Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Young Adult Favorites

The best reads for those in love with the YA genre, and all it's ups, downs, and "16 year old chosen one" tropes.

Playlist Tags: Bodacious Bookstore genre: Young Adult audience: fantasy-lovers topic: diversity young adult books we all need different books to love coming of age audience: young adults mood: adventure

View all playlists

Jo & Laurie

By Melissa de la Cruz & Margaret Stohl
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 10 hours 31 minutes

Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore "Laurie" Laurence.

1869, Concord, Massachusetts: After the publication of her first novel, Jo March is shocked to discover her book of scribbles has become a bestseller, and her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Of Curses and Kisses

Rosetta Academy: Book #1

By Sandhya Menon
Narrated by: Shiromi Arserio & Jason Carpenter
Length: 10 hours 49 minutes

Of Curses and Kisses

“This funny and charming story is the feel-good romance I needed right now.”

Owosso Books & Beans image Lydia, Owosso Books & Beans
Audiobook details

Legendborn

By Tracy Deonn
Narrated by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Length: 18 hours 54 minutes

Legendborn

“I listened to this audiobook almost entirely it one sitting. It was utterly enthralling.”

One More Page image Rosie, One More Page
Audiobook details

Raybearer

The Raybearer Series: Book #1

By Jordan Ifueko
Narrated by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Length: 13 hours 48 minutes

Raybearer

“Such a cool fantasy novel with an incredible magic system! Perfect for fans of "Children of Blood and Bone." I highly recommend listening to the audiobook to further immerse yourself in this beautiful world that Ifueko has created.”

An Unlikely Story image Coleen, An Unlikely Story
Audiobook details

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel) (Unabridged edition)

Hunger Games

By Suzanne Collins
Narrated by: Santino Fontana
Length: 16 hours 16 minutes

Ambition will fuel him.Competition will drive him.But power has its price.

It is the morning of the reaping that will kick off the tenth annual Hunger Games. In the Capitol, eighteen-year-old Coriolanus Snow is preparing for his one shot at glory as a mentor in the Games. The once-mighty house of Snow has fallen on hard times, its fate hanging o Read more »n...
Audiobook details

Cemetery Boys

By Aiden Thomas
Narrated by: Avi Roque
Length: 13 hours 47 minutes

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author.

A trans boy determined to prove his gender to his traditional Latinx family summons a ghost who refuses to leave in Aiden Thomas's paranormal YA debut Cemetery Boys, described by Entertainment Weekly as "groundbreaking
."

Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can't get rid of him.

When... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ace of Spades

By Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Narrated by: Tapiwa Mugweni & Jeanette Illidge
Length: TBA

Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.

All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do. —Aces

When two Niveus Private Academy students, Devon... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

By Laura Taylor Namey
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 8 hours 33 minutes

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club YA Pick

A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow is an absolute delight. Cozier than a hand-knit gray cardigan and richer than Abuela’s pastelito recipe, Namey takes you from Miami to Winchester, and leaves your heart belonging to both.” —Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling author of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Perfect on Paper

A Novel

By Sophie Gonzales
Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik
Length: 8 hours 58 minutes

"Not only is this queer rom-com audiobook PERFECT ON PAPER--it's also perfect on audio...The wonderful writing coupled with [Barrie] Kreinik's execution makes this a spectacular audiobook." -- AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner

In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat meets To All the Boys I've Loved Before: a bisexual...
Read more »

Audiobook details

One of the Good Ones

By Maika Moulite & Maritza Moulite
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin, Jordan Cobb & Carolyn Smith
Length: 9 hours 49 minutes

One of the Good Ones

“I am SPEECHLESS. I am still processing. But what I do know, without a doubt, is that One of the Good Ones is a must-read, a beautiful gut punch by a sister duo that is poised to take the publishing world by storm. Maika and Maritza manage to pack so much into so little, each moment its own universe, tackling the enormously difficult topics of systemic racism, police brutality, coming out to religious parents, epigenetics, and grief. The multiple perspectives across multiple timelines are simply perfect, lending so much to the greater story, and mystery(! I never saw that twist coming), keeping you reading into the early hours. But amidst the greater discussions of dismantling the institutions that uphold respectability above all else, there is so much joy too. There is hope. There is friendship that crosses oceans (or countries as the case may be). There is a road to recovery. And that left me with the best kind of tears in my eyes.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

A Pho Love Story

By Loan Le
Narrated by: Ryan Do & Vyvy Nguyen
Length: 9 hours 52 minutes

When Dimple Met Rishi meets Ugly Delicious in this funny, smart romantic comedy, in which two Vietnamese-American teens fall in love and must navigate their newfound relationship amid their families’ age-old feud about their competing, neighboring restaurants.

If Bao Nguyen had to describe himself, he’d say he was a rock. Steady and strong, but... Read more »

Audiobook details

Concrete Rose

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones: Book #1

By Namina Forna
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 12 hours 46 minutes

The Gilded Ones

“This is a bold and powerful book about the bonds of sisterhood and finding your strength. This story is as rich and vivid as the cover is (which is AMAZING)—a tantalizing fantasy with a splash of mystery, fierce, magical warriors, dangerous monsters, and a war-ravaged empire. Absolutely fantastic!”

The Well-Read Moose image Anna, The Well-Read Moose
Audiobook details

Truly Devious

A Mystery
Truly Devious: Book #1

By Maureen Johnson
Narrated by: Kate Rudd
Length: 10 hours 12 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amelia Unabridged

A Novel

By Ashley Schumacher
Narrated by: Lesa Wilson
Length: 7 hours 45 minutes

Sparks fly between two teens as they grapple with grief, love, and the future in this unforgettable debut novel sure to entice fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer E. Smith

Eighteen-year-old Amelia Griffin is obsessed with the famous Orman Chronicles, written by the young and reclusive prodigy N. E. Endsley. They’re the books that brought her and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Red, White & Royal Blue

A Novel

By Casey McQuiston
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 12 hours 15 minutes

Red, White & Royal Blue

“ To everyone who started telling me to read this book a year ago, I’m sorry. You were right - I loved it, unequivocally. The romance was sweet and gentle and real. But the humor put it over the top for me. I needed to laugh like that, desperately. And I did, a lot. A whole lot. But I also cried - because this book is pure, wholesome, and hopeful, even when it dipped into the darker places (with so much grace). Red, White, & Royal Blue gave my heart wings, and I'm still soaring. So to everyone who's still hesitant, don't be me - get on this train ASAP.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details