Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller
Pat's Picks

Pat's Picks

Armchair travel (Europe & U.S.) and history combined, with a great plot. As a history major, I find it interesting to see what a bit of research and a good plot can make an exciting book.

Playlist Tags: Village Square Booksellers genre: Historical Fiction topic: historical fiction ww2 women post-war

View all playlists

Eternal

By Lisa Scottoline
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell, Edoardo Ballerini & Lisa Scottoline
Length: 19 hours 5 minutes

Eternal

Eternal is an exhilarating, sweeping novel from the beloved Lisa Scottoline. Fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See will instantly fall in love with this beautiful WWII novel. With a dash of everything you want in your next favorite read plus everything we have ever loved about Scottoline’s writing, Eternal will without a doubt be at the top of every must-read list for 2021.”

Bethany Beach Books image Amanda Zirn Hudson, Bethany Beach Books
Audiobook details

The Book of Two Ways

A Novel

By Jodi Picoult
Narrated by: Patti Murin
Length: 15 hours 47 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light comes a “powerful” (The Washington Post) novel about the choices that alter the course of our lives.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MARIE CLAIRE

Everything changes in a single moment for Dawn Edelstein. She’s on a plane when the flight attendant... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hour of the Witch

A Novel

By Chris Bohjalian
Narrated by: Grace Experience, Saskia Maarleveld, Danny Campbell, Cassandra Campbell, Arthur Morey, Mark Deakins, Julia Whelan, Kaleo Griffith, Kirby Heyborne, Rebecca Lowman & Mark Bramhall
Length: 14 hours 8 minutes

Hour of the Witch

“Mary Deerfield is married to a cruel and violent man who outwardly appears to be a pillar of the Putritan Boston community of 1662. She tries to divorce miller Thomas, but during the trial she runs up against suspicions of witchcraft, a hanging offense. ”

Village Square Booksellers image Pat, Village Square Booksellers
Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

The Four Winds

A Novel

By Kristin Hannah
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 15 hours 2 minutes

The Four Winds

“A brilliantly woven narrative set during the Dust Bowl years on the High Plains of Texas, The Four Winds is a story of survival that inspires us to persist. Hannah extensively researched the devastation of this climatic and agricultural phenomenon and its toll on communities, which seamlessly informs the deftly woven narrative of the life of Elsa, a woman who finds that she has more tenacity and resourcefulness than she had been raised to believe — and then some.”

The Twig Book Shop image Claudia Maceo, The Twig Book Shop
Audiobook details

The Exiles

A Novel

By Christina Baker Kline
Narrated by: Caroline Lee
Length: 10 hours 43 minutes

The Exiles

“This is an amazing book filled with unforgettable characters and an in-depth exploration of a time from history that I have never seen covered before. But listening to it just makes the experience of the story so much richer! The accents, character names, and places, when read by the talented voice actors, make experience so much more vibrant!”

Anderson's Bookshop image Kerry, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

A Novel

By Heather Morris
Narrated by: Richard Armitage
Length: 7 hours 25 minutes

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

“I devoured The Tattooist of Auschwitz, a powerful book based on a true story, in two sittings. Lale, a Slovakian Jew at Auschwitz-Birkenau, becomes the Tatowierer—the man responsible for tattooing every prisoner who arrives at the concentration camp. Seen by some as a collaborator, Lale must make impossible choices to keep himself and his friends alive. Incredibly, Lale tattoos the woman who will become the love of his life. The power of their love in the face of unmitigated horror makes for one of the most compelling WWII books I have ever read.”

Dog Ear Books image Carrie Deming, Dog Ear Books
Audiobook details

Housekeeping (Fortieth Anniversary Edition)

A Novel
Picador Modern Classics

By Marilynne Robinson
Narrated by: Thérèse Plummer
Length: 6 hours 24 minutes

"[Narrator Therese] Plummer's talented performance is both illuminating and poignant." -- AudioFile Magazine

Winner of the Pen/Hemingway Award

Fortieth Anniversary Edition

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author.

A modern classic, Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping is the story of Ruth and her younger sister, Lucille, who...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Orphan's Tale

By Pam Jenoff
Narrated by: Jennifer Wydra & Kyla Garcia
Length: 12 hours 52 minutes

Look for Pam Jenoff’s new novel, The Woman with the Blue Star, an unforgettable story of courage and friendship during wartime.

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. “ —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Great Alone

A Novel

By Kristin Hannah
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 15 hours 1 minutes

The Great Alone

“Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone is a powerful, compelling story of survival - survival of the natural elements and of the human spirit. It's 1974, and 13-year-old Leni Allbright lives with her devoted mother, Cora, and abusive father, Ernt, who was a prisoner of war during Vietnam. America is changing after the war, and Ernt thinks their best chance at a fresh start is to move off the grid, to America's last frontier - Alaska. Grizzlies, wolves, and dropping temperatures are Leni's worries outside of her family's cabin, but as Ernt's battle with his demons rages on, it's no safer inside. The result is a beautifully descriptive, heart-wrenching adventure.”

Hillary Taylor image Hillary Taylor, Lemuria Bookstore
Audiobook details

All the Light We Cannot See

A Novel

By Anthony Doerr
Narrated by: Zach Appelman
Length: 16 hours 2 minutes

Winner of the 2015 Audie Award for Fiction

*Winner of the Pulitzer Prize* A New York Times Book Review Top Ten Book* A National Book Award Finalist*

From Anthony Doerr, the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning author of Cloud Cuckoo Land, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Resistance Women

A Novel

By Jennifer Chiaverini
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 20 hours 9 minutes

Resistance Women

“Mildred Harnack, an American woman, moves with her husband to Germany, but while they’re building their life together, the Nazi party is rising to power. Mildred and her friends can’t stand by and watch their communities be torn apart, so they conspire to resist. The women work together to provide information about the Germans to the American forces, but when their resistance cell is exposed, everyone is at risk. Beautifully written and heavily researched, Chiaverini brings Mildred and her compatriots to life on the page with a vividness that kept me up all night reading.”

Foggy Pine Books image Mary Ruthless, Foggy Pine Books
Audiobook details

The Women in the Castle

By Jessica Shattuck
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 12 hours 38 minutes

The Women in the Castle

“Women in the Castle tells the stories of two German women widowed during World War II. Their disparate backstories reveal so much about the German reaction to Hitler, Nazism and the War both during Hitler’s rise and after Germany’s demise. For one woman, Hitler’s vision (at the beginning) of a strong nation built on physical fitness and outdoor activities was so appealing until reality showed a more sinister motivation. Another woman was a resistor from the start, but even she paid a high price for her righteousness. These lives, so different, yet so intertwined are fascinating to behold. A new twist on an old story.”

Wellesley Books image Phyllis, Wellesley Books
Audiobook details

Cape May

A Novel

By Chip Cheek
Narrated by: George Newbern
Length: 7 hours 34 minutes

Cape May

“This book is extraordinary. In a small, empty beachside town after the season ends, a couple on their ill-planned honeymoon, slowly awakening to all the ways they can disappoint each other, stumble across a Gatsby-ish household of worldly beautiful people who embrace them wholeheartedly. The days pass in a glorious gin-soaked daze; erotic tension charges every encounter. Chip writes like James Salter, with a sense of a humor and a fuller appreciation and understanding of female desire. Moving, so gorgeous, and absolutely brilliant.”

Newtonville Books image Mary Cotton, Newtonville Books
Audiobook details

Tangerine

By Christine Mangan
Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik & Erin Mallon
Length: 9 hours 28 minutes

Tangerine

“A taut psychological thriller set against the lush landscape of Tangier in the 1950’s. When Lucy hears the news that her estranged best friend from college has moved to Tangier with her new husband, she books a ticket to follow her. They haven’t spoken since ‘the accident’, but maybe that’s all water under the bridge? Tangerine is a compelling mystery that explores the dynamics of social boundaries, friendship, and identity and will certainly keep you on the edge of your seat the whole way through.”

Oblong Books image Noelle, Oblong Books
Audiobook details

Love and Ruin

A Novel

By Paula McLain
Narrated by: January LaVoy
Length: 11 hours 20 minutes

Love and Ruin

“The Paris Wife and Circling the Sun were two of the most successful titles of the last decade for Alabama Booksmith, and Love and Ruin is more proof for the pudding that Paula McLain is a member of the master class of historical fiction writers. This exciting page-turner follows Martha Gellhorn as she reports from the center of the action of the Spanish Civil War, then jeopardizes her reputation and very existence by falling in love with the greatest literary giant of the day, Ernest Hemingway. This spectacular read is fact-based and deliciously entertaining.”

Jake Reiss image Jake Reiss, The Alabama Booksmith
Audiobook details

The Nickel Boys (Winner 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)

A Novel

By Colson Whitehead
Narrated by: JD Jackson & Colson Whitehead
Length: 6 hours 45 minutes

The Nickel Boys (Winner 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)

“A brilliant black boy, in the wrong car, meets the wrong cop. A for-profit penal system puts him in a reform school run by abusers, with a suspicious graveyard out back. What happens next is... a powerful arc bending toward justice? Colson Whitehead delivers a book about suffering that does not revel in suffering, a book about keeping soul in a broken world, a book that leaves the reader wanting the hero to embrace the person he has become.”

The Haunted Bookshop image Nialle, The Haunted Bookshop
Audiobook details

Varina

A Novel

By Charles Frazier
Narrated by: Molly Parker
Length: 12 hours 7 minutes

Varina

“This is a bit of the civil war that I had never heard before. The story of Varina Davis, the wife of Jefferson Davis, and the twists and turns of her life before, during and following the demise of the confederacy. The narrator always makes or breaks an audio book and this narrator was perfect. LOVED IT!”

Sherman's Maine Coast Book Shops image Cheryl, Sherman's Maine Coast Book Shops
Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference