subconscious on Moore's part. This book begins as you'd expect but concludes in ways impossible to see coming. Perfect for cold, rainy nights and red wine, LONG BRIGHT RIVER is a listen I guarantee will stay with you days if not weeks after you finish.”

BookBar image Conner, BookBar
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Book of Longings

A Novel

By Sue Monk Kidd
Narrated by: Mozhan Marnò & Sue Monk Kidd
Length: 13 hours 22 minutes

The Book of Longings

“I absolutely could not put this book down. Sue Monk Kidd has written a narrative that not only centers on women who are missing from or largely ignored in scriptural accounts, but it focuses on their voices, stories, and hardships — their everyday lives and bigger-than-everyday longings. As Kidd is writing Ana’s story, Ana herself is writing the stories of women she’s learned about and women she knows. Her determination to give them voices weaves beautifully and reverently with Jesus’ teachings about reaching out to the marginalized and the forgotten.”

Roundabout Books image Anastacia Compton, Roundabout Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Second Home

A Novel

By Christina Clancy
Narrated by: Tavia Gilbert
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

The Second Home

“While reading The Second Home, you can taste the saltwater of both the ocean and the tears of familial pain. Christina Clancy has written a beautiful story of family and the bonds that can be broken and somehow repaired again. The characters and location are so well-written, you’ll feel like you’ve vacationed on the Cape for years with the Gordon family. Fans of Jane Hamilton and We Were the Mulvaneys will love The Second Home.”

Arcadia Books image Nancy Baenen, Arcadia Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Hollywood Park

A Memoir

By Mikel Jollett
Narrated by: Mikel Jollett
Length: 11 hours 44 minutes

Hollywood Park

Hollywood Park is the kind of memoir that will turn you completely inside out before it lets you go. Within the specificity of his story, Mikel Jollett has somehow managed to make space for all of us — the intricate voice of his child and adolescent selves is one every reader will easily hear in their own head. This book is a brilliant and raw balancing of the accounts that make up a self, and I have nothing but respect for the vulnerability it took Jollett to step down from the stage he’s used to occupying as a musician and into a story that readers everywhere will hold in their hands and hearts for a very long time.”

Tattered Cover image Afton Montgomery, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

You Should See Me in a Crown

By Leah Johnson
Narrated by: Alaska Jackson
Length: 7 hours 18 minutes

You Should See Me in a Crown

“Here is the novel that will restore your faith in humanity in spades. In Campbell, Indiana, being crowned prom royalty is the ultimate recognition. And this year Liz Lighty needs to win that crown because it happens to be attached to an academic scholarship she desperately needs. The cards are stacked against her: she struggles with anxiety, poverty and grief, all while being queer and Black in a staunchly traditional white culture. Alaska Jackson's narration infuses these fresh voices with nuance and vitality. Liz Lighty's journey to finding her voice and claiming her power in a midwestern town that has historically never made space for 'outliers' is a jubilant one that we are so lucky take alongside her.”

Bear Pond Books image Jane, Bear Pond Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Broken People

A Novel

By Sam Lansky
Narrated by: Sam Lansky
Length: 8 hours 44 minutes

Broken People

Broken People tells one man’s deeply personal story of confronting insecurities, obsessions, and frustrations while challenging many current cultural constructs. The pain and self-doubt will be recognized by many a reader, who will in equal measure cheer and thank Lansky for sharing a hopeful journey to forgiveness.”

{pages} a bookstore image Linda McLoughlin Figel, {pages} a bookstore
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

These Ghosts are Family

A Novel

By Maisy Card
Narrated by: Karl O’Brian Williams
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

PEN/Hemingway Award For Debut Novel Finalist​
Shortlisted for the 2020 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize

A “rich, ambitious debut novel” (The New York Times Book Review) that reveals the ways in which a Jamaican family forms and fractures over generations, in the tradition of Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

Stanford Solomon’s shocking,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Florence Adler Swims Forever

By Rachel Beanland
Narrated by: Jonathan Davis, Tim Paige, Carly Robins, Jonathan Todd Ross, Tara Sands, Jesse Vilinsky, Gabra Zackman & Rachel Beanland
Length: 12 hours 14 minutes

Florence Adler Swims Forever

“I admit it. I do judge a book by its cover. When I glanced at the cover, I assumed it was a light beach read. After finishing this character-driven novel, I found it to be so much more. The story takes place over several months and follows the members of the Adler family. There is a huge plot twist within the first few pages of the book. The story revolves around keeping this devastating event from the oldest daughter, who is on bed rest due to her pregnancy. This book is for the reader who enjoys family drama. I adored every quirky, entertaining character in this delightful novel. The narration was top-notch.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Melinda, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Heroes

The Greek Myths Reimagined

By Stephen Fry
Narrated by: Stephen Fry
Length: 15 hours 1 minutes

In this sequel to the bestselling Mythos, legendary author and actor Stephen Fry moves from the exploits of the Olympian gods to the deeds of mortal heroes.

Perseus. Jason. Atalanta. Theseus. Heracles. Rediscover the thrills, grandeur, and unabashed fun of the Greek myths. Whether recounting a tender love affair or a heroic triumph, Fry deftly... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account