Skip navigation
Skip content
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more
Bookseller Created
AntiRacist Playlist for Middle Grade Listeners

AntiRacist Playlist for Middle Grade Listeners

Middle Grade Books about Race, Racism, and Justice

Playlist Tags: Wild Rumpus Books topic: antiracism topic: social justice topic: race topic: racism

View all playlists

Black Brother, Black Brother

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by: Barrie Buckner
Length: 4 hours 36 minutes

From award-winning and bestselling author, Jewell Parker Rhodes comes a powerful coming-of-age story about two brothers, one who presents as white, the other as black, and the complex ways in which they are forced to navigate the world, all while training for a fencing competition.
Framed. Bullied. Disliked. But I know I can still be the best.

... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ghost Boys

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by: Miles Harvey
Length: 2 hours 51 minutes

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.

Only the living can make the world better. Live and make it better.

Twelve-year-old Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat. As a ghost, he... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Only Black Girls in Town

By Brandy Colbert
Narrated by: Jeanette Illidge
Length: 7 hours 28 minutes

From award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert comes a debut middle-grade novel about the only two Black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.

Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only Black girl in town for years. Alberta's best friend, Laramie, is the closest thing she has to a... Read more »

Audiobook details
Collage of covers
Thanks for giving with Libro.fm Thanks for giving with Libro.fm

When you spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore from November 24th through November 30th, you can get one of these bestselling audiobooks for free from Libro.fm.

Learn more

We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices

By author
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin, Guy Lockard, Various, January LaVoy, Dominic Hoffman, Adenrele Ojo, Kyla Garcia, N'Jameh Camara, Soneela Nankani, Darrell Dennis, Jennifer Lim, Sullivan Jones & Paul Robeson
Length: 1 hours 41 minutes

The foremost diverse children's authors--including Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, and Kwame Alexander--share answers to the question, "In this divisive world, what shall we tell our children?" in this powerful collection, published in partnership with Just Us Books.

Featuring poems, letters, personal essays, songs, and other works from such... Read more »

Audiobook details

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

By Janae Marks
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 6 hours 9 minutes

If you enjoyed Just Mercy (Movie Tie-In Edition), then you’ll love From the Desk of Zoe Washington.

“An absolutely charming and inspirational read or listen about family, growing up and second chances. Social justice issues and experiences of racism are appropriately handled with grace and realism for this age. I enjoyed spending a bit of my summer experiencing her summer adventures and mishaps. Zoe is portrayed as a bright, ambitious 12 year-old, but she makes plenty of mistakes along the way. It balanced lighter moments of Zoe’s internship at a local bakery and re-building her friendship with her next-door neighbor alongside the tougher reality of deciding what to do when she receives a letter from her incarcerated biological father that she has never met. I loved that the author thoughtfully weaves in teachable moments around the Innocence Project and the effects that incarceration has on the entire family. Would partner great with "Just Mercy" by Bryan Stephenson. ”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 6 hours 45 minutes

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules....

Read more »

Audiobook details

Harbor Me

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: N'Jameh Camara, Jacqueline Woodson, Toshi Widoff-Woodson, Jose Carrera, Dean Flanagan, Angel Romero & Mikelle Wright-Matos
Length: 3 hours 49 minutes

Harbor Me

“In Harbor Me, six kids find common ground and build strong friendships through the simple act of talking to each other. The book addresses important contemporary issues of bullying, racial injustice, and immigration in a way that children from a wide range of backgrounds can relate. Jacqueline Woodson's latest is a beautifully written book that celebrates the power of communication and empathy to make our communities stronger. The kids in our store's book club picked this book and universally raved about it.”

Hicklebee's image Suzi Hough, Hicklebee's
Audiobook details

The Parker Inheritance

By Varian Johnson
Narrated by: Cherise Boothe
Length: 10 hours

The Parker Inheritance

“Really, really enjoyed this book! I always love a good puzzle mystery and my heart melts for book-loving preteens. This book was great in that it not only had a fun buried treasure mystery but also friendship evolution between Candice and Brandon, Candice's reckoning with her parent's relationship, and racial tensions in the history as well as current day. Johnson weaves the main mystery with plot-filling flashbacks of the key players in the mystery that give a good historical fiction vibe too. Overall, very much enjoyed (Cherise Boothe had awesome narration as well, the perfect voicing of young character without infantilizing her).”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

One Crazy Summer

By Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by: Sisi Aisha Johnson
Length: 5 hours 9 minutes

Eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sisters Vonetta and Fern travel to Oakland to meet their mother, Cecile, who abandoned their family years earlier. But even when Cecile gets them to her house, she shows no interest and seems to view them as nothing but a nuisance. Cecile's cold, unloving attitude leaves the girls wishing for the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 3 hours 56 minutes

Clean Getaway

“William "Scoob" Lamar's white G'ma fell in love with his black G'pa at a time when a mixed-race relationship between adult Americans was illegal in many parts of the country. It was especially difficult for them in the conservative south where they lived. Now G'ma is on a mission to revisit places she and G'pa traveled and to take Scoob along with her. She wants to show him many of the historic sights that were a part of the early civil rights movement and part of Scoob's heritage. But G'ma also seems to have some secrets and Scoob isn't sure where this journey is really taking them. Nic Stone, famous for her best-selling YA novels, has written a terrific middle-grade story, with historic significance, that would be perfect for reading circles or middle-grade book clubs. Dion Graham's voice enriches the story for those who enjoy a "read-along" experience.”

Rediscovered Books image Becky, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

King and the Dragonflies

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Ron Butler
Length: 5 hours 3 minutes

King and the Dragonflies

“Kingston (King) James and his parents are grieving the loss of Khalid-- King's older brother. When Khalid was alive and the two shared a bedroom, he would talk in his sleep, telling his younger brother stories about the universe and its magic. King continues to see Khalid in his dreams, and is convinced Khalid has transformed into a dragonfly. The Louisiana bayou provides the backdrop for both a colorful landscape and a tense, fearful place where racism festers. When King's former friend, Sandy, who is white, and the son of the racist police chief, goes missing, King ends up helping hide Sandy from his abusive father. Woven seamlessly into this wise story is King's slow awakening of his sexuality, brought to the fore by his renewed friendship with Sandy, who is known to be gay. Callender's writing is so authentic and their characters are so tenderly portrayed by Ron Butler's superb narration I mourned its conclusion. The whole package is a crowning achievement.”

Bear Pond Books image Jane, Bear Pond Books
Audiobook details

Blended

By Sharon M. Draper
Narrated by: Sharon M. Draper
Length: 5 hours 41 minutes

Blended

“Not only is the book itself amazing, but the narration by the author Sharon M. Draper is beyond stellar. The story deals with tough issues surrounding both family and social strife. The author superbly writes about these issues with wit and wisdom, and with candor and honesty. Aside from the "written" brilliance of Blended, the author delivers this story with so much energy that captures the humor and tenderness of this story. We cannot say enough about this wonderful audiobook and wholeheartedly recommend Blended.”

Owl Books image Triera, Owl Books
Audiobook details

What Lane?

By Torrey Maldonado
Narrated by: Torrey Maldonado
Length: 2 hours 35 minutes

"If you are wondering how to begin confronting Anti-Black racism in your classroom, start with What Lane?"--School Library Journal: The Classroom Bookshelf

"STAY IN YOUR LANE." Stephen doesn't want to hear that--he wants to have no lane.

Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak... Read more »

Audiobook details
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more