Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Sara's Sensational Stories

Sara's Sensational Stories

Sara's favorite reads of the year.

Playlist Tags: Hudson Booksellers

View all playlists

We Keep the Dead Close

A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence

By Becky Cooper
Narrated by: Becky Cooper
Length: 15 hours 46 minutes

We Keep the Dead Close

“As much a journey for the writer as it is for the reader, this book solves a murder but leaves us with many unanswered questions. We Keep the Dead Close challenges us to question our assumptions as well as the paths we use to arrive at those assumptions. Delving into the academic culture of Harvard, the misogyny of the 1960s, and the burgeoning women’s rights movement, the story follows several threads, all of which have a significant impact on the life of Jane Britton, whose story is told with empathy, compassion, and five decades of curiosity.”

Completely Booked image Camille Kovach, Completely Booked
Audiobook details

Oh William!

A Novel

By Elizabeth Strout
Narrated by: Kimberly Farr
Length: 7 hours

Oh William!

“As intimate and affecting as anything Elizabeth Strout has written — a beautiful new perspective in the ongoing story of Lucy Barton, but one that easily stands alone. Kimberly Farr’s narration makes for an outstanding audiobook experience as well. ”

East City Bookshop image Emilie, East City Bookshop
Audiobook details

Matrix

A Novel

By Lauren Groff
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 8 hours 51 minutes

If you enjoyed Hamnet, then you’ll love Matrix.

“Absolutely amazing. The audio book is perfectly narrated by Adjoa Andoh. Her singular voice brings each of the characters to life, channeling their personalities, quirks, accents, etc. Marvelous job. Powerful and elegantly written by Groff. I loved this book so much I am tempted to start it all over again.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kristine, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Cloud Cuckoo Land

A Novel

By Anthony Doerr
Narrated by: Marin Ireland & Simon Jones
Length: 14 hours 51 minutes

If you enjoyed The Shadow of the Wind, then you’ll love Cloud Cuckoo Land.

“I loved this book so much. The intersection of the various stories surrounding a profound awareness of the importance of books was perfect. I also appreciated the weaving of the classic tale intertwined all throughout the book. Each character's story could have been a book all by themselves, but having them all together was brilliant. This is a book that I didn't know I needed, but was the perfect book for the time I listened to it.”

Schuler Books image Tim, Schuler Books
Audiobook details

We Run the Tides

A Novel

By Vendela Vida
Narrated by: Marin Ireland
Length: 6 hours 34 minutes

We Run the Tides

“Wow, this book was hard to put down! The story feels so familiar, yet full of unexpected twists and turns. I was immersed in the beautiful and tumultuous world of these girls on the brink of adulthood. A fun, mysterious, compelling, and ultimately profound novel about power, truth, and growing up.”

Downbound Books image Sarah Fischer, Downbound Books
Audiobook details

Harlem Shuffle

A Novel

By Colson Whitehead
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 10 hours 35 minutes

Harlem Shuffle

“A wonderful evocation of a time and place, which is not to say it doesn't have the tension of a crime thriller. It's fun to ride along with Ray, who may be more than a little bent, but will likely become your favorite furniture salesman, nevertheless.”

Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West image Robin, Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West
Audiobook details

Afterparties

Stories

By Anthony Veasna So
Narrated by: Jason Sean
Length: 6 hours 56 minutes

Afterparties

“These stories of the members of a compact Cambodian-American community, from the refugees to the business owners to the gay teenagers, seamlessly balance humor with hardships.”

Sofia Silva Wright image Sofia Silva Wright, Phoenix Books Burlington
Audiobook details

Bewilderment

A novel

By Richard Powers
Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini
Length: 7 hours 50 minutes

OPRAH BOOK CLUB PICK 2021
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE
 
A heartrending new novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning and #1 New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Overstory.
 
Named one of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021 by New York, Chicago Tribune, BookPage, Literary Hub, The Millions, New Statesmen and Times of...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Peaces

A Novel

By Helen Oyeyemi
Narrated by: Ben Allen, Intae Kim, Jade Wheeler, Deana Taheri, Rosa Escoda & Deepti Gupta
Length: 7 hours 50 minutes

“Enchanting . . . the most surprising, confounding, and oddly insightful couple’s trip in recent literary history.” —Entertainment Weekly

The prize-winning, bestselling author of Gingerbread; Boy, Snow, Bird; and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours returns with a vivid and inventive new novel about a couple forever changed by an unusual train voyage.


... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Book of Form and Emptiness

A Novel

By Ruth Ozeki
Narrated by: Kerry Shale & Ruth Ozeki
Length: 18 hours 50 minutes

The Book of Form and Emptiness

“What I love most about Ruth Ozeki's writing is that it's different every time. You get some of the same vibe but her storylines are vast and unpredictable and you never know what you are getting into, but it will be good and 100% worth your time! The Book of Form and Emptiness started off bizarre but sucked me in so fast and then made me slow down to absorb every single word. It was almost meta with one of its main voices, a Book, and hit hard with its deep dive into mental illness. Parts of this book skewed a little Murakami in tone but coming from someone who doesn't always love Murakami, there is something so human and relatable in Ozeki's writing that separates her a little. Benny lives alone with his mother Annabelle after losing his father in a terrible accident a few years previous. Plagued by the voices of inanimate objects around him, Benny struggle with his mental health throughout the novel. In part narrated by one of his voices, an omnipresent Book, whom Benny first encounters at an abandoned Bindery at his local library. The Book tells us the story of Benny and Annabelle through a third party lens. We encounter a fun cast of characters from Benny's adventures who all band together to help this family get through a tough time. Truly a magical reading experience that is full of heart, Ozeki's newest work is a must read for fans of literary fiction.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

The Princess Spy

The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

By Larry Loftis
Narrated by: Kate Reading
Length: 9 hours 46 minutes

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

“As exciting as any spy novel” (Daily News, New York), The Princess Spy follows the hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS’s most daring World War II spies before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Klara and the Sun

A Novel

By Kazuo Ishiguro
Narrated by: Sura Siu
Length: 10 hours 16 minutes

Klara and the Sun

Klara and the Sun is a parable, a warning, a neatly-crafted story that fits into an Artificial Friend-sized box, which—make no mistake—is not to say that it’s ordinary. Ishiguro explores the ethics of creating artificial intelligence that’s indistinguishable from humans, at least ideally. But Klara and her owner, Josie, are kindred spirits with vastly different fates. Is love still love when its object is replaceable, nay, disposable? Are some people more valuable than others; can grief ever be inappropriate? This seamless story examines our increasingly automated world, our obsession with usability, and the things that get left behind.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Why Fish Don't Exist

A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life

By Lulu Miller
Narrated by: Lulu Miller
Length: 4 hours 55 minutes

Why Fish Don't Exist

“Half memoir, half biography, Lulu Miller's examination of David Starr Jordan and the lies we tell ourselves to keep going is phenomenal. Nuanced and unputdownable. (And especially great on audio!)”

Oblong Books image Nicole, Oblong Books
Audiobook details

Fathoms

The World in the Whale

By Rebecca Giggs
Narrated by: Shiromi Arserio
Length: 12 hours 5 minutes

Fathoms

“This isn't a scientists memoir about their life studying whales; it's really just a rambling of facts that held me and my friends in fascination as we listened to it on libro.fm during a road trip. WHALES ARE SO INTERESTING! Rebecca lives in Australia and became obsessed with whales when a young humpback washed up too high on her local beach and none of their efforts helped save it. The book evaluates what we know about whales and their relationship to us in really fascinating ways, throughout human history. It also offers some running commentary on how humans currently interact with whales, and how they bring hope to our uncertain future with climate change and anthropocene-caused extinction. ”

Bright Side Bookshop image Amy, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

Fox and I

An Uncommon Friendship

By Catherine Raven
Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
Length: 10 hours 22 minutes

Fox and I

“On the surface, this is a story about a woman befriending a fox, which is in and of itself remarkable enough, but it is also a powerful meditation on nature, living in the world with and without people, as well as the power of literature.”

Square Books image Cody Morrison , Square Books
Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Just Work

How to Root Out Bias, Prejudice, and Bullying to Build a Kick-Ass Culture of Inclusivity

By Kim Scott
Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
Length: 11 hours 48 minutes

This program includes a bonus conversation with Kim Scott.

From Kim Scott, author of the revolutionary New York Times bestseller Radical Candor, comes Just Work: Get Sh*t Done, Fast & Fair—how we can recognize, attack, and eliminate workplace injustice—and transform our careers and organizations in the process.


We—all of us—consistently...

Read more »

Audiobook details

A Little Devil in America

Notes in Praise of Black Performance

By Hanif Abdurraqib
Narrated by: JD Jackson
Length: 9 hours 38 minutes

A Little Devil in America

“I loved Hanif Abdurraqib’s A Little Devil in America. This essential book explores a handful of Black performers—some world-famous, others everyday people—across a wide variety of disciplines, seamlessly woven into snippets and stories from Hanif’s own life about Black culture and the performance of Blackness. JD Jackson’s low and easy narration is the perfect complement. Hanif’s commentary on tenderness and rage is especially moving.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details