Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Mariana's Favorite Fantasy Books

Mariana's Favorite Fantasy Books

Fantasy books have always been an escape for me, but I can't deny many series are chock-full of world-building, information, and details that can be hard to follow at first. These audiobooks have all the complexity and magic you're looking for, along with A+ narration that brings the story to life in a way makes it effortless to enjoy!

Playlist Tags: Savoy Bookshop genre: Fantasy

View all playlists

The Blacktongue Thief

Blacktongue: Book #1

By Christopher Buehlman
Narrated by: Christopher Buehlman
Length: 12 hours 25 minutes

The Blacktongue Thief

“Come for the battle ravens, stay for the probably-bewitched cat! Buehlman's latest will have you laughing one moment and gasping the next, and you'll wonder what fascinating new concept he'll come up with next. As Kinch Na Shannack takes an epic journey, you explore this exquisitely built world with him, your sardonic narrator, along with nonstop action. A few raunchy jokes and scenes (as a warning for those who don't prefer it). ”

Quail Ridge Books image Amber, Quail Ridge Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The City We Became

A Novel
The Great Cities: Book #1

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 16 hours 12 minutes

The City We Became

“What did I just listen to and why did I like it so much? Part of falling in love with this book was the listening experience, to be certain. The narration was stellar. The production was on point. But the story... the story itself is sublime. N.K. Jemisin has written a love letter to New York City - but not the one in bright, bold letters on the silver screen - the real city, and the real people who inhabit it and call it home, even if only temporarily. And it was beyond my wildest dreams (and nightmares). "The City We Became" is so incredibly layered and nuanced - diving into discussions of racism and sexism and the fallacy of good vs evil. I wanted nothing more than to steep in its long chapters, and get to know its boroughs as intimately as Jemisin would allow - not mere stereotypes but fully fleshed and brilliant, blinding avatars. Witty, subversive, imaginative, unbelievable. Get on this wild ride.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Ruin of Kings

A Chorus of Dragons: Book #1

By Jenn Lyons
Narrated by: Feodor Chin, Soneela Nankani & Vikas Adam
Length: 27 hours 14 minutes

The Ruin of Kings

“This is a wonderful epic adventure of a street kid who finds he is actually what he loathes a member of a royal family. There are epic forces trying to kill him, and bring the demise of the people he loves. There is magic, battles, mystery, and heroic characters. Everything you want in a good fantasy adventure story.”

Avid Bookshop image Ellen, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Gideon the Ninth

Locked Tomb: Book #1

By Tamsyn Muir
Narrated by: Moira Quirk
Length: 16 hours 49 minutes

Gideon the Ninth

Gideon the Ninth is an epic science fantasy that if delivered into the hands of enough people will set the world on fire as it hasn’t been since The Hunger Games. Brilliance doesn’t come close to explaining Tamsyn Muir’s narrative where no single word is wasted or her engineering of a world with characters that end up belonging to you wholeheartedly even long after the last page. With fierce independence and hysterical wit, and laced with moments of pure heartbreaking tenderness and loyalty, Gideon and Harrow’s relationship simultaneously digs under your skin and tugs at your heartstrings. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.”

Nichole Cousins image Nichole Cousins, Still North Books & Bar
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Fifth Season

The Broken Earth: Book #1

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 15 hours 27 minutes

The Fifth Season

“The Fifth Season is an amazing, dark, and gripping work that will hook you from the first sentence. I cannot express to you how much this book stunned me. Robin's narration is well paced and engaging. While I wish this was a book for everyone to listen to, it isn't; destruction, trauma, and rage follow the women and girls who tell their stories. This book is about the end of the world, that you actually don't want to stop reading.”

Once Upon A Time image Jessica, Once Upon A Time
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Little Thieves

By Margaret Owen
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 13 hours 59 minutes

Little Thieves

“Vanja wants just one thing. She wants enough money to escape the life of servitude her godmothers, Death and Fortune have promised her. She has stolen many things, jewelry, clothes, money, and the identity of her former lady, the Princess Giselle. Cursed by a low god, Vanja only has a fortnight to return what she’s stolen before the jewels growing on her body will take over and kill her...a lifetime of isolation, Vanja knows that she’s the only person she can count on. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows, this Bavarian-inspired fantasy is a delightful adventure with found family, thrilling mysteries, and is full of heart. Maybe Vanja wants more than one thing, after all.”

Wellesley Books image Cassie, Wellesley Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Deep

By Rivers Solomon, Daveed Diggs, William Hutson & Jonathan Snipes
Narrated by: Daveed Diggs
Length: 4 hours 1 minutes

If you enjoyed A Song Below Water, then you’ll love The Deep.

“This book has the power to transform. The approach to trauma (both individual and generational), the world building, the relationships... Solomon has created something undeniably special and incredibly important. And the mythology? I am blown away. Give me more Black mermaids STAT!”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Raven Tower

By Ann Leckie
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 12 hours 1 minutes

The Raven Tower

“Reading a book by Ann Leckie is very much like trying an unusual new food; after a taste of it your regular meat-and-potatoes reading will seem plain by comparison. The Raven Tower is fantasy for philosophers, brimming with intrigue, nuance, and some absolutely fascinating mythological twists. Plus, the magnificence of the book aside, I would listen to Adjoa Andoh read a shopping list.”

Tsunami Books image Emily, Tsunami Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The City of Brass

A Novel

By S. A. Chakraborty
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 20 hours 1 minutes

The City of Brass

“S.A. Chakraborty introduces a fantasy set in the Middle East that thrusts us into the magical world of Daevabad. The City of Brass follows, in parallel, Nahri, a con artist and naturally gifted healer, and Ali, prince of Daevabad and fiercely trained soldier. Nahri and Ali find themselves learning new lessons on how to survive changing environments and difficult challenges, while trying to figure out the complexities of their lives. I found myself turning page after page, following Nahri's and Ali's story while deciphering the fantastic terminology and the world that is Daevabad. The City of Brass is a wonderfully written, mystical adventure that keeps you guessing about what will happen next.”

Literati Bookstore image Barry Nelipowitz, Literati Bookstore
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Black Sun

Between Earth and Sky: Book #1

By Rebecca Roanhorse
Narrated by: Cara Gee, Nicole Lewis, Kaipo Schwab & Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 12 hours 46 minutes

Black Sun

“October, the month to read mysteries, horror, and suspense... but how about a fantasy novel with a little bit of all of the above? That is definitely my preference and New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Resistance Reborn, Rebecca Roanhorse, wrote just the right book. If you are a fan of fantasy you shouldn't let this one pass. It has a great and original storyline, compelling characters, and the world building was done really well. It is also a great read for this time of the year if horror is not something you can stomach but you still want a book with an edge this Halloween.”

Inklings Bookshop image Anne, Inklings Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account