Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Mainely Maine

Mainely Maine

At Bogan Books, we celebrate Maine themes and authors. Here are some of our favorites.

Playlist Tags: Bogan Books maine authors maine

View all playlists

The Maine Woods

By Henry David Thoreau
Narrated by: John Roberts
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

The Maine Woods’ is based on Henry David Thoreau’s lengthy experiences in the forests of Maine in the years 1846, 1853, and 1857. Thoreau describes the area in exquisite detail: the native people and their languages, the loggers and their labors, the rivers, the trees, the plants and the birds. Experiencing all the joys of the woods, he padded... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Oslo, Maine

By Marcia Butler
Narrated by: Charlie Thurston
Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

A moose walks into a rural Maine town called Oslo. Pierre Roy, a brilliant twelve-year-old, loses his memory in an accident. Three families are changed for worse and better as they grapple with trauma, marriage, ambition, and their fraught relationship with the natural world.

Oslo, Maine inspects the strengths and limitations of seven average... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Twentieth Maine

A Volunteer Regiment in the Civil War

By John J. Pullen
Narrated by: Barrett Whitener
Length: 10 hours 52 minutes

It was at Little Round Top that the volunteer regiment, the Twentieth Maine, with Joshua Chamberlain in command, performed one of the miracles of the Civil War and saved the left flank of the Union battle line. Outnumbered two to one, their front doubled back to the shape of a horseshoe. And with ammunition gone, the men fixed bayonets, charged,...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Mind of the Raven

Investigations and Adventures with Wolf-Birds

By Bernd Heinrich
Narrated by: Norman Dietz
Length: 16 hours 46 minutes

Bernd Heinrich involves us in his quest to get inside the mind of the raven. But as animals can only be spied on by getting quite close, Heinrich adopts ravens, thereby becoming a "raven father," as well as observing them in their natural habitat. He studies their daily routines, and in the process, paints a vivid picture of the ravens' world.... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Down to Earth

By Betty Culley
Narrated by: Lincoln Hoppe
Length: 5 hours 54 minutes

Counting by 7s meets See You in the Cosmos in this heartwarming coming-of-age story perfect for the budding geologists and those fascinated by the mysteries of the universe.

Henry has always been fascinated by rocks. As a homeschooler, he pours through the R volume of the encyclopedia (to help him identify the rocks he finds). So, when a... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Three Things I Know Are True

By Betty Culley
Narrated by: Cassandra Morris
Length: 4 hours 53 minutes

Fans of Jandy Nelson and Marieke Nijkamp will love this deeply moving novel in verse about the aftermath of a gun accident.

Life changes forever for Liv when her older brother, Jonah, accidentally shoots himself with his best friend Clay’s father’s gun. Now Jonah needs round-the-clock care just to stay alive, and Liv feels like she’s the only...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Finding Freedom

A Cook's Story; Remaking a Life from Scratch

By Erin French
Narrated by: Erin French
Length: 9 hours 35 minutes

If you enjoyed Know My Name, then you’ll love Finding Freedom.

“Erin French's memoir is so impressive, highly engrossing, and also so tough to read. She brings us through her life, all the highest peaks and deepest valleys and emphasizes the tremendous effort she has made to come back from each low point. I often listened to French's narration with bated breath, shocked at how much she has overcome in such a relatively short period of time. French's personal story also made me think about our country as a whole and how bad it is at mental health and believing women. It just deeply affronted me that a story like French's is even possible in the 21st century; we have so far to go. Though moments of this book are tough, French's resilience is truly inspiring. You can't help cry for her when things go wrong and root for her when she fights her way back. This memoir, like many that are narrated by their own authors, is in its best form with the audiobook edition. French's voice is raw and truthful and makes you feel this story down to your bones. I highly recommend this to everyone. A story of resilience, Finding Freedom leaves you with much needed hope and light despite it's occasional darkness and an underdog to root for through it all.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Billy Summers

By Stephen King
Narrated by: Paul Sparks
Length: 16 hours 55 minutes

The #1 New York Times Bestseller
An Esquire Best Book of the Year
A Wall Street Journal Favorite Book of the Year
A Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist

From legendary storyteller Stephen King, whose “restless imagination is a power that cannot be contained” (The New York Times Book Review), comes a thrilling new novel about a good guy in a bad... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Downeast

Five Maine Girls and the Unseen Story of Rural America

By Gigi Georges
Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

In Downeast, Gigi Georges follows five girls as they come of age in one of the most challenging and geographically isolated regions on the Eastern seaboard. Their stories reveal surprising truths about rural America and offer hope for its future. “It’s almost impossible not to care about these fierce young women and cheer for their hard-won...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Lowering Days

A Novel

By Gregory Brown
Narrated by: Nicole Altvater & David Aaron Baker
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

“In The Lowering Days Gregory Brown gives us a lush, almost mythic portrait of a very specific place and time that feels all the more universal for its singularity. There’s magic here.” —Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Empire Falls and Chances Are

A promising literary star makes his debut with this emotionally powerful saga, set...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Five Tuesdays in Winter

Stories

By Lily King
Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski, various narrators, Mark Bramhall, Christa Lewis, Cassandra Campbell & Bronson Pinchot
Length: 6 hours 10 minutes

Award-winning Lily King’s first-ever collection of exceptional and innovative short stories

With Writers & Lovers and Euphoria, Lily King’s books catapulted onto bestseller and best-of-the-year lists across the country and established her as one of our most “brilliant” (New York Times), “wildly talented” (Chicago Tribune), and beloved authors...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Mill Town

Reckoning with What Remains

By Kerri Arsenault
Narrated by: Kerri Arsenault
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

Mill Town

“This is a beautifully written story about two small towns in Maine and the paper mill that is the foundation of their economy. It tells the much bigger story of the sacrifice of the workers, and the injustices to them and the environment. Arsenault masters the nuances of family and history, which pulled me into the story in the first few pages and kept me there. A tender and honest reveal of her own family and hometown, and a truthful history of our nation. I’ll be recommending this as a must-read to our customers.”

Arcadia Books image Todd Miller, Arcadia Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Super Host

By Kate Russo
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 10 hours 44 minutes

“Get ready to smile….[A] sweet story and the perfect antidote to the chaos that’s been 2021.” –the Skimm

A deeply funny and shrewdly observed debut novel about being lost in the very place you know by heart.


Bennett Driscoll is a Turner Prize-nominated artist who was once a rising star. Now, at age fifty-five, his wife has left him, he hasn't... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Landslide

A novel

By Susan Conley
Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
Length: 6 hours 35 minutes

This beautiful portrait of a family in a fishing village in Maine is "a fresh look at marriage, motherhood, and the wondrous inner lives of teenagers. A truly beautiful and unforgettable love story of a family on the brink” (Lily King, author of Writers & Lovers). A must-read from the critically acclaimed author of Elsey Comes Home.

“I loved... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Dead by Dawn

A Novel
Mike Bowditch Mysteries: Book #12

By Paul Doiron
Narrated by: Henry Leyva
Length: 8 hours 44 minutes

Maine game warden Mike Bowditch finds himself in a life-or-death chase in this next thriller in the bestselling mystery series by Edgar Award nominee Paul Doiron, Dead by Dawn.

Mike Bowditch is fighting for his life. After being ambushed on a dark winter road, his Jeep crashes into a frozen river. Trapped beneath the ice in the middle of nowhere,...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account