Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Shelf Interested: January 2022

Shelf Interested: January 2022

All the inventory from January that's also on audio!

Playlist Tags: Exhibit B. Books genre: True Crime topic: non-fiction nonfiction topic: true crime true crime

View all playlists

Two Truths and a Lie

A Murder, a Private Investigator, and Her Search for Justice

By Ellen McGarrahan
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 13 hours 2 minutes

EDGAR AWARD FINALIST • A private investigator revisits the case that has haunted her for decades and sets out on a deeply personal quest to sort truth from lies.
 
CLUE AWARD FINALIST • “[A] haunting memoir, which also unfolds as a gripping true-crime narrative . . . This is a powerful, unsettling story, told with bracing honesty and skill.”—The... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

When Evil Lived in Laurel

The "White Knights" and the Murder of Vernon Dahmer

By Curtis Wilkie
Narrated by: Stephen Graybill
Length: 12 hours 37 minutes

One of NPR's Best Books of the Year
A finalist of the for the 2022 Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime

The inside story of how a courageous FBI informant helped to bring down the KKK organization responsible for a brutal civil rights–era killing.

By early 1966, the work of Vernon Dahmer was well known in south Mississippi. A light-skinned Black...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Sleeper Agent

The Atomic Spy in America Who Got Away

By Ann Hagedorn
Narrated by: Laural Merlington
Length: 7 hours 54 minutes

This must-listen book tells the chilling story of an American-born Soviet spy in the atom bomb project in World War II, perfect for fans of The Americans.

George Koval was born in Iowa. In 1932, his parents, Russian Jews who had emigrated because of anti-Semitism, decided to return home to live out their socialist ideals. George, who was as... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

A Killer by Design

Murderers, Mindhunters, and My Quest to Decipher the Criminal Mind

By Ann Wolbert Burgess
Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
Length: 9 hours 1 minutes

A vivid behind-the-scenes look into the creation of the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit and the evolution of criminal profiling, written by the pioneering forensic nurse who transformed the way the FBI studies, profiles, and catches serial killers. 

Lurking beneath the progressive activism and sex positivity in the 1970-80s, a dark undercurrent of... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Dope

The Real History of the Mexican Drug Trade

By Benjamin T. Smith
Narrated by: John Curless
Length: 17 hours 48 minutes

The Mexican drug trade has inspired prejudiced narratives of a war between north and south, white and brown; between noble cops and vicious kingpins, corrupt politicians and powerful cartels. In this first comprehensive history of the trade, scholar Benjamin T. Smith tells the real story of how and why this once-peaceful industry turned... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Kidnapped

The Tragic Life of J. Paul Getty III

By Charles Fox
Narrated by: Michael Kramer
Length: 9 hours 22 minutes

Previously published as Uncommon Youth, Charles Fox's Kidnapped examines the glamorous life, gilded family, and tragic times of J. Paul Getty III, whose kidnapping made headlines in 1973.

J. Paul ("Little Paul") Getty III, the grandson of Getty Oil founder J. Paul Getty, may have been cursed by money and privilege from the moment he was born....

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Sex Cult Nun

Breaking Away from the Children of God, a Wild, Radical Religious Cult

By Faith Jones
Narrated by: Jaime Lamchick
Length: 13 hours 10 minutes

Educated meets The Vow in this story of liberation and self-empowerment—an inspiring and stranger-than-fiction memoir of growing up in and breaking free from the Children of God, an oppressive, extremist religious cult.

Faith Jones was raised to be part a religious army preparing for the End Times. Growing up on an isolated farm in Macau, she...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Norco '80

The True Story of the Most Spectacular Bank Robbery in American History

By Peter Houlahan
Narrated by: Joe Barrett
Length: 13 hours 24 minutes

In the spirit of Killers of the Flower Moon and The Onion Field, Norco '80 is a gripping true crime account of one of the most violent bank heists in U.S. history.

Norco '80 tells the story of how five heavily armed young men—led by an apocalyptic born-again Christian—attempted a bank robbery that turned into one of the most violent criminal... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Man from the Train

The Solving of a Century-Old Serial Killer Mystery

By Bill James & Rachel McCarthy James
Narrated by: John Bedford Lloyd
Length: 17 hours 4 minutes

An Edgar Award finalist for Best Fact Crime, this “impressive…open-eyed investigative inquiry wrapped within a cultural history of rural America” (The Wall Street Journal) shows legendary statistician and baseball writer Bill James applying his analytical acumen to crack an unsolved century-old mystery surrounding one of the deadliest serial... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Icepick Surgeon

Murder, Fraud, Sabotage, Piracy, and Other Dastardly Deeds Perpetrated in the Name of Science

By Sam Kean
Narrated by: Ben Sullivan
Length: 11 hours 45 minutes

From a New York Times bestselling author comes the gripping, untold history of science's darkest secrets, "a fascinating book [that] deserves a wide audience" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Science is a force for good in the world—at least usually. But sometimes, when obsession gets the better of scientists, they twist a noble pursuit into...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The House of Gucci

A True Story of Murder, Madness, Glamour, and Greed

By Sara Gay Forden
Narrated by: Sara Gay Forden & Fajer Al-Kaisi
Length: 16 hours 20 minutes

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE from director Ridley Scott, starring Lady Gaga and Adam Driver

The sensational true story of murder, madness, glamour, and greed that shook the Gucci dynasty, now fully updated with a new afterword

On the morning of March 27, 1995, four quick shots cracked through Milan’s elegant streets. Maurizio Gucci, heir to the...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Tiger King

The Official Tell-All Memoir

By Joe Exotic
Narrated by: George Newbern
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

Joe Exotic, star of the Netflix original documentary that “consumed the pop-cultural imagination” (The Atlantic) and transfixed a nation in the midst of a global crisis, opens up about his outlandish journey from Midwestern farmer to infamous Tiger King, and finally, to federal inmate.

Shortly after his arrest (for charges including hiring a... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Every Move You Make

By M. William Phelps
Narrated by: J. Charles
Length: 13 hours 55 minutes

Con Man
In December 1989, in upstate New York, Gary C. Evans, 35, a master of disguise and career criminal who had befriended David “Son of Sam” Berkowitz, began weaving a web of deadly lies. Evans told a female friend that Damien Cuomo, the father of her child, had deserted her. Of that he could be certain, since he’d killed Cuomo, and...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Wicked Boy

The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer

By Kate Summerscale
Narrated by: Corrie James
Length: 9 hours 22 minutes

Early in the morning of Monday 8 July 1895, thirteen-year-old Robert Coombes and his twelve-year-old brother Nattie set out from their small, yellow-brick terraced house in East London to watch a cricket match at Lord's. Their father had gone to sea the previous Friday, the boys told their neighbours, and their mother was visiting her family in... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Almost Paradise

The East Hampton Murder of Ted Ammon

By Kieran Crowley
Narrated by: Danny Campbell
Length: 13 hours 44 minutes

For the audience that read Maria Flook’s New York Times bestseller, Invisible Eden, this is the extraordinary story of a high-stakes murder case set in the high society world of East Hampton—the playground of New York’s superrich.

On October 22, 2001, handsome multimillionaire financier Ted Ammon was found bludgeoned to death in the magnificent...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account