Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller
Shelf Interested: September 2021

Shelf Interested: September 2021

Everything I've added to my shelves in September that also has an audio version!

Playlist Tags: Exhibit B. Books genre: True Crime topic: true crime new releases true crime

View all playlists

Fair Game - Abridged

My Life as a Spy, My Betrayal by the White House

By Valerie Plame Wilson
Narrated by: Valerie Plame Wilson
Length: 6 hours 50 minutes

On July 6, 2003, four months after the United States invaded Iraq, former ambassador Joseph Wilson's now historic op-ed, "What I Didn't Find in Africa," appeared in The New York Times. A week later, conservative pundit Robert Novak revealed in his newspaper column that Ambassador Wilson's wife, Valerie Plame Wilson, was a CIA operative. The... Read more »

Audiobook details

Double Cross

The Explosive Inside Story of the Mobster Who Controlled America

By Chuck Giancana & Sam Giancana
Narrated by: Joe Barrett
Length: 13 hours 42 minutes

One of the most feared Chicago mobsters, Sam Giancana, clawed his way to the top of the Mafia hierarchy by starting as a hit man for Al Capone. He was known as one of the best vehicle escape artists, a tenacious business man, and a ruthless killer. He partied with major stars such as Frank Sinatra and Marilyn Monroe and did business with agents... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Innocent Man

Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

By John Grisham
Narrated by: Craig Wasson
Length: 12 hours 27 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction: a true crime story that will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence.
 
SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL DOCUMENTARY SERIES
 
“Both an American tragedy and [Grisham’s] strongest legal thriller yet, all the more gripping because it happens to be... Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

If Looks Could Kill

By M. William Phelps
Narrated by: J. Charles
Length: 12 hours 2 minutes

“A great true crime story…Readers will feel the effects of Phelps’ skill from beginning to end.” - Stephen Singular

Big and brash, Jeff Zack didn’t hide his rough lifestyle. And when he died, it was in plain sight: executed in the parking lot of a BJ’s Wholesale Club in Akron, Ohio, by a motorcycle-riding assassin dressed in black.

“Phelps uses a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Library Book

By Susan Orlean
Narrated by: Susan Orlean
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

The Library Book

“On the day I turned 2, Chernobyl was struck by disaster. Three days later, hidden among the news and chaos, the Los Angeles Public Library was in flames. Two thousand degrees, more than a million books destroyed or damaged, and the source of the fire unknown. Susan Orlean centers her book on the fire and then moves outward to include librarians past and present, the role of a library in a community, and our own relationships with books. Like Orlean’s other books, there is some crime, some travelling, fascinating people, and an amazing tangle of details. ”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Rachel, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details

Black Dahlia, Red Rose

The Crime, Corruption, and Cover-Up of America's Greatest Unsolved Murder

By Piu Eatwell
Narrated by: Robertson Dean
Length: 9 hours 7 minutes

The gruesome murder of hopeful starlet Elizabeth Short, in the noir-tinged Los Angeles of 1947, has a permanent place in American lore as one of the most inscrutable of true-crime mysteries. Now, Piu Eatwell—relentless legal sleuth and atmospheric stylist—cracks the case after seventy years. With recently unredacted FBI files, newly released... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Arsonist

By Chloe Hooper
Narrated by: Sybilla Budd
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

On the scorching February day in 2009 that became known as Black Saturday, a man lit two fires in Victoria’s Latrobe Valley, then sat on the roof of his house to watch the inferno. In the Valley, where the rates of crime were the highest in the state, more than thirty people were known to police as firebugs. But the detectives soon found... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Man from the Train

The Solving of a Century-Old Serial Killer Mystery

By Bill James & Rachel McCarthy James
Narrated by: John Bedford Lloyd
Length: 17 hours 4 minutes

An Edgar Award finalist for Best Fact Crime, this “impressive…open-eyed investigative inquiry wrapped within a cultural history of rural America” (The Wall Street Journal) shows legendary statistician and baseball writer Bill James applying his analytical acumen to crack an unsolved century-old mystery surrounding one of the deadliest serial... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Death of a President

November 20–November 25, 1963

By William Manchester & Edith Sheffer
Narrated by: Joe Barrett
Length: 33 hours 20 minutes

As the world still reeled from the tragic and historic events of November 22, 1963, William Manchester set out, at the request of the Kennedy family, to create a detailed, authoritative record of President John F. Kennedy's death, including the days immediately preceding and following the assassination. Through hundreds of interviews, extensive...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Hunting Charles Manson

The Quest for Justice in the Days of Helter Skelter

By Lis Wiehl
Narrated by: Michelle Lasley
Length: 8 hours 55 minutes

"Hunting Charles Manson the best true crime book you will ever read...Lock your doors, keep the night lights on, and read this book." - Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling crime novelist

In the late summer of 1969, the nation was transfixed by a series of gruesome murders in the hills of Los Angeles. Newspapers and television programs...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Crime of the Century

Richard Speck and the Murders That Shocked a Nation

By Dennis L. Breo & William J. Martin
Narrated by: Christina Delaine
Length: 18 hours 26 minutes

On July 14th, 1966, Richard Franklin Speck swept through a quiet Chicago townhouse like a summer tornado and stabbed, strangled, and killed eight young nurses in a violent sexual rampage. By morning, only one nurse, Corazon Amurao, had miraculously survived, and her scream of terror was heard around the world. As the eight bodies were carried... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unanswered Cries

A True Story of Friends, Neighbors, and Murder in a Small Town

By Thomas French
Narrated by: Mikael Naramore
Length: 13 hours 31 minutes

The fatal night

On a warm Florida evening, Karen Gregory saw a familiar face at her door. What the beautiful young woman could not know was that she was staring into the eyes of her killer—a savage monster who would rape her, stab her to death, and leave her battered body on the floor outside the bedroom.

The desperate search

Detectives frantically...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Hot One

By Carolyn Murnick
Narrated by: Hillary Huber
Length: 8 hours 58 minutes

A gripping memoir of friendship with a tragic twist—two childhood best friends diverge as young adults, one woman is brutally murdered and the other is determined to uncover the truth about her wild and seductive friend.

As girls growing up in rural New Jersey in the late 1980s, Ashley and Carolyn had everything in common: two outsiders who... Read more »

Audiobook details

Cruel Doubt - Abridged

By Joe McGinniss
Narrated by: Stacy Keach
Length: 4 hours 10 minutes

A Simon & Schuster audiobook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every listener. Read more »

Audiobook details

In Vino Duplicitas

The Rise and Fall of a Wine Forger Extraordinaire

By Peter Hellman
Narrated by: Charles Constant
Length: 8 hours 26 minutes

Few gain entry to the privileged world of ultrafine wines, where billionaires flock to exclusive auction houses to vie for the scarce surviving bottles from truly legendary years. But Rudy Kurniawan, an unknown twentysomething from Indonesia, was blessed with two gifts that opened doors: a virtuoso palate for wine tasting, and access to a... Read more »

Audiobook details

In Cold Blood

By Truman Capote
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 14 hours 25 minutes

The most famous true crime novel of all time, In Cold Blood is the bestseller that haunted its author long after he finished writing it.

"Chills the blood and exercises the intelligence ... harrowing." —The New York Review of Books

On November 15, 1959, in the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, four members of the Clutter family were savagely...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Murders That Made Us

How Vigilantes, Hoodlums, Mob Bosses, Serial Killers and Cult Leaders Built the San Francisco Bay Area

By Bob Calhoun
Narrated by: Keith Sellon-Wright
Length: 10 hours 8 minutes

The 170-year history of the San Francisco Bay Area told through its crimes and how they intertwine with the city's art, music, and politics.

In The Murders That Made Us, the story of the San Francisco Bay Area unfolds through its most violent and depraved acts. From the city's earliest days, where vigilantes hung perps from buildings and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Kidnap Years

The Astonishing True History of the Forgotten Kidnapping Epidemic That Shook Depression-Era America

By David Stout
Narrated by: Teri Schnaubelt
Length: 11 hours 55 minutes

The Great Depression was a time of desperation in America—parents struggled to feed their children and unemployment was at a record high. Adding to the lawlessness of the decade, thugs with submachine guns and corrupt law-enforcement officers ran rampant. But amidst this panic, there was one sure-fire way to make money, one used by criminals and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Cold Vanish

Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands

By Jon Billman
Narrated by: Stephen Graybill
Length: 11 hours 36 minutes

Perfect for readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, this "authentic and encyclopedic" book examines real-life cases of those who vanish in the wilderness without a trace (Roman Dial)—and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them.
 These are the stories that defy conventional logic. The proverbial vanished without a trace... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Map Thief

The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps

By Michael Blanding
Narrated by: Sean Runnette
Length: 8 hours 35 minutes

Maps have long exerted a special fascination on viewers—both as beautiful works of art and as practical tools to navigate the world. But to those who collect them, the map trade can be a cutthroat business, inhabited by quirky and sometimes disreputable characters in search of a finite number of extremely rare objects.

Once considered a... Read more »

Audiobook details
  • 1
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference