Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Mother's Day

Mother's Day

Playlist Tags: Chukaruka

View all playlists

Last Stop on Market Street

By Matt De La Pena
Narrated by: Lizan Mitchell
Length: 7 minutes

Every Sunday after church, CJ and his grandma ride the bus across town. But today, CJ wonders why they don't own a car like his friend Colby. Why doesn't he have an iPod like the boys on the bus? How come they always have to get off in the dirty part of town? Each question is met with an encouraging answer from grandma, who helps him see the... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Mommy's Khimar

By Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow
Narrated by: Robin Eller
Length: 10 minutes

A khimar is a flowing scarf that my mommy wears.Before she walks out the door each day, she wraps one around her head.A young girl plays dress-up with her motherΓÇÖs headscarves, feeling her motherΓÇÖs love with every one she tries on. Charming and vibrant, this portrait of a young Muslim American girlΓÇÖs life showcases the beauty of a diverse... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Where the Watermelons Grow

By Cindy Baldwin
Narrated by: Sisi Aisha Johnson
Length: 5 hours 18 minutes

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin's debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother's mental illness. When twelve-year-old Della Kelly finds her mother furiously digging black seeds from a watermelon in the middle of the night and talking to people who aren't there, Della... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

I Can Make This Promise

By Christine Day
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 5 hours 46 minutes

In her debut middle grade novel—inspired by her family’s history—Christine Day tells the story of a girl who uncovers her family’s secrets—and finds her own Native American identity.

All her life, Edie has known that her mom was adopted by a white couple. So, no matter how curious she might be about her Native American heritage, Edie is sure her...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Freedom Soup

By Tami Charles
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 15 minutes

The shake-shake of maracas vibrates down to my toes. Ti GranΓÇÖs feet tap-tap to the rhythm. Every year, Haitians all over the world ring in the new year by eating a special soup, a tradition dating back to the Haitian Revolution. This year, Ti Gran is teaching Belle how to make the soupΓÇöFreedom SoupΓÇöjust like she was taught when she was a... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Ramona and Her Mother

Ramona: Book #5

By Beverly Cleary
Narrated by: Stockard Channing
Length: 2 hours 17 minutes

This warm-hearted story of a mother's love for her spirited young daughter is told beautifully by Newbery Medal–winning author Beverly Cleary. 

Ramona Quimby is no longer seven, but not quite eight. She's "seven and a half right now," if you ask her. Not allowed to stay home alone, yet old enough to watch pesky Willa Jean, Ramona wonders when her...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 3 hours 56 minutes

Clean Getaway

“This hooked me from the get go. When G'ma asks Will to come on an impromptu trip, he wants to get away for a bit but does not know what he is getting himself into. His sweet, loving, albeit kooky, G'ma is more than meets the eye. She is a whirlwind of chaos, taking Will on a roadtrip through her past, offhandedly teaching Will about racial tensions in the 1960s when she, a white woman, married a black man (his G'pa). Clean Getaway introduces the Civil Rights era, accessibly integrating the present with the past through G'ma's confessions and her treasure box of memories, including a green book, a road trip map, a photo, and a set of diamond earrings.”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners

By Joanna Ho
Narrated by: Angela Lin
Length: 5 minutes

This lyrical, stunning picture book tells a story about learning to love and celebrate your Asian-shaped eyes, in the spirit of Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry, and is a celebration of diversity.

"This tale of self-acceptance and respect for one’s roots is breathtaking.” —Kirkus (starred review)

“A young girl finds beauty in her...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Burnt Sugar

By Avni Doshi
Narrated by: Sneha Mathan
Length: 8 hours 35 minutes

Shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, a searing literary debut novel set in India about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal “I would be lying if I said my mother’s misery has never given me pleasure,” says Antara, Tara’s now-adult daughter. This is a love story and a story about betrayal—not between lovers but between a mother and... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Milo Imagines the World

By Matt de la Peña
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 8 minutes

The team behind the Newbery Medal winner and Caldecott Honor book Last Stop on Market Street and the award-winning New York Times bestseller Carmela Full of Wishes once again delivers a poignant and timely children's book that's sure to become an instant classic.

Milo is on a long subway ride with his older sister. To pass the time, he studies... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

With the Fire on High

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 7 hours 26 minutes

With the Fire on High

“This was a great listen. Emoni, a single teen mom, has so much on her plate and has maturity beyond her years. She’s realistic and responsible and navigates high school, parenting, college decisions and a budding love interest. She’s becoming a talented chef and her feelings are expressed in her food. The author narrates and she had me hooked from the first sentence.”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Libertie

By Kaitlyn Greenidge
Narrated by: Channie Waites
Length: 12 hours 12 minutes

Libertie

Libertie is a beautifully written, immersive historical novel inspired by the story of a Black doctor and her daughter who lived in a free Black community in Brooklyn during the Reconstruction era. It is also a profound meditation on what it means to be truly free — whether born free or formerly enslaved, whether in America, Haiti, or Liberia — while struggling against grief, sexism, racism, colorism, or classism. Libertie’s quest to forge her own path is a much-needed inspiration!”

Copper Dog Books image Alyssa Raymond, Copper Dog Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Llama Llama Misses Mama

Llama Llama

By Anna Dewdney
Narrated by: Anna Dewdney
Length: 4 minutes

Strange new teacher.
Strange new toys.
Lots of kids and lots of noise!

What would Llama like to do?
Llama Llama feels so new . . .

It’s Llama Llama’s first day of preschool! And Llama Llama’s mama makes sure he’s ready. They meet the teachers. See the other children. Look at all the books and games. But then it’s time for Mama to leave. And suddenly... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account