Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Staff Picks: The Last Word

Staff Picks: The Last Word

Introducing...drum roll please...our staff picks! These books are the best of the best and all come highly recommended. To see why each bookseller recommends each book, check out our Instagram (@thelastwordbookstore).

Playlist Tags: The Last Word historical fiction topic: staff picks topic: fantasy romance young adult books climate change

View all playlists

Ninth House

Alex Stern: Book #1

By Leigh Bardugo
Narrated by: Lauren Fortgang & Michael David Axtell
Length: 16 hours 21 minutes

Ninth House

“Queen Leigh’s first foray into adult fantasy is a sensational success! One of the best fantasy books I’ve read in a long while, Ninth House contains Yale secret societies, ghosts, magic, morally gray characters, and murder. Bardugo balances dual timelines with intricate precision, and the history and world-building of her fantastical New Haven is superb. I couldn’t put this book down; I had to know what was going to happen next. I savored every moment reading this novel, and I am jealous of readers who get to experience it for the first time!”

Page 1 Books image Isabella Ogbolumani, Page 1 Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A River Enchanted

A Novel
Elements of Cadence: Book #1

By Rebecca Ross
Narrated by: Ruth Urquhart
Length: 14 hours 12 minutes

“With lush world building and lyrical prose, A River Enchanted feels like the echo of a folktale from a world right next to our own.” —Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

House of Earth and Blood meets The Witch's Heart in Rebecca Ross’s brilliant first adult fantasy, set on the magical isle of Cadence where two...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Just Mercy (Movie Tie-In Edition)

A Story of Justice and Redemption

By Bryan Stevenson
Narrated by: Bryan Stevenson
Length: 11 hours 10 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING MICHAEL B. JORDAN AND JAMIE FOXX • A powerful true story about the potential for mercy to redeem us, and a clarion call to fix our broken system of justice—from one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time.

“[Bryan Stevenson’s] dedication to fighting for justice...
Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

A Thousand Ships

A Novel

By Natalie Haynes
Narrated by: Natalie Haynes
Length: 8 hours 33 minutes

A Thousand Ships

“With A Thousand Ships, Natalie Haynes has secured herself a seat at the table with Madeline Miller as a great contemporary-classical novelist. I'm so glad that I listened to this one on audio, as Haynes is able to lend her literal voice to these characters and do them a great service. On a related note, I'll wait in line for stand-alone works following Penthesilea and Penelope! Homer experts and novices alike will devour this novel. ”

Innisfree Bookshop image Matt, Innisfree Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Silent Patient

By Alex Michaelides
Narrated by: Jack Hawkins & Louise Brealey
Length: 8 hours 43 minutes

The Silent Patient

“When Theo Faber starts his new job at the Grove, a forensic psychiatric hospital, he is determined to work with the famous painter Alicia Berenson, who allegedly murdered her husband. What follows is a tale that will grip you and keep you guessing. With the incredible voice talent of Jack Hawkins, the audiobook elicits the feeling of something very slowly creeping up your spine, and will have you gripping your seat with anxiety throughout. An expansive cast of characters populates this novel, all with intricate connections and relationships, all with dark secrets of their own, making anyone and everyone a suspect. The ending twist was so intense and so unexpected, I had to pause the narration for a moment to scream and gather myself before I could move on. I highly recommend this audiobook for anyone who wants to explore the dark and twisted corners of the human psyche.”

Oxford Exchange image Kaitlyn, Oxford Exchange
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Evvie Drake Starts Over

A Novel

By Linda Holmes
Narrated by: Julia Whelan & Linda Holmes
Length: 9 hours 6 minutes

Evvie Drake Starts Over

“I enjoyed following Evvie's journey as she navigated her life and figured out how to handle loss, love, friendships, family and happiness. This book was a great escape with a sweet romance woven throughout. I enjoyed the nods to NPR and, since I'm from Minnesota, enjoyed the mentions of my home state as well. A perfect beach listen!”

Content image Myrna, Content
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Frankenstein

or The Modern Prometheus

By Mary Shelley
Narrated by: Anthony Heald, Stefan Rudnicki & Simon Templeman
Length: 8 hours 42 minutes

This special unabridged, multivoiced production of Mary Shelley’s masterpiece of nineteenth-century Gothic horror is narrated by film and television star Anthony Heald, joined by Grammy winner Stefan Rudnicki and actor Simon Templeman, under the direction of award-winning audio producer Yuri Rasovsky.

Dr. Victor Frankenstein, an ambitious young...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

You Should See Me in a Crown

By Leah Johnson
Narrated by: Alaska Jackson
Length: 7 hours 18 minutes

You Should See Me in a Crown

“I am a puddle of happy tears. If you're looking for Black joy, queer joy, this one's a must read. Cute and fun and real, Leah Johnson has written one for the underdogs, about rewriting the rules and getting to be yourself. I devoured it. I wish I'd slowed down. I loved Liz. I loved Mack. And I'd love a sequel please.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Once There Were Wolves

A Novel

By Charlotte McConaghy
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 8 hours 27 minutes

Once There Were Wolves

“Inti and Aggie. Sisters. Twins. Aggie with a gift for language and Inti who belongs in the forest. A complicated intertwined life journey has landed the two of them in the wilds of Scotland as part of a wolf rehoming project where local tempers run hot, scientist's missions are complicated, and wolves howl for love and justice in the hills and peat bogs of the highland forests. McConaghy's writing will destroy you, demand your attention, ask you to be still and listen, and will absolutely change you. Once There Were Wolves and after there were, they'll never leave you. ”

The Country Bookshop image Angie, The Country Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Lot Like Adios

A Novel

By Alexis Daria
Narrated by: Seraphine Valentine
Length: 9 hours 44 minutes

"Alexis Daria's A Lot Like Adiós is a charming, sexy spitfire of a novel! Between Mich and Gabe's crackling dialogue and their palpable yearning, I fell hard and fast for this book, racing through its pages until I finally closed it with an overflowing heart and a deep happy sigh. Romance readers, this is your new favorite book!" --Emily Henry,...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The House in the Cerulean Sea

By TJ Klune
Narrated by: Daniel Henning
Length: 12 hours 12 minutes

If you enjoyed 1984, then you’ll love The House in the Cerulean Sea.

“This was a wholesome squeal of a novel that I ADORED! It had so much hype around it so I was wary but it immediately drew me in and wouldn't let me go until I finished. I opted for audio since it seemed that was the only way I was going to squeeze it in with my giant TBR list. Once I started, I literally changed my activities to better fit the listening of this book—more knitting, less TV, longer walks, and antisocial behavior. The narrator, Daniel Henning, perfectly encapsulated the whimsical nature of Linus Baker and his mysterious Level 4 security assignment to the island of Marysas. Though this book is entirely its own, it had vibes that reminded me of 1984 meets The Umbrella Academy meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Klune imbues so much life into all his characters. The kids are so cute and sassy and I love this quasi-magical world that they exist in, despite the fact that it keeps them locked away in an orphanage. I love that themes of our own world are examined and questioned and that it has a happy ending. I highly recommend this fantastical novel to everyone! Any book that steals all my attention from start to finish is pure magic and should be cherished!”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

By V. E. Schwab
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 17 hours 9 minutes

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

“Unlike anything I have ever read. Stunning, masterful, epic, dark and rich! Even my friends who usually scoff at sci-fi/fantasy books, loved this one. No short synopsis will properly prepare you, just dive in.”

A Great Good Place for Books image Zinna, A Great Good Place for Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

For the Wolf

The Wilderwood: Book #1

By Hannah Whitten
Narrated by: Inés del Castillo
Length: 13 hours 40 minutes

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account