Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Big Indie Books of Fall 2021

Take a peek at upcoming releases from small and university presses. This list was compiled by Publisher's Weekly.

Playlist Tags: indie small press university press

View all playlists

Until I Am Free

Fannie Lou Hamer's Enduring Message to America

By Keisha N. Blain
Narrated by: Tyra Kennedy
Length: 7 hours 1 minutes

Explores the Black activist’s ideas and political strategies, highlighting their relevance for tackling modern social issues including voter suppression, police violence, and economic inequality.

“We have a long fight and this fight is not mine alone, but you are not free whether you are white or black, until I am free.”—Fannie Lou Hamer

A... Read more »

Audiobook details

Between Tides

By Angel Khoury
Narrated by: Hillary Huber
Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

A captivating historical novel set on Cape Cod and North Carolina's Outer Banks, perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping

1890s, Cape Cod: Between tides, a man deserts his wife and his post as keeper of the Chatham Beach Lifesaving Station to start a new family far to the south, at Cape Hatteras.

1940s:... Read more »

Audiobook details

On Freedom

Four Songs of Care and Constraint

By Maggie Nelson
Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
Length: 10 hours 5 minutes

An expansive, exhilarating work of criticism by one of the most significant writers of our day.

So often deployed as a jingoistic, even menacing rallying cry, or limited by a focus on passing moments of liberation, the rhetoric of freedom both rouses and repels. Does it remain key to our autonomy, justice, and well-being, or is freedom's long... Read more »

Audiobook details

Moon and the Mars

By Kia Corthron
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 22 hours 47 minutes

The highly anticipated new novel from the winner of the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize examines NYC and America in the burgeoning moments before the start of the Civil War through the eyes of a young biracial girl. In Moon and the Mars, set in the impoverished Five Points district of New York City in the years 1857–1863, we experience... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Authority of the Court and the Peril of Politics

By Stephen Breyer
Narrated by: Jim Seybert
Length: 1 hours 52 minutes

A sitting justice reflects upon the authority of the Supreme Court?and how measures to restructure it could undermine the constitutional system of checks and balances. Read more »

Audiobook details

Toufah

The Woman Who Inspired an African #MeToo Movement
Eyewitness Memoirs

By Toufah Jallow & Kim Pittaway
Narrated by: Toufah Jallow
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

*One of The Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2021 (Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly)*

An incandescent and inspiring memoir of resilience from a courageous young woman whose powerful advocacy brings to mind the presence, resolve, and moral authority of Amanda Gorman and Greta Thunberg


Before launching an unprecedented protest movement, Toufah Jallow... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Snake Falls to Earth

By Darcie Little Badger
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett & Kinsale Hueston
Length: 10 hours 35 minutes

Nina is a Lipan girl in our world. She's always felt there was something more out there. She still believes in the old stories. Oli is a cottonmouth kid, from the land of spirits and monsters. Like all cottonmouths, he's been cast from home. He's found a new one on the banks of the bottomless lake. Nina and Oli have no idea the other exists.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sankofa

A Novel

By Chibundu Onuzo
Narrated by: Sara Powell
Length: TBA

The exhilarating story of a mixed-race woman who goes in search of the African father she never knew.

After years of being a daughter, a wife, and a mother, Anna finally has the time to wonder who she really is. But the only person who can tell her—her mother, the only parent who raised her—is dead.

Searching through her mother's belongings... Read more »

Audiobook details

When We Cease to Understand the World

By Benjamin Labatut
Narrated by: Adam Barr
Length: 5 hours 40 minutes

This fictional examination of the lives of real-life scientists and thinkers whose discoveries resulted in moral consequences beyond their imagining will captivate listeners. Read more »

Audiobook details

Blue-Skinned Gods

By S.J. Sindu
Narrated by: Varun Sathiyaseelan
Length: TBA

Blue-Skinned Gods, is about a boy born with blue skin who believes he's the Hindu god Vishnu and can perform miracles - until he learns that the truth is something far darker. Read more »

Audiobook details