Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Romance Read-Alikes: The 2021 Holiday Gift Guide

Romance Read-Alikes: The 2021 Holiday Gift Guide

Welcome to November 2021, which, for the purposes of holiday gifting, is effectively December of any pre-pandemic year thank you to *gestures vaguely* the supply chain. So: 'tis the season! And we think books are a *great* gift. However, it can be a little hard to choose exactly which book is right for which person. Fortunately, we've got a list for that! 1. Ice Planet Barbarians --> Star Trek x Naked and Afraid 2. It Happened One Summer --> For lovers of Schitt’s Creek 3. Irresistible You by Kate Meader --> For lovers of Ted Lasso but 5/5 flames 4. The Queer Principles of Kit Webb --> A heist! (Additional "eat the rich" vibes) 5. Rosalind Palmer Takes the Cake --> Great British Bake-off but make it a rom com 6. Heart of Blood and Ashes --> If you miss Game of Thrones 7. The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels --> For devotees of The Princess Bride 8. Wicked and the Wallflower --> For fans of the Netflix adaptation of Bridgerton 9. Hate to Want You --> For fans of the Netflix adaptation of Virgin River 10. Act Your Age, Eve Brown --> A Hallmark movie about a charming B&B but spicy 11. An Extraordinary Union --> Spies! (This book tears down confederate monuments in its free time) 12. You Had Me at Hola --> For fans of Jane the Virgin 13. Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating --> For fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before 14. Neon Gods --> Big Scorpio Energy 15. One Last Stop --> Queer Found Family + Time Travel 16. Boyfriend Material --> For fans of 90’s British romcoms 17. A Study in Scarlet Women --> Sherlock Holmes x Lady Detective

Playlist Tags: Meet Cute Romance Bookshop & Fizzery genre: Romance read-alikes topic: gift guide audiobooks gifts paranormal romance season: holidays contemporary romance regency romance romance science-fiction romance

View all playlists

A Study in Scarlet Women

The Lady Sherlock Series: Book #1

By Sherry Thomas
Narrated by: Kate Reading
Length: 11 hours

USA Today bestselling author Sherry Thomas turns the story of the renowned Sherlock Holmes upside down.

With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the fairer sex in upper-class society. But even she never thought that she would become a social pariah, an outcast fending for herself on...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Boyfriend Material

By Alexis Hall
Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Length: 13 hours 10 minutes

Boyfriend Material

“Imagine if the rom-com personas of Hugh Grant and Colin Firth fall in love. The bumbling goofball Luc needs an eligible fake boyfriend to improve his public image. In comes Oliver, a stoic man with a heart of gold. From their 'fake’ relationship comes true feelings and character growth. Featuring a hilarious ensemble cast and stellar narration from Joe Jameson, this quintessential British romantic comedy feels like a warm hug on a rainy day.”

Phoenix Books image Sofia, Phoenix Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

One Last Stop

By Casey McQuiston
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 12 hours 10 minutes

One Last Stop

“What a magical and creative tale, an addictive read that I did not want to put down. A fun and diverse cast of characters took this story to the next level. With such wide appeal, I know I will be able to put One Last Stop into the hands of almost any customer this summer.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori Cusker, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Neon Gods

Dark Olympus: Book #1

By Katee Robert
Narrated by: Zara Hampton-Brown & Barnaby Edwards
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

Neon Gods

“The perfect modern take on Hades and Persephone. He was a pure and wonderful soul with enough wickedness in the bedroom to make you want him all for yourself. And Persephone was a delight. The perfect girl on the outside with a desire for more behind the curtains...Another fabulous read by Katee and I cannot recommend it enough!”

Inklings Bookshop image Anne, Inklings Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating

By Adiba Jaigirdar
Narrated by: Reena Dutt & Shubhangi Karmakar
Length: 9 hours 35 minutes

Everyone likes Humaira "Hani" Khan―she’s easy going and one of the most popular girls at school. But when she comes out to her friends as bisexual, they invalidate her identity, saying she can’t be bi if she’s only dated guys. Panicked, Hani blurts out that she’s in a relationship…with a girl her friends absolutely hate―Ishita "Ishu" Dey. Ishu... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

You Had Me at Hola

A Novel

By Alexis Daria
Narrated by: Seraphine Valentine
Length: 10 hours 27 minutes

You Had Me at Hola

“I don’t have enough superlatives to do this book justice. Everything is spot on, from the chemistry between the main characters to the telenovela drama to the meddling but supportive cousins. I love all the Spanish, the backstage glimpses into the making of a TV show (especially the inclusion of the intimacy coordinator), and the way the telenovela tropes, like a secret child, are woven into the grounded romance. Now I just hope Michelle and Ava get their own books soon!”

East City Bookshop image Cecilia Cackley, East City Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

An Extraordinary Union

Loyal League: Book #1

By Alyssa Cole
Narrated by: Karen Chilton
Length: 10 hours 1 minutes

As the Civil War rages between the states, a courageous pair of spies plunge fearlessly into a maelstrom of ignorance, deceit, and danger, combining their unique skills to alter the course of history and break the chains of the past. Elle Burns is a former slave with a passion for justice and an eidetic memory. Trading in her life of freedom in... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Hate to Want You

Forbidden Hearts
Forbidden Hearts: Book #1

By Alisha Rai
Narrated by: Summer Morton & Jeremy York
Length: 9 hours 59 minutes

Alisha Rai, one of contemporary romance’s brightest stars, makes her Avon Books debut with the first novel in the sexy Forbidden Hearts series!

One night. No one will know.

That was the deal. Every year, Livvy Kane and Nicholas Chandler would share one perfect night of illicit pleasure. The forbidden hours let them forget the tragedy that haunted...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Wicked and the Wallflower

The Bareknuckle Bastards Book I

By Sarah MacLean
Narrated by: Justine Eyre
Length: 12 hours 39 minutes

When Wicked Comes Calling . . .

When a mysterious stranger finds his way into her bedchamber and offers his help in landing a duke, Lady Felicity Faircloth agrees—on one condition. She’s seen enough of the world to believe in passion, and won’t accept a marriage without it.

The Wallflower Makes a Dangerous Bargain . . .

Bastard son of a duke and...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Act Your Age, Eve Brown

A Novel

By Talia Hibbert
Narrated by: Ione Butler
Length: 10 hours 51 minutes

Act Your Age, Eve Brown

“A satisfying conclusion to an absolutely delightful series! In the final installment of the trilogy, we follow the youngest Brown sister, Eve, a lovable hot mess who is looking to prove to her parents that she can get her life together. Her attempts to turn things around lead her to accidentally interview for as job as a chef at a bed and breakfast. The owner of the B&B, Jacob, is Eve’s polar opposite on paper, so they naturally get off to a bad start. It doesn’t help that Eve also hits him with her car! As the pair begin to learn more about each other, the sweetest romance blooms. Talia Hibbert proves once again that she knows how to write a romantic comedy!”

Cafe con Libros image Tyrinne Lewis, Cafe con Libros
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

Dangerous Damsels: Book #1

By India Holton
Narrated by: Elizabeth Knowelden
Length: 10 hours 31 minutes

A New York Times Notable Book of 2021

“The kind of book for which the word “rollicking” was invented.”—New York Times Book Review

A prim and proper lady thief must save her aunt from a crazed pirate and his dangerously charming henchman in this fantastical historical romance.


Cecilia Bassingwaite is the ideal Victorian lady. She's also a thief.... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Heart of Blood and Ashes

Gathering of Dragons: Book #1

By Milla Vane
Narrated by: Nicole Poole
Length: 15 hours 15 minutes

A generation past, the western realms were embroiled in endless war. Then the Destroyer came. From the blood and ashes he left behind, a tenuous alliance rose between the barbarian riders of Parsathe and the walled kingdoms of the south. That alliance is all that stands against the return of an ancient evil—until the barbarian king and queen are... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

Winner Bakes All: Book #1

By Alexis Hall
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 11 hours 23 minutes

Fans of Casey McQuiston, Christina Lauren, and Abby Jimenez will love this scrumptious and sweet romantic comedy from the "dizzyingly talented writer" of Boyfriend Material (Entertainment Weekly)

LGBTQ Reads: Most Anticipated Adult LGBTQAP Fiction 2021
We Are Bookish: Spring Releases to Have on Your Radar


Following the recipe is the key to a... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Queer Principles of Kit Webb

A Novel

By Cat Sebastian
Narrated by: Joel Leslie
Length: 9 hours 11 minutes

"The Queer Principles of Kit Webb kept me up all night! I simply couldn’t put it down."— Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author

“Sharp, smart, and oh-so-swoony, The Queer Principles of Kit Webb reminds me that Cat Sebastian is an author at the absolute top of her game.”— Rachel Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author

Critically acclaimed...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Irresistible You

Chicago Rebels: Book #1

By Kate Meader
Narrated by: Pippa Jayne
Length: 9 hours 32 minutes

Harper Chase has just become the most powerful woman in the NHL after the death of her father Clifford Chase, maverick owner of the Chicago Rebels. But the team is a hot mess—underfunded, overweight, and close to tapping out of the league. Hell-bent on turning the luckless franchise around, Harper won't let anything stand in her way. Not her... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

It Happened One Summer

A Novel

By Tessa Bailey
Narrated by: Charlotte North
Length: 10 hours 48 minutes

It Happened One Summer

“This story opened its broad arms and admitted me into the recharging station that I needed so badly in 2021. It was cute. It was sweet. It was heart-wrenching. It was steamy. It was everything!”

Stephanie Arrache image Stephanie Arrache, Waterwheel Gifts and Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Ice Planet Barbarians

Ice Planet Barbarians: Book #1

By Ruby Dixon
Narrated by: Mason Lloyd & Hollie Jackson
Length: 5 hours 51 minutes

LOST

You'd think being abducted by aliens would be the worst thing that could happen to me. And you'd be wrong. Because now, the aliens are having ship trouble, and they've left their cargo of human women—including me—on an ice planet.

FOUND

And the only native inhabitant I've met? He's big, horned, blue, and really, really has a thing for me... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account