Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller

Middle Reader Favorites

Our favorite middle reader listens. Appropriate for ages 8-13.

Playlist Tags: Sidekick Coffee & Books genre: Children's

View all playlists

Ikenga

By Nnedi Okorafor
Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
Length: 6 hours 10 minutes

Nnedi Okorafor's acclaimed first novel for middle grade children introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga.

Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the town. But then he was murdered, and most people... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Memory Thief

Thirteen Witches

By Jodi Lynn Anderson
Narrated by: Carlotta Brentan
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

“This expertly crafted story thrums with magic, love, and tense action.” —Booklist (starred review)

Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, this fantastical and heartfelt first book in a new trilogy from critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson follows a girl who must defeat thirteen evil... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

Amari and the Night Brothers

“This was just fantastic. Amari is such a great main character, smart and gutsy especially as she navigates grief, bullying and a new magical environment. I loved her new found friendship with Elsie as well as this new magical school world. If you loved Harry Potter and Morrigan Crow (from Nevermoor), you will adore this.”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

This Is Your Time

By Ruby Bridges
Narrated by: Ruby Bridges
Length: 13 minutes

This Is Your Time

“So much packed into this little book (read by Ruby Bridges). The story, the experience, the vision behind the often seen picture of young Ruby being escorted into school. Insightful, awe inspiring, and brave.”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

A Wolf Called Wander

By Rosanne Parry
Narrated by: Kirby Heyborne
Length: 3 hours 53 minutes

A Wolf Called Wander

“ This is the ultimate adventure book!! I loved this book!! The author does a wonderful job of bringing OR-7 (aka Journey) to readers in a way that makes animals easier to understand. Her descriptions of his senses, hear/smell and his wag. The things that he has to learn as a pup really makes this book about family and the circle of life.”

Off the Beaten Path Bookstore image Chris, Off the Beaten Path Bookstore
Audiobook details

Pages & Co.: The Bookwanderers

Pages & Co.: Book #1

By Anna James
Narrated by: Aysha Kala
Length: 7 hours 4 minutes

Pages & Co.: The Bookwanderers

“Anna James creates every book nerds fantasy -- what if you could go into your favorite books and your favorite characters could come to life? Sounds great right? Until you stumble into the pages of Treasure Island and are being accused of stowaways by Captain Flint himself! This is a truly delightful read tying together the classical characters with bookshop lore. Very fun for all.”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details

The List of Things That Will Not Change

By Rebecca Stead
Narrated by: Rachel L. Jacobs
Length: 4 hours 56 minutes

The List of Things That Will Not Change

“Rebecca Stead has written yet another layered novel about familial love in its myriad of forms. When her parents divorce, Bea is given a journal to write down things that will remain constant in her life. When her dad announces that he is marrying his boyfriend Jesse, Bea is excited to gain a sister. With the help of her notebook and her kind therapist, Bea is ahor.ble to work through her feelings (mostly her anger management ones). It's a quiet book that will resonate with Stead’s fans and hopefully garner new ones.”

Blue Willow Bookshop image Valerie, Blue Willow Bookshop
Audiobook details

Raymie Nightingale

By Kate DiCamillo
Narrated by: Jenna Lamia
Length: 4 hours 25 minutes

Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship.

Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father, who left town two... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Beast and the Bethany

The Beast and the Bethany

By Jack Meggitt-Phillips
Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
Length: 4 hours 33 minutes

Lemony Snicket meets Roald Dahl in this “wickedly funny” (James Ponti, New York Times bestselling author), deliciously macabre, and highly illustrated tale of a hungry beast, a vain immortal man, and a not-so-charming little girl who doesn’t know she’s about to be eaten.

Beauty comes at a price. And no one knows that better than Ebenezer Tweezer,... Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference