Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

The Year I Flew Away

By Marie Arnold
Narrated by: Marie Arnold
Length: 6 hours 36 minutes

In this magical middle-grade novel, ten-year-old Gabrielle finds out that America isn’t the perfect place she imagined when she moves from Haiti to Brooklyn. With the help of a clever witch, Gabrielle becomes the perfect American -- but will she lose herself in the process? Perfect for fans of HURRICANE CHILD and FRONT DESK.It’s 1985 and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Red, White, and Whole

By Rajani LaRocca
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 2 hours 38 minutes

A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids

By Cynthia Leitich Smith
Narrated by: Kenny Ramos & DeLanna Studi
Length: 6 hours 11 minutes

Edited by award-winning and bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith, this collection of intersecting stories by both new and veteran Native writers bursts with hope, joy, resilience, the strength of community, and Native pride.

Native families from Nations across the continent gather at the Dance for Mother Earth Powwow in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones: Book #1

By Namina Forna
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 12 hours 46 minutes

The Gilded Ones

“This is a bold and powerful book about the bonds of sisterhood and finding your strength. This story is as rich and vivid as the cover is (which is AMAZING)—a tantalizing fantasy with a splash of mystery, fierce, magical warriors, dangerous monsters, and a war-ravaged empire. Absolutely fantastic!”

The Well-Read Moose image Anna, The Well-Read Moose
Audiobook details

The Prophets

By Robert Jones, Jr.
Narrated by: Karen Chilton
Length: 14 hours 52 minutes

The Prophets

“This was quite the stunning debut - I loved the meta quality of the narration and the overall lyrical writing style. A powerful and commanding story! ”

Curious Iguana image Lauren, Curious Iguana
Audiobook details

Four Hundred Souls

A Community History of African America, 1619-2019

By Ibram X. Kendi & Keisha N. Blain
Narrated by: Various
Length: 14 hours 1 minutes

Four Hundred Souls

“An absolutely stunning history of African America for people who do not normally read history. Compiled of short stories, essays, and poems, it is perfect for someone who is intimidated by lists of names and dates. Each individual voice stands on its own but together they truly make a 'choir' that flows together beautifully. This is a one-of-a-kind history that is essential reading for everyone.”

Quail Ridge Books image Tia, Quail Ridge Books
Audiobook details

The Three Mothers

How the Mothers of Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, and James Baldwin Shaped a Nation

By Anna Malaika Tubbs
Narrated by: Anna Malaika Tubbs
Length: 6 hours 51 minutes

This program is read by the author.

Much has been written about Berdis Baldwin's son James, about Alberta King's son Martin Luther, and Louise Little's son Malcolm. But virtually nothing has been said about the extraordinary women who raised them.

In her groundbreaking and essential debut The Three Mothers, scholar Anna Malaika Tubbs celebrates...

Read more »

Audiobook details

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

A Novel

By Cherie Jones
Narrated by: Danielle Vitalis
Length: 8 hours 41 minutes

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

“I could listen to this narrator on Libro.fm read the dictionary and still be mesmerized. This is an emotional story of multi-generational abuse, suffered from class and race differences, and at the hands of loved ones. It paints an intimate portrayal of all the people on Baxter's Beach, tourists and residents alike. ”

Bright Side Bookshop image Amy, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

Ikenga

By Nnedi Okorafor
Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
Length: 6 hours 10 minutes

Nnedi Okorafor's acclaimed first novel for middle grade children introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga.

Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the town. But then he was murdered, and most people... Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Magic

What Black Leaders Learned from Trauma and Triumph

By Chad Sanders
Narrated by: Chad Sanders
Length: 7 hours 41 minutes

A “daring, urgent, and transformative” (Brené Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Dare to Lead) exploration of Black achievement in a white world based on honest, provocative, and moving interviews with Black leaders, scientists, artists, activists, and champions.

“I remember the day I realized I couldn’t play a white guy as well as a... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Believe I Can

By Grace Byers
Narrated by: Grace Byers
Length: 3 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling creator of I Am Enough comes an empowering follow-up that celebrates every child’s limitless potential.

Don't miss this audiobook edition, read by the author, Grace Byers!

I Believe I Can is an affirmation for boys and girls of every background to love and believe in themselves, from actress and activist Grace...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Hair Love

By Matthew A. Cherry
Narrated by: Blue Ivy Carter
Length: 4 minutes

Zuri’s hair has a mind of its own. It kinks, coils, and curls every which way. Zuri knows it’s beautiful. When Daddy steps in to style it for an extra special occasion, he has a lot to learn. But he LOVES his Zuri, and he’ll do anything to make her—and her hair—happy. Tender and empowering, Hair Love is an ode to loving your natural hair—and a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

A Promised Land

By Barack Obama
Narrated by: Barack Obama
Length: 29 hours 9 minutes

A Promised Land

“No one really needs my blurb to help sell this book, but I wanted to give it anyway, especially for the audiobook, narrated by Barack Obama himself. If you want to know his incredible knowledge and wisdom that guided him through major decisions, and also hear him drop a few F-bombs, you need to listen to this fantastically written book. ”

Quail Ridge Books image Amber, Quail Ridge Books
Audiobook details

Jingle Jangle: The Invention of Jeronicus Jangle

(Movie Tie-In)

By David E. Talbert & Lyn Sisson-Talbert
Narrated by: Phylicia Rashad & Lyn Sisson-Talbert
Length: 3 hours 31 minutes

A joyful middle grade novel based on the Netflix holiday film Jingle Jangle: A Chistmas Journey, starring Phylicia Rashad, Forrest Whitaker, Anika Noni Rose, Keegan Michael Key, and newcomer Madalen Mills, about an eccentric toymaker, his adventurous granddaughter, and a magical invention, that if they can get it to work in time for the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

The Poet X

“Getting to listen to the author herself read her poetry, which are clearly a testament to the spoken word and the art of slam, is absolutely the best way to devour this novel-in-verse. Acevedo puts everything into her words, and no one else could do them justice the way she does herself. Despite possible age/cultural/religious differences, any listener will immediately relate to this teenage girl desperately trying to both find herself and her voice, and live up to her family's expectations.”

Quail Ridge Books image Amber, Quail Ridge Books
Audiobook details

Antiracist Baby

By Ibram X. Kendi
Narrated by: Shayna Small & Guy Lockard
Length: 4 minutes

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a fresh new audiobook that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves, now with added discussion prompts to help listeners recognize and reflect on bias in their daily lives.

Featured on Good Morning... Read more »

Audiobook details

White Fragility

Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism

By Dr. Robin DiAngelo
Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.

In this “vital, necessary, and beautiful book” (Michael Eric Dyson), antiracist educator Robin DiAngelo deftly illuminates the phenomenon of white... Read more »

Audiobook details

This Is My America

By Kim Johnson
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 9 hours 34 minutes

If you enjoyed The Hate U Give, then you’ll love This Is My America.

“This is My America depicts the effects of police brutality and corrupt prosecution practices in America. Although there are similar Young Adult books tackling racism and police brutality, This is My America distinguishes itself by focusing on the emotional, physical, and financial impact of mass incarceration on the Black family. Johnson shows how the KKK is not a piece of history long-gone, but is an organization continuing to hunt down and torture Americans of color. Johnson explores generational trauma and the danger of being complicit mainly from the perspective of Tracy’s Black family, but also touches on the generational trauma of being a raised to be a racist and the danger of being complicit in that role. These parallel stories of the white and Black family are thought provoking, without centering the white narrative. Along with the personal struggles explored throughout the book, the plot includes a mystery element as Tracy investigates who the real murderers are.

This book narrated by Bahni Turpin, one of my favorite narrators! Turpin brings such life to each of the characters in her narrations, and this book was no different. I would recommend this book (especially the audiobook!) to young adults and adults that can handle content including police encounters, off the page murder, off the page lynching, racism, Black trauma, hate crimes, and police shooting.”

Beausoleil Books image Endya, Beausoleil Books
Audiobook details

Me and White Supremacy

Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor

By Layla F. Saad
Narrated by: Layla F. Saad
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

Me and White Supremacy

“Want to learn how to be a good ancestor? Need to address your privilege and feel uncomfortable about talking about racism? You need to read and work through Me and White Supremacy.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

Beautiful Blackbird

By Ashley Bryan
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 8 minutes

Coretta Scott King Award winner Ashley Bryan adapted this charming tale from a story told by the Ilaspeaking people of Zambia. All the birds in the forest are jealous of Blackbird, whose black feathers glisten and shine colorfully in the sunbeams. The other birds are a single color from head to foot, and none of them have even a spot of black on... Read more »

Audiobook details
Loving Me Books

Loving Me Books is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.