Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Intersectional Feminist Recs

Every month, yours truly, Kalima DeSuze, curates a list of recommended books! These books, old and new, represent the titles we feel have risen to the top and should be on your playlist. They're not always the most "popular" books on the market; we tend to go against the grain. They are definitely books worthy of a platform.

Playlist Tags: Cafe con Libros

View all playlists

Memorial Drive

A Daughter's Memoir

By Natasha Trethewey
Narrated by: Natasha Trethewey
Length: 5 hours 9 minutes

Memorial Drive

“This is one of those "I'm changed forever" books and having the author, poet Natasha Trethewey read it makes it reverberate in the soul even more. The writing of this memoir is exquisite and the construction of the prose is perfect. The heartbreak and honesty of the author will stay with me. I can't wait to hear back from those I've recommended it to, they're in for a special experience.”

Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery image Jen, Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery
Audiobook details

Once I Was You

A Memoir of Love and Hate in a Torn America

By Maria Hinojosa
Narrated by: Maria Hinojosa
Length: 12 hours 12 minutes

NPR’s Best Books of 2020
BookPage’s Best Books of 2020
Real Simple’s Best Books of 2020
Boston.com readers voted one of Best Books of 2020

“Anyone striving to understand and improve this country should read her story.” —Gloria Steinem, author of My Life on the Road

The Emmy Award–winning journalist and anchor of NPR’s Latino USA tells the story... Read more »

Audiobook details

Wandering in Strange Lands

A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots

By Morgan Jerkins
Narrated by: Morgan Jerkins
Length: 8 hours 3 minutes

Wandering in Strange Lands

Wandering in Strange Lands is an evocative, sensitive piece. Throughout the book, Morgan Jerkins retraces her family's lineage, the history of the lands from which they came, and despite working with gaps in generational memory, is able to make inspiring and meaningful connections. Listening to this audiobook on the way to Charleston, SC was timely—I had never known the rich history of the Carolinas despite living only a few hours away in north Florida. Jerkins' story has inspired me to do research on my own family, and take a trip out to where they first arrived in the United States. For all those inquisitive minds who wonder about their family's journey, this is it.”

Third House Books image Heather, Third House Books
Audiobook details

Lobizona

A Novel
Wolves of No World: Book #1

By Romina Garber
Narrated by: Sol Madariaga
Length: 12 hours 33 minutes

Lobizona

“In LABIZONA, Romina Garber weaves Argentinian folklore with the ache to belong somewhere completely. She plays with identity, gender, and family to create a magical landscape in which an entire culture must recognize that they have been complicit in a societal structure that hurts anyone who does not fit in. Manuela is undocumented in both worlds, which means her story is unwritten, ready for her to choose how she wants it to be told. At times these choices are between two heartbreaking options, but making the choice empowers Manuela and those around her to not let others dictate their lives. There is a lot going on in this book, but I enjoyed getting to know the characters and look forward to following their story in the future. Content warnings for ICE raids, police brutality, family separation, discussions of forced pregnancy, homophobia.”

Page 158 Books image Faith, Page 158 Books
Audiobook details

This Is Major

Notes on Diana Ross, Dark Girls, and Being Dope

By Shayla Lawson
Narrated by: Shayla Lawson
Length: 8 hours 48 minutes

From a fierce and humorous new voice comes a relevant, insightful, and riveting collection of personal essays on the richness and resilience of black girl culture—for readers of Samantha Irby, Roxane Gay, Morgan Jerkins, and Lindy West. 

Shayla Lawson is major. You don’t know who she is. Yet. But that’s okay. She is on a mission to move black...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Luster

A Novel

By Raven Leilani
Narrated by: Ariel Blake
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

Luster

“Twenty-something Edie is struggling to find her place in the world. She's flailing, moving between jobs and out of her apartment, into her lover's home. But, she is the mistress, faced with the reality that the open relationship she entered isn't everything she thought - but it's the best she can find. As Edie's loyalties to her lover subside she really begins to find a home with his wife and daughter. Leilani examines intricate relationships, identity as an artist, and coming into your own in the complex, thrilling web that is Luster.”

Avid Bookshop image Christy, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Taste of Sugar

By Marisel Vera
Narrated by: Kyla García
Length: 12 hours 55 minutes

Marisel Vera emerges as a major voice of contemporary fiction with a heart-wrenching novel set in Puerto Rico on the eve of the Spanish-American War.

It is 1898, and groups of starving Puerto Ricans, los hambrientos, roam the parched countryside and dusty towns begging for food. Under the yoke of Spanish oppression, the Caribbean island is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fat Girls in Black Bodies

Creating Communities of Our Own

By Joy Arlene Renee Cox, Ph.D.
Narrated by: Gwendolyn Carter
Length: 4 hours 57 minutes

Combatting fatphobia and racism to reclaim a space of belonging at the intersection of fat, Black, and female.

To live in a body at the intersection of fat, Black, and female is to be on the margins. From concern-trolling--"I just want you to be healthy"--to outright attacks, fat Black bodies that fall outside dominant constructs of beauty and... Read more »

Audiobook details

What Would Frida Do?

A Guide to Living Boldly

By Arianna Davis
Narrated by: Marisa Blake
Length: 5 hours 24 minutes

Revered as much for her fierce spirit as she is for her art, Frida Kahlo stands today as a brazen symbol of daring creativity. She was a woman ahead of her time whose paintings have earned her generations of admirers around the globe. But perhaps her greatest work of art was her own life.What Would Frida Do? explores the feminist icon's... Read more »

Audiobook details

Big Friendship

How We Keep Each Other Close

By Aminatou Sow & Ann Friedman
Narrated by: Aminatou Sow & Ann Friedman
Length: 5 hours 33 minutes

A close friendship is one of the most influential and important relationships a human life can contain. Anyone will tell you that! But for all the rosy sentiments surrounding friendship, most people don’t talk much about what it really takes to stay close for the long haul.

Now two friends, Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman, tell the story of their... Read more »

Audiobook details

Furia

By Yamile Saied Méndez
Narrated by: Sol Madariaga
Length: 8 hours 51 minutes

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams.

In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life.

At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Ordinary Girls

A Memoir

By Jaquira Diaz
Narrated by: Almarie Guerra
Length: 10 hours 8 minutes

Ordinary Girls

“Too often, those of us who grow up below the federal poverty line spend the rest of our lives erasing ourselves. If we manage to migrate out of poverty, we do so at a cost. The gatekeepers of academia, and of literature, often only want to hear our stories if we make a spectacle of our people, or if we tell our stories in the language of the elite at the expense of our own voices. I think this is one of the most powerful things about Ordinary Girls. Díaz tells her sad and beautiful stories in her own voice, a voice that still holds the people and the places that made her. What a gift. Growing up poor means that we are taught, every day and in a million tiny ways, that our families are wrong, our speech is ugly, our stories shameful. This is oppression and Díaz banishes it with beauty, love, honesty, and insight. Ordinary Girls is a book that makes me feel less alone in this world.”

Klindt's Booksellers image Tina Ontiveros, Klindt's Booksellers
Audiobook details

Mexican Gothic

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

Mexican Gothic

“Creepy and romantic, Mexican Gothic is easily one of my favorite books of 2020! Upon receiving a strange letter from her cousin, Noemi Taboada goes to investigate the happenings of High Place, a decaying manor filled with secrets, and is plagued by terrifying dreams and visions. Moreno-Garcia delivers a fresh take on a classic gothic novel that will grab your attention from the very first chapter!”

Rakestraw Books image Tyrinne Lewis, Rakestraw Books
Audiobook details