Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller
Road Trip Audiobooks for Ages 8-14

Road Trip Audiobooks for Ages 8-14

Adventure, fantasy, magic... exciting tales to accompany you and your family on long rides to near-far-off lands! These stories have been specially picked for you by Jennifer of Humpty Dumpty Books.

Playlist Tags: Humpty Dumpty Books genre: Children's topic: family audience: kids topic: road trip audience: vacationers topic: adventure exciting fun summer

View all playlists

The Chronicles of Harris Burdick

Fourteen Amazing Authors Tell the Tales / With an Introduction by Lemony Snicket

By Chris Van Allsburg
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell, Christopher Lane & Luke Daniels
Length: 6 hours 16 minutes

For more than twenty-five years, readers have been puzzling over the illustrations by this enigmatic artist. Thousands of children have been inspired to weave their own stories to go with his intriguingly titled pictures. And now, some of our most imaginative storytellers attempt to solve the perplexing mysteries of Harris Burdick.

Enter The...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Maximillian Fly

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Sean Welsh Brown, Jennifer Nittoso, Fred Berman, Josh Hurley & Tavia Gilbert
Length: 9 hours 36 minutes

The bestselling author of the Septimus Heap series, Angie Sage, delivers a gripping and darkly humorous tale of Maximillian Fly—a human with cockroach features—whose quiet life is upended when he aids two human children in their escape from an oppressive governing power.

Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Adam Gidwitz.

Maximillian Fly wants no...

Read more »

Audiobook details

We Dream of Space

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 5 hours 55 minutes

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. A great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Esperanza Rising

By Pam Muñoz Ryan
Narrated by: Trini Alvarado
Length: 4 hours 42 minutes

When Esperanza and Mama are forced to flee to the bountiful region of Aguascalientes, Mexico, to a Mexican farm labor camp in California, they must adjust to a life without fancy dresses and servants they were accustomed to on Rancho de las Rosas. Now they must confront the challenges of hard work, acceptance by their own people, and economic... Read more »

Audiobook details

Septimus Heap, Book One: Magyk

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Allan Corduner
Length: 12 hours 9 minutes

The first book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“A deliciously spellbinding series opener.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fun, mystery, and rollicking...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Septimus Heap, Book Two: Flyte

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
Length: 11 hours 22 minutes

The second book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a  wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“Terrifically entertaining. Fans of the first book will be delighted with this sequel to Septimus’s story.”...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Septimus Heap, Book Three: Physik

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
Length: 12 hours 5 minutes

The third book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“Few fans of the best-selling Septimus Heap series will be disappointed.” —ALA Booklist

“Readers will be...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Septimus Heap, Book Four: Queste

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
Length: 14 hours 7 minutes

There's trouble at the Castle, and it's all because Merrin Meredith has returned with Darke plans for Septimus. More trouble awaits Septimus and Jenna in the form of Tertius Fume, the ghost of the very first Chief Hermetic Scribe, who is determined to send Septimus on a deadly Queste. But Septimus and Jenna have other plans—they are headed for...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Septimus Heap, Book Five: Syren

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
Length: 14 hours 3 minutes

In this fifth book in the Magykal series, Septimus ends up on a captivatingly beautiful island, one of seven set in a sparkling sea. He's stranded there with his badly injured dragon, Spit Fyre, along with Jenna and Beetle. There are some strange things about the island, including a Magykal girl named Syrah, a cat-shaped lighthouse that has lost...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Septimus Heap, Book Six: Darke

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
Length: 13 hours 30 minutes

In the sixth book of the Magykal series, Alther Mella has been Banished, a Darke Domaine engulfs the Castle, and a Darke dragon is on the loose. Septimus Heap must use all of his skills to save the Castle and the Wizard Tower from destruction: He must enter the Darke. But he cannot do this alone. With the help of Jenna, Alther Mella, Marcellus...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Septimus Heap, Book Seven: Fyre

By Angie Sage
Narrated by: Gerard Doyle
Length: 15 hours 4 minutes

The seventh book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“To wrap up her deservedly popular series, Sage calls back nearly all of the first six volumes’ cast members,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I

The Mysterious Howling

By Maryrose Wood
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 5 hours 27 minutes

The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book II

The Hidden Gallery
Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book #2

By Maryrose Wood
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 5 hours 57 minutes

The second book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Thanks to their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia are much more like children than wolf cubs...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book III

Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book #3

By Maryrose Wood
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 6 hours 50 minutes

The third book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Since returning from London, the three Incorrigible children and their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, have been exceedingly...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV

The Interrupted Tale
Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book #4

By Maryrose Wood
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 8 hours 19 minutes

For fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society comes the fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

In The Interrupted Tale, Miss Penelope Lumley receives an invitation to speak at the annual...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V

Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book #5

By Maryrose Wood
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 9 hours 20 minutes

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book VI

The Long-Lost Home

By Maryrose Wood
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 10 hours 5 minutes

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the final book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

Unhappy Penelope Lumley is trapped in unhappy Plinkst! Even the beets for which Plinkst is...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH

By Robert O'Brien
Narrated by: Barbara Caruso
Length: 6 hours 13 minutes

Mrs. Frisby, a widowed mouse with four small children, is faced with a terrible problem. She must move her family to their summer quarters immediately, or face almost certain death. But her youngest son, Timothy, lies ill with pneumonia and must not be moved. Fortunately, she encounters the rats of NIMH, an extraordinary breed of highly... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Princess and the Goblin

By George MacDonald
Narrated by: Brooke Heldman
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

One of the most successful and beloved Victorian fairy tales...

The Princess and the Goblin is the story of Princess Irene and her friend Curdie, who come face to face with the dreaded mountain goblins. This children’s fantasy novel was originally published in 1872. It uses subtle layers of symbolism to tell a story of courage and honor.

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Hobbit

Lord of the Rings

By J.R.R. Tolkien
Narrated by: Rob Inglis
Length: 11 hours 4 minutes

Like every other hobbit, Bilbo Baggins likes nothing better than a quiet evening in his snug hole in the ground, dining on a sumptuous dinner in front of a fire. But when a wandering wizard captivates him with tales of the unknown, Bilbo becomes restless. Soon he joins the wizard's band of homeless dwarves in search of giant spiders, savage... Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference