Skip navigation
Skip content
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller Created
Kirkus's 7 Children's Titles That Are Great on Audiobook

Kirkus's 7 Children's Titles That Are Great on Audiobook

Laura Simeon's Article for Kirkus Magazine, 10/6/21: I’ve long been a fan of audiobooks: Being stuck in traffic, making dinner, and tidying the house are a lot more entertaining with a skillful narrator reading a captivating book aloud. Children go through stages where their listening comprehension surpasses their reading levels, making audiobooks an ideal way to enjoy books they can’t yet read independently. Fortunately, things have come a long way since the days when we had to get cassettes and CDs from our local libraries. Being able to borrow or purchase digital books and download them without leaving home still gives my book nerd’s heart a little thrill. Check out these middle-grade titles that were a particular joy to listen to this year. To read the whole Kirkus article visit: https://bit.ly/3DFE4Bt

Playlist Tags: McLean & Eakin Booksellers genre: Children's middle reader chapter books topic: own voices topic: middle grade audience: children middle grade fiction children audiobooks childrens books

View all playlists

The Sea in Winter

By Christine Day
Narrated by: Kimberly Woods
Length: 4 hours 25 minutes

In this evocative and heartwarming novel for readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish, the author of I Can Make This Promise tells the story of a Native American girl struggling to find her joy again.

It’s been a hard year for Maisie Cannon, ever since she hurt her leg and could not keep up with her ballet training and auditions.

Her blended...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Root Magic

By Eden Royce
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 9 hours 54 minutes

“A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans. Add in a fun, magical adventure and you get everything I want in a book!”—Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation

Debut author...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Year I Flew Away

By Marie Arnold
Narrated by: Marie Arnold
Length: 6 hours 36 minutes

In this magical middle-grade novel, ten-year-old Gabrielle finds out that America isn’t the perfect place she imagined when she moves from Haiti to Brooklyn. With the help of a clever witch, Gabrielle becomes the perfect American -- but will she lose herself in the process? Perfect for fans of HURRICANE CHILD and FRONT DESK.It’s 1985 and...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app in a gift box

Shop small and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

War and Millie McGonigle

By Karen Cushman
Narrated by: Emma Galvin
Length: 5 hours 43 minutes

The Newbery Award-winning author of Catherine, Called Birdy and The Midwife's Apprentice tells a heartfelt and humorous story of WWII on the homefront.

Millie McGonigle lives in sunny California, where her days are filled with beach and surf. It should be perfect--but times are tough. Hitler is attacking Europe and it looks like the United... Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Boy Joy

17 Stories Celebrating Black Boyhood

By Kwame Mbalia
Narrated by: Amir Abdullah & Taj Leahy
Length: 6 hours 29 minutes

Celebrate the joys of Black boyhood with stories from seventeen bestselling, critically acclaimed Black authors--including Jason Reynolds (the Track series), Jerry Craft (New Kid), and Kwame Mbalia (the Tristan Strong series)!

Black boy joy is…
 
Picking out a fresh first-day-of-school outfit.
Saving the universe in an epic intergalactic... Read more »

Audiobook details

Born Behind Bars

By Padma Venkatraman
Narrated by: Padma Venkatraman
Length: 4 hours 36 minutes

“Venkatraman has never met a heavy theme she did not like....Borrowing elements of fable, it's told with a recurring sense of awe by a boy whom the world, for most of his life, has existed only in stories.”—New York Times Book Review

The author of the award-winning The Bridge Home brings readers another gripping novel set in Chennai, India,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Amina's Song

Amina's Voice

By Hena Khan
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 5 hours 1 minutes

“For inspiring empathy in young readers, you can’t get better than this book.” —R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder

In the companion novel to the beloved and award-winning Amina’s Voice, Amina once again uses her voice to bridge the places, people, and communities she loves—this time across continents.

It’s the last few... Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference