Skip navigation
Skip content
Big Indie Books of Fall 2021

Big Indie Books of Fall 2021

Take a peek at upcoming releases from small and university presses. This list was compiled by Publisher's Weekly.

Playlist Tags: university press small press indie

View all playlists

Until I Am Free

Fannie Lou Hamer's Enduring Message to America

By Keisha N. Blain
Narrated by: Tyra Kennedy
Length: 7 hours 1 minutes

Explores the Black activist’s ideas and political strategies, highlighting their relevance for tackling modern social issues including voter suppression, police violence, and economic inequality.

“We have a long fight and this fight is not mine alone, but you are not free whether you are white or black, until I am free.”—Fannie Lou Hamer

A... Read more »

Audiobook details

Between Tides

By Angel Khoury
Narrated by: Hillary Huber
Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

A captivating historical novel set on Cape Cod and North Carolina's Outer Banks, perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping

1890s, Cape Cod: Between tides, a man deserts his wife and his post as keeper of the Chatham Beach Lifesaving Station to start a new family far to the south, at Cape Hatteras.

1940s:... Read more »

Audiobook details

On Freedom

Four Songs of Care and Constraint

By Maggie Nelson
Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
Length: 10 hours 5 minutes

An expansive, exhilarating work of criticism by one of the most significant writers of our day.

So often deployed as a jingoistic, even menacing rallying cry, or limited by a focus on passing moments of liberation, the rhetoric of freedom both rouses and repels. Does it remain key to our autonomy, justice, and well-being, or is freedom's long... Read more »

Audiobook details

Moon and the Mars

By Kia Corthron
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 22 hours 47 minutes

The highly anticipated new novel from the winner of the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize examines NYC and America in the burgeoning moments before the start of the Civil War through the eyes of a young biracial girl. In Moon and the Mars, set in the impoverished Five Points district of New York City in the years 1857–1863, we experience... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Authority of the Court and the Peril of Politics

By Stephen Breyer
Narrated by: Jim Seybert
Length: 1 hours 52 minutes

A sitting justice reflects upon the authority of the Supreme Court?and how measures to restructure it could undermine the constitutional system of checks and balances. Read more »

Audiobook details

Toufah

The Woman Who Inspired an African #MeToo Movement
Eyewitness Memoirs

By Toufah Jallow & Kim Pittaway
Narrated by: Toufah Jallow
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

"Riveting . . .  harrowing and propulsive." The New York Times Book Review

*One of The Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2021 (Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly)*
 
"This powerful story shouldn’t be missed." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
An incandescent and inspiring memoir of resilience from a courageous young woman whose powerful advocacy...
Read more »

Audiobook details

A Snake Falls to Earth

By Darcie Little Badger
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett & Kinsale Hueston
Length: 10 hours 35 minutes

Nina is a Lipan girl in our world. She’s always felt there was something more out there. She still believes in the old stories. Oli is a cottonmouth kid, from the land of spirits and monsters. Like all cottonmouths, he’s been cast from home. He’s found a new one on the banks of the bottomless lake. Nina and Oli have no idea the other exists.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sankofa

A Novel

By Chibundu Onuzo
Narrated by: Sara Powell
Length: 9 hours 2 minutes

If you enjoyed Girl, Woman, Other, then you’ll love Sankofa.

“Chibundu Onuzo's Sankofa is the story of Anna, an African British woman who never knew her father. Anna discovers clues to her African father's identity only after her mother dies. This is fortuitous. What follows as Anna acknowledges and accepts her father, a man with a vast reputation and many secrets, is the healing and melding of Anna's two identities and a new beginning. A master storyteller, Onuzo's third novel is an epic story of belonging and identity.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

When We Cease to Understand the World

By Benjamin Labatut
Narrated by: Adam Barr
Length: 5 hours 40 minutes

This fictional examination of the lives of real-life scientists and thinkers whose discoveries resulted in moral consequences beyond their imagining will captivate listeners. Read more »

Audiobook details

Blue-Skinned Gods

By SJ Sindu
Narrated by: Varun Sathi
Length: 11 hours 13 minutes

From the award-winning author of Marriage of a Thousand Lies comes a brilliantly written, globe-spanning novel about identity, faith, family, and sexuality. In Tamil Nadu, India, a boy is born with blue skin. His father sets up an ashram, and the family makes a living off of the pilgrims who seek the child’s blessings and miracles, believing... Read more »

Audiobook details