Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Astoria Bookshop - Best of 2017 - Young Readers

Astoria Bookshop - Best of 2017 - Young Readers

Here is a roundup of our favorite young reader audiobooks of 2017.

Playlist Tags: Astoria Bookshop genre: YA Nonfiction audience: teens bookstore-created

View all playlists

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 50 minutes

The Hate U Give

“This bestselling, powerful young adult novel about social justice and one teen girl's effort to fight for what is right, will leave you breathless. The narration by Bahni Turpin is hands down the best I've ever heard. This is such an important book it should be required reading for life in general. Or listening. Definitely listening.”

Tattered Cover image Kristen, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

York: The Shadow Cipher

York: Book #1

By Laura Ruby
Narrated by: Adam Verner
Length: 10 hours 14 minutes

York: The Shadow Cipher

“Partake on a positively puzzling adventure with twins Tess and Theo and friend Jaime as they try to solve the Old York Cipher, hoping to save their home, the mysterious Morningstarr apartment house along the way. Set in Manhattan, York by Laura Ruby is an alternate history epic sure to please curious middle readers with its quizzical cast of characters. Can this clever trio traverse the thrilling twists and turns thrown at them thereby solving the cipher or is this centuries-old quest a wild goose chase for all participants?”

McLean & Eakin Booksellers image Kristin, McLean & Eakin Booksellers
Audiobook details

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

Montague Siblings: Book #1

By Mackenzi Lee
Narrated by: Christian Coulson
Length: 10 hours 47 minutes

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

“The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is told by Henry “Monty” Montague, a young lord from Britain who has more than a secret or two. Henry has been struggling with the fact that he is in love with his best friend, Percy, who has secrets of his own to hide. Together, along with Henry’s sister, Felicity, they start their grand tour of Europe and Monty knows that this might be his last chance at having fun before he takes over his father’s estate and Percy goes away to study law. Mackenzi Lee wrote a beautiful story about a young man coming to terms with the fact that he is attracted to boys more than girls, and that he needs to start being true to himself to be happy. All three of them grew up as the story progressed and learned things not only about themselves, but also about each other. Gentleman’s Guide takes you on more than a tour through the continent, it takes you on a journey of discovering who you are and being okay with who that is.”

Mysterious Galaxy Books image Victoria, Mysterious Galaxy Books
Audiobook details

A Short History of the Girl Next Door

By Jared Reck
Narrated by: Mike Chamberlain
Length: 7 hours 20 minutes

Get your tissues ready for this unrequited love story that’s equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking and will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.
 
Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that goofy grin a... Read more »

Audiobook details

13 Minutes

A Novel

By Sarah Pinborough
Narrated by: Rosie Jones
Length: 9 hours 11 minutes

13 Minutes is a psychological thriller audiobook with a killer twist. From the #1 internationally bestselling author Sarah Pinborough. “Mean Girls for the Instagram age.” —The Times (London)

The New York Times bestselling author known for her thrilling twists is back.

They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Traitor to the Throne

Rebel of the Sands: Book #2

By Alwyn Hamilton
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 15 hours 22 minutes

A sizzling, unputdownable sequel to Rebel of the Sands that will make you question everything you thought you knew about the land of Miraji! The gunslinger Amani al'Hiza never wanted to be a hero or a revolutionary, but now she's become a key member of the rapidly growing rebellion against the Sultan of Miraji. After Amani is captured by the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Moxie

By Jennifer Mathieu
Narrated by: Suzy Jackson
Length: 8 hours 54 minutes

Moxie girls fight back! Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her small-town Texas high school where the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes and hallway harassment. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules. Viv's mom was a punk rock Riot Grrrl in the ’90s, so now Viv takes a page from her... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Metropolitans

By Carol Goodman
Narrated by: Kathleen McInerney
Length: 9 hours

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets The Apothecary in this time-bending mystery from bestselling author Carol Goodman!

The day Japan bombs Pearl Harbor, four thirteen-year-olds converge at the Metropolitan Museum of Art where an eccentric curator is seeking four uncommonly brave souls to track down the hidden pages of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Dear Martin

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 4 hours 32 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • WILLIAM C. MORRIS AWARD FINALIST • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME
 
After a traffic stop turns violent at the hands of the police, a young Black teen grapples with racism—and what it means for his future. Critically acclaimed author Nic Stone boldly tackles America’s troubled history with race... Read more »

Audiobook details