Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
STORIES FOR KIDS (3rd - 5th Grade)

STORIES FOR KIDS (3rd - 5th Grade)

Playlist Tags: New Book Joy genre: Children's

View all playlists

How to Be a Good Creature

A Memoir in Thirteen Animals

By Sy Montgomery
Narrated by: Sy Montgomery
Length: 3 hours 41 minutes

How to Be a Good Creature

“Sy Montgomery (The Soul of an Octopus) has led a rich life, full of good creatures, and she has generously shared her experiences throughout the years. This lovely book describes some of the most beloved and memorable critters she has known and the lessons and knowledge she has gained from them. We’ve all had our lives enriched by animals and for better or worse, we are intricately tied to the nature around us. Montgomery helps us feel what we gain from those connections to animals.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Rachel, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Change Sings

A Children's Anthem

By Amanda Gorman
Narrated by: Amanda Gorman
Length: 3 minutes

A lyrical audiobook from presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long
 
"I can hear change humming
In its loudest, proudest song.
I don't fear change coming,
And so I sing along."
 
In this stirring, much-anticipated audiobook by presidential inaugural poet and activist Amanda Gorman,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Wishtree

By Katherine Applegate
Narrated by: Nancy Linari
Length: 2 hours 33 minutes

Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Wild Robot

The Wild Robot: Book #1

By Peter Brown
Narrated by: Kate Atwater
Length: 4 hours 14 minutes

The Wild Robot

“Super heart warming tale of a robot, named Roz, shipwrecked on an island. She is faced with adapting and learning to survive in her new home. Roz teaches perseverance and how kindness in the face of adversity CAN create meaningful relationships. As the listener we learn that families come in all shapes and sizes, and how it can be hard to be the newcomer in a community. A pleasure to listen to!”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Wild Robot Escapes

The Wild Robot: Book #2

By Peter Brown
Narrated by: Kathleen McInerney
Length: 4 hours 36 minutes

The Wild Robot Escapes

“Roz is back, and better than ever! After being refurbished, our dear robot gets shipped off to work for the Shareef family on their dairy farm. And since she’s no mere automaton, she proves to be an invaluable asset — not only to the cows she has befriended, but also to the Shareef children. Yet despite her newfound friends, she still yearns to be wild and free...and most of all, she wants to be reunited with her goose son, Brightbill. And so The Wild Robot Escapes! Peter Brown has once again crafted an effortlessly charming tale, with the narrator adding an extra dose of saccharine goodness. She reads with the soothing cadence of a mother reading a bedtime story, and the added ambiance/sound effects really draw you into the world.”

Mysterious Galaxy Books image Darcy, Mysterious Galaxy Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Secret Shared

By Patricia MacLachlan
Narrated by: Caitlin Kelly
Length: 1 hours 35 minutes

Newbery Medal–winning author Patricia MacLachlan paints a moving portrait of what it means to be a family, the power of love, and the importance of bringing the truth out into the light, in this beautiful and profound story about adoption.

Nora and Ben’s younger sister Birdy loves to keep secrets. She surprises her family more than once: She...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures

By Kate DiCamillo
Narrated by: Tara Sands
Length: 4 hours 29 minutes

Soon to be an original movie on Disney+. The beloved 2014 Newbery Medal winner by former National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Kate DiCamillo.
 
Holy unanticipated occurrences!
 
It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Peacemaker

By Joseph Bruchac
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 3 hours 33 minutes

A twelve-year-old Iroquois boy rethinks his calling after witnessing the arrival of a mystical figure with a message of peace in this historical novel based on the creation of the Iroquois Confederacy.

Twelve-year-old Okwaho’s life has suddenly changed. While out hunting with his best friend, his friend is kidnapped by marauders from a...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

When Stars Are Scattered

By Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed
Narrated by: Faysal Ahmed, Barkhad Abdi, Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Robin Miles, Ifrah Mansour, Bahni Turpin, Hakeemshady Mohamed, Sadeeq Ali, Dominic Hoffman, Christine Avila, JD Jackson & Various
Length: 3 hours 42 minutes

An Odyssey Honor audiobook and National Book Award Finalist, this remarkable graphic novel—adapted for audio—is about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a former Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.

Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Swag Is in the Socks

By Kelly J. Baptist
Narrated by: Nile Bullock
Length: 5 hours 40 minutes

Xavier Moon is stepping out of the shadows when his great-uncle gives him some outlandish socks and some even stranger requests. A story about heart, confidence, and standing on your own two feet that is perfect for fans of The Season of Styx Malone and The Parker Inheritance.

"An excellent read-alike to Jacqueline Woodson’s Harbor Me or Janae... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

By Dan Gemeinhart
Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
Length: 9 hours 12 minutes

*Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award*
A 2020 Audie Awards Finalis
t

"Khristine Hvam's narration is as heartfelt as the story of 12-year-old Coyote Sunrise...Both the story and Hvam's distinctive narration will linger in listeners' minds." — AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner

Five years.

That's how long Coyote and her dad, Rodeo, have lived...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Boy at the Back of the Class

By Onjali Q. Raúf
Narrated by: Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 5 hours 37 minutes

Told with humor and heart, The Boy at the Back of the Class offers a child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense.

There used to be an empty chair at the back of Mrs. Khan's classroom, but on the third Tuesday of the school year a new kid fills it:... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Playing at the Border

A Story of Yo-Yo Ma

By Joanna Ho
Narrated by: Kevin Shen
Length: 13 minutes

The New York Times bestselling author of Eyes That Kiss in the Corners, Joanna Ho, delivers a poignant biography about the musician Yo-Yo Ma, immigration, and using music to build bridges.

“Everyone can benefit from Ho’s message of music bringing calm and peace to the world.” —Booklist 

Joanna Ho’s lyrical writing tells an inspiring story of Yo-Yo...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Nowhere Boy

By Katherine Marsh
Narrated by: Jeremy Arthur
Length: 8 hours 4 minutes

*Winner of a Parents' Choice Silver Award*

An "important and riveting story, masterfully told" of family, sacrifice and the friendship between a young Syrian refugee and an American boy living in Brussels.
The Center for Children's Books calls Nowhere Boy a "perilous journey, tempered by the striking realism of obstacles refugees face...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Counting by 7s

By Holly Goldberg Sloan
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 7 hours 14 minutes

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Amina's Voice

By Hena Khan
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 4 hours 19 minutes

"Amina's anxieties are entirely relatable, but it's her sweet-hearted nature that makes her such a winning protagonist." -Entertainment Weekly A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her family's vibrant culture while simultaneously blending in at school after tragedy strikes her community in this sweet and moving middle grade... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

By Kelly J. Baptist
Narrated by: Adam Lazarre-White
Length: 4 hours 58 minutes

A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father's journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson.

Isaiah is now the big man of the house. But it's a lot harder than his dad made it look. His... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Loretta Little Looks Back

Three Voices Go Tell It

By Andrea Davis Pinkney
Narrated by: Dashawn Barnes, Deborah Wilson & Ralph Harris
Length: 4 hours 51 minutes

From a bestselling and award-winning husband and wife team comes an innovative, beautifully illustrated novel that delivers a front-row seat to the groundbreaking moments in history that led to African Americans earning the right to vote.

"Right here, I'm sharing the honest-to-goodness." -- Loretta

"I'm gon' reach back, and tell how it all went.... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Flying Lessons & Other Stories

By Ellen Oh
Narrated by: Ellen Oh, Kwame Alexander, Meg Medina, Dion Graham, Samantha Quan, Julia Whelan, Adam Lazarre-White, Tim Tingle, Abigail Revasch, Sunil Malhotra & Dominic Hoffman
Length: 4 hours 34 minutes

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology—written by the best children’s authors—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us.
 
In a partnership with We Need Diverse Books, industry giants Kwame Alexander, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Water Bears

By Kim Baker
Narrated by: Ozzie Rodriguez
Length: 6 hours 14 minutes

"With warmth and humor, Kim Baker conjures a magical tale of finding the most elusive creature of all: one's true self." --Kirby Larson, author of the New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor winner Hattie Big Sky and the Audacity Jones series

A quirky, empowering story about a boy recovering from a bear attack with the help of his friends and...
Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
  • 1