Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Books You Don't Want to Read in the Dark

Books You Don't Want to Read in the Dark

A collection of horror and thriller novels, sorted from adult to YA, that we can't recommend you listen to at night... but who are we to stop you?!

Playlist Tags: Bards Alley genre: Horror audience: horror fans season: summer season: fall audience: young adult season: halloween topic: thrillers topic: horror audience: adult mood: scary mood: spooky mood: mysterious

View all playlists

I'm Thinking of Ending Things

By Iain Reid
Narrated by: Candace Thaxton
Length: 5 hours 22 minutes

I'm Thinking of Ending Things

“With his debut novel, Reid sets an extremely high bar for all future psychological thrillers. The entire story takes place in little over 24 hours as Jake and his girlfriend travel to meet and have dinner with his parents. Narrated by the unnamed girlfriend, something unsettling surfaces early and builds with the passage of every page. Readers will become riveted, reading faster and faster as the 'unsettling' becomes frightening, and then terrifying. Recommended for all who enjoy a good mind-twisting scare!”

Nancy Simpson-Brice image Nancy Simpson-Brice, The Book Vault
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

All the White Spaces

A Novel

By Ally Wilkes
Narrated by: Scott Turner Schofield
Length: 14 hours 13 minutes

“Some of the best survival horror we’ve read in years, with a uniquely menacing adversary at its heart.” —Vulture

Something deadly and mysterious stalks the members of an isolated polar expedition in this haunting and spellbinding historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Dan Simmons’s The Terror and Alma Katsu’s The Hunger.

In the wake of the... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Monk

By Matthew Lewis
Narrated by: Nicholas Boulton
Length: 14 hours 58 minutes

A masterpiece of gothic fiction, The Monk is a cautionary tale of madness, horror, lust and despair. Father Ambrosio, the most pious and venerated monk in all of Madrid, is held as a paragon of virtue. But after thirty years of study and prayer, evil thoughts begin to permeate his mind. As two plots cleverly converge, torture, murder, incest,...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Hunger

By Alma Katsu
Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
Length: 10 hours 33 minutes

The Hunger

“As a child I was obsessed with the Donner Party. I went to the museum and read all about them, but never imagined something as twisted as THE HUNGER. Katsu's reinvention of the history is complex, meticulous, and a perfect metaphor for the white man's obsession with manifest destiny and the terrorism that was inflicted on Native Americans. I don't think I'll ever be able to forget the ear eating scene!”

Avid Bookshop image Christy, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

My Best Friend’s Exorcism

A Novel

By Grady Hendrix
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 10 hours 11 minutes

If you enjoyed Meddling Kids, then you’ll love My Best Friend’s Exorcism.

“Hey you got your horror tribute to the 80's in my Meddling Kids! Well you got your horror tribute to Scooby Doo in my Best Friend's Exorcism! Two great books that go better together! My Best Friend's Exorcism is one of my new favorites. It's got 80's pop songs, it has a demonic tapeworm, it's got scares, it's got heart; everything you could ever want! Meddling Kids is a great follow up as it's also a love-letter to a bygone era, that being the 70's and Scooby Doo. It's just Scooby meets Cthulhu and it's honestly one of the most fun things I've read in a while.”

Country Bookshelf image Harry, Country Bookshelf
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Only Good Indians

By Stephen Graham Jones
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 9 hours 2 minutes

The Only Good Indians

“I am a person who doesn’t like to be scared. This book left me a little spooked, but in a way that made me smile because it’s so powerful and because the book’s so-called monster has good reason to be so. Stephen Graham Jones’ writing is rhythmic and cool, funny and tender, sometimes ruthless. This work of literary horror is about Blackfeet and basketball, friendship, love, and the torturous knife-twist of regret. Shaun Taylor-Corbett’s narration is perfect—laid back but intense, in the pocket. I enjoyed the hell out of this book.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Nettle & Bone

By T. Kingfisher
Narrated by: Amara Jasper
Length: 9 hours 3 minutes

From Hugo, Nebula, and Locus award-winning author T. Kingfisher comes an original and subversive fantasy adventure.

This isn't the kind of fairytale where the princess marries a prince.
It's the one where she kills him.


Marra never wanted to be a hero.

As the shy, convent-raised, third-born daughter, she escaped the traditional fate of princesses,...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Turn of the Key

By Ruth Ware
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Length: 12 hours 13 minutes

The Turn of the Key

“Ruth Ware is back and at her dazzling best with The Turn of the Key. This arresting tribute to Henry James set in modern-day remote Scotland posts a nanny in a ‘smart house’ with several recalcitrant children and a garden full of poisonous plants. Who do you trust when everyone seems to be hiding something? Readers will be reading with all the lights on as they race to the climactic ending to see just who is minding who in this engaging summer thriller.”

Excelsior Bay Books image Pamela Klinger-Horn, Excelsior Bay Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Ghost Wood Song

By Erica Waters
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 12 hours 25 minutes

Sawkill Girls meets The Hazel Wood in this lush and eerie debut, where the boundary between reality and nightmares is as thin as the veil between the living and the dead. 

If I could have a fiddle made of Daddy’s bones, I’d play it. I’d learn all the secrets he kept.

Shady Grove inherited her father’s ability to call ghosts from the grave with...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Wake the Bones

A Novel

By Elizabeth Kilcoyne
Narrated by: Bailey Carr
Length: 9 hours 15 minutes

"YA horror has found a new standard-bearer." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Dark, gripping, and gorgeous, Wake the Bones will lead you into the woods and keep you up late. As lush and sweltering as a Kentucky summer... Elizabeth Kilcoyne is a force.” - Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author


The sleepy little farm that Laurel Early grew...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The 5th Wave

The 5th Wave: Book #1

By Rick Yancey
Narrated by: Brandon Espinoza & Phoebe Strole
Length: 12 hours 40 minutes

"Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances."—Entertainment Weekly (Grade A)

The Passage meets Ender's Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies:... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Monster of Elendhaven

By Jennifer Giesbrecht
Narrated by: Daniel Henning
Length: 3 hours 52 minutes

"[Narrator Daniel Henning] fully commits to this tale, providing a nearly breathless and deliciously evil-sounding narration while also developing unique voices and presenting surprisingly layered characters." — AudioFile Magazine

“A black tide of perversity, violence, and lush writing. I loved it.” —Joe Hill

Debut author Jennifer Giesbrecht...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account