Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
September Community Curation - Utah FAM

September Community Curation - Utah FAM

September book picks are curated by Utah Friends, Allies, and Mentors (FAM), a non-profit that empowers Utah educators to foster LGBTQ+ inclusive environments where all students thrive. Each month a different local organization or small business curates a shelf at Under the Umbrella bookstore with 5% of the proceeds going directly to them or an organization of their choosing. This includes in-person, online and audiobooks versions of each if available!

Playlist Tags: Under the Umbrella genre: LGBTQIA+ Fiction queer ya middle grade fiction topic: queer

View all playlists

This Is Our Rainbow

16 Stories of Her, Him, Them, and Us

By Katherine Locke & Nicole Melleby
Narrated by: Socks Whitmore, Jeremy Carlisle Parker, Imani Russell, Em Grosland, Meli Grant, Angel Pean, Michael Crouch & Elsa Lepecki Bean
Length: 7 hours 28 minutes

The first LGBTQA+ anthology for middle-graders featuring stories for every letter of the acronym, including realistic, fantasy, and sci-fi stories by authors like Justina Ireland, Marieke Nijkamp, Alex Gino, and more!

A boyband fandom becomes a conduit to coming out. A former bully becomes a first-kiss prospect. One nonbinary kid searches for an... Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

These Witches Don't Burn

These Witches Don't Burn: Book #1

By Isabel Sterling
Narrated by: Kristen DiMercurio
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

"Infused with page-turning suspense, bittersweet romance, shocking twists, and tragic turns, Sterling has written a standout debut." --Dana Mele, author of People Like Us

Hannah's a witch, but not the kind you're thinking of. She's the real deal, an Elemental with the power to control fire, earth, water, and air. But even though she lives in... Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Redwood and Ponytail

By K.A. Holt
Narrated by: Tessa Netting & Cassandra Morris
Length: 4 hours 52 minutes

A universal story of finding a way to be comfortable in your own skin: Kate and Tam meet, and both of their worlds tip sideways. At first, Tam figures Kate is your stereotypical cheerleader; Kate sees Tam as another tall jock. And the more they keep running into each other, the more they surprise each other. Beneath Kate's sleek ponytail and... Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Stars and the Blackness Between Them

By Junauda Petrus
Narrated by: Junauda Petrus, Bahni Turpin & JD Jackson
Length: 9 hours 20 minutes

A Coretta Scott King Honor Book

Told in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus's bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both.


Port of Spain, Trinidad. Sixteen-year-old Audre is despondent, having just found out... Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Felix Ever After

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Logan Rozos
Length: 8 hours 23 minutes

A Stonewall Honor Book * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All Time

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.

Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He...

Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Pants Project

By Cat Clarke
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 4 hours 10 minutes

A Transformer is a robot in disguise. Liv is a boy in disguise. It’s that simple. Liv knows he was always meant to

be a boy, but with his new school’s terrible dress code, he can’t even wear pants. Only Skirts. Operation: Pants

Project begins! The only way for Liv to get what he wants is to go after it himself. But to Liv, this isn’t just a

mission...

Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Rick

By Alex Gino
Length: 3 hours 27 minutes

From the award-winning author of GEORGE, the story of a boy named Rick who needs to explore his own identity apart from his jerk of a best friend.

Rick's never questioned much. He's gone along with his best friend Jeff even when Jeff's acted like a bully and a jerk. He's let his father joke with him about which hot girls he might want to... Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Best at It

By Maulik Pancholy
Narrated by: Maulik Pancholy
Length: 6 hours 22 minutes

Stonewall Honor Book!

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month”, this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.

Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small...

Read more »

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Insiders

By Mark Oshiro
Narrated by: Avi Roque
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

The Insiders

“Middle school can be hard, especially for marginalized kids - kids of color, queer and trans kids, kids for whom being themselves means standing out in a way that's not always safe. Mark Oshiro's middle grade debut gives these kids the chance to fight back with the help of a magical room (think Room of Requirement) that brings them exactly what they need - each other.”

Phoenix Books image Miriasha, Phoenix Books
Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account