Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Book of the Month Archive

Book of the Month Archive

All of our past Book of the Month picks that are available in audio.

Playlist Tags: Shelf Life Books topic: book club topic: staff recommends topic: bookstores

View all playlists

Disorientation

Being Black in the World

By Ian Williams
Narrated by: Ian Williams
Length: 5 hours 31 minutes

Disorientation

Disorientation is a book to be read slowly and with care. Ian Williams best-selling author of my staff favorite novel Reproduction (remember the amazing cover???). I also really loved his collection of poetry Word Problems from last year. Using his formidably flexible writing chops, Williams invites us to an urgent conversation on race and racism in this collection of essays that draw directly from his experience of life as a Black man. He covers all subjects from the merely annoying to the tragically deadly aspects of racism from a worldwide perspective having lived in Trinidad, Canada, and the U. S. This book is approachable for all readers and is intended to be a civil conversation about the ugliest of subjects. It's illuminating, dizzying, and intensely personal. I can't recommend it highly enough. Also, exceptional in audio: read by the author.”

Fountain Bookstore image Kelly, Fountain Bookstore
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

People Change

By Vivek Shraya
Narrated by: Vivek Shraya
Length: 1 hours 52 minutes

“A deeply generous and honest gift to the world.
Elliot Page
 
The author of I’m Afraid of Men lets readers in on the secrets to a life of reinvention.

Vivek Shraya knows this to be true: people change. We change our haircuts and our outfits and our minds. We change names, titles, labels. We attempt to blend in or to stand out. We outgrow... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Probably Ruby

A Novel

By Lisa Bird-Wilson
Narrated by: Dakota Ray Hebert
Length: 8 hours 1 minutes

For readers of Tommy Orange's There There and Terese Marie Mailhot's Heart Berries, Probably Ruby is an audacious, brave and beautiful book about an adopted woman's search for her Indigenous identity.

Relinquished as an infant, Ruby is placed in a foster home and finally adopted by Alice and Mel, a less-than-desirable couple who can't afford to... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

What Strange Paradise

A Novel

By Omar El Akkad
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 6 hours 37 minutes

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR From the widely acclaimed, bestselling author of American War—a beautifully written, unrelentingly dramatic, and profoundly moving novel that looks at the global refugee crisis through the eyes of a child.

"Told from the point of view of two children, on the ground and at sea, the story so astutely...
Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Care Of

Letters, Connections, and Cures

By Ivan Coyote
Narrated by: Ivan Coyote
Length: 6 hours 15 minutes

Care Of

“What a beauty this book is, and read by Ivan, it's that much better. They are *such* a powerful reader. I had chills from the writing and the reading, over and over again. Whether or not you've read anything by Ivan or know who they are, this is such an excellent introduction to their writing and work. It's maybe 20 exchanges between Ivan and other people who wrote them a letter or an email, usually after seeing them give a reading or a talk, and then Ivan's response. It's full of beautiful, thoughtful, compassionate understanding, and it lays bare the trans and nonbinary experience for people who may not see it at all. I don't know how, after hearing these stories, that you can't understand. This is powerful, beautiful, and unfortunately necessary. Almost every exchange had me in tears and all of them but one required a big pause and deep breaths after. This is so powerful.”

Another Read Through image Elisa, Another Read Through
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Swimming Back to Trout River

A Novel

By Linda Rui Feng
Narrated by: Nancy Wu
Length: 8 hours 15 minutes

A “beautifully written, poignant exploration of family, art, culture, immigration…and love” (Jean Kwok, author of Searching for Sylvie Lee and Girl in Translation) set against the backdrop of China’s Cultural Revolution that follows a father’s quest to reunite his family before his precocious daughter’s momentous birthday, which Garth Greenwell... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Lookout

Love, Solitude, and Searching for Wildfire in the Boreal Forest

By Trina Moyles
Narrated by: Trina Moyles
Length: 10 hours 50 minutes

A page-turning memoir about a young woman's grueling, revelatory summers working alone in a remote lookout tower and her eyewitness account of the increasingly unpredictable nature of wildfire in the Canadian north.

While growing up in Peace River, Alberta, Trina Moyles heard many stories of Lookout Observers--strange, eccentric types who spent... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Satellite Love

A Novel

By Genki Ferguson
Narrated by: Aya Furukawa, Alex Aoki & Hiro Kanagawa
Length: 8 hours 50 minutes

Satellite Love

“Two unreliable narrators, and an incredible exploration of mental illness and the struggles of so many people. Written from multiple points of view, the reader still won't know quite what happened, which is the best way to end this book- left wondering what parts were real.”

Red Hen Bookshop image Laura, Red Hen Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Centaur's Wife

By Amanda Leduc
Narrated by: Victoria Carr
Length: 11 hours 54 minutes

Amanda Leduc's brilliant new novel, woven with fairy tales of her own devising and replete with both catastrophe and magic, is a vision of what happens when we ignore the natural world and the darker parts of our own natures.

Heather is sleeping peacefully after the birth of her twin daughters when the sound of the world ending jolts her awake.... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account