Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

2021 BIPOC Audiobooks

Listen to audiobooks by authors who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.

View all playlists

Remembering Shanghai: A Memoir of Socialites, Scholars and Scoundrels

By Isabel Sun Chao & Claire Chao
Narrated by: Rachel Yong, Claire Chao & Isabel Sun Chao
Length: 7 hours 58 minutes

Winner of 26 book awards including the 2019 Rubery Award BOOK OF THE YEAR

True stories of glamour, drama and tragedy told through five generations of a Shanghai family, from the last days of imperial rule to the Cultural Revolution

Audiobook narrated by two-time Asian American Film Lab Best Actress Rachel Yong and authors Isabel Sun Chao and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Conductors

By Nicole Glover
Length:

A compelling debut by a new voice in fantasy fiction, The Conductors features the magic and mystery of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series written with the sensibility and historical setting of Octavia Butler’s Kindred. Meet Hetty Rhodes, a magic-user and former conductor on the Underground Railroad who now solves crimes in post–Civil War... Read more »

Audiobook details

Floating in a Most Peculiar Way

A Memoir

By Louis Chude-Sokei
Length: 5 hours 31 minutes

The astonishing journey of a bright, utterly displaced boy, from the short-lived African nation of Biafra, to Jamaica, to the harshest streets of Los Angeles—a searing memoir that adds fascinating depth to the coming-to-America story

The first time Chude-Sokei realizes that he is “first son of the first son” of a renowned leader of the bygon Read more »e...
Audiobook details

White Rose

By Kip Wilson
Narrated by: Nicola Barber
Length: 2 hours 44 minutes

“In a searing indictment of silent complicity, White Rose shines a light on one remarkable young woman’s insistence on the power of truth, no matter the cost. A timely call to resistance.” – Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water PaintWhite Rose is a resonant testament to courage. In a time of horrific brutality, young people found a nonviolent... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Year I Flew Away

By Marie Arnold
Length: 6 hours 36 minutes

In this magical middle-grade novel, ten-year-old Gabrielle finds out that America isn’t the perfect place she imagined when she moves from Haiti to Brooklyn. With the help of a clever witch, Gabrielle becomes the perfect American -- but will she lose herself in the process? Perfect for fans of HURRICANE CHILD and FRONT DESK.It’s 1985 and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Buck

By Mateo Askaripour
Narrated by: Zeno Robinson
Length: 11 hours 12 minutes

Black Buck

“Perhaps I have a different perspective on this book because I have a younger brother who is a Black, 20-something man in sales, but this book presents an evocative, honest, complex portrait of being a BIPOC person in a white-dominant workplace (albeit one that is high-powered, sales-driven, and New York City-based). This is a book that allows a reader to be seen if this is their experience, but also for a reader to learn about a different reality if this is not their own. Black Buck is a tightly woven, contemporary debut from an author to watch.”

River Dog Book Co. image BrocheAroe Fabian, River Dog Book Co.
Audiobook details

Punch Me Up to the Gods

A Memoir

By Brian Broome & Yona Harvey
Length:

A poetic and raw coming-of-age memoir in essays about blackness, masculinity, and addictionPunch Me Up to the Gods introduces a powerful new talent in Brian Broome, whose early years growing up in Ohio as a dark-skinned Black boy harboring crushes on other boys propel forward this gorgeous, aching, and unforgettable debut. Brian’s recounting of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Civil Disobedience

How to Win in Business and In Life

By Karen Civil
Narrated by: Karen Murray
Length:

As Karen Civil narrates her incredible rise to the top, the reader gets inspiration, motivation, and a tantalizing glimpse into her business and her relationships with celebrities. Episodes from Civil’s extraordinary life illuminate lessons that anyone—but especially black women in America—can apply to themselves to transcend and overcome.

The... Read more »

Audiobook details

When you shop at your local bookstore, you are directly supporting and enriching your own community with your purchases—and your tax dollars.

Join the movement and #ShopLocalBookstores.

Learn more

One of the Good Ones

By Maika Moulite & Maritza Moulite
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin, Jordan Cobb & Carolyn Smith
Length: 9 hours 49 minutes

A shockingly powerful exploration of the lasting impact of prejudice and the indomitable spirit of sisterhood that will have readers questioning what it truly means to be an ally, from sister-writer duo Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine.

ISN’T BEING HUMAN ENOUGH?

When teen social activist and history buff Kezi... Read more »

Audiobook details

Our Only Home

A Climate Appeal to the World

By Dalai Lama & Franz Alt
Narrated by: Brian Nishii & Angelo Di Loreto
Length: 3 hours

Saving the climate is our common duty. With each passing day, climate change is causing Pacific islands to disappear into the sea, accelerating the extinction of species at alarming proportions and aggravating a water shortage that has affected the entire world. In short, climate change can no longer be denied—it threatens our existence on... Read more »

Audiobook details

Before the Coffee Gets Cold

A Novel

By Toshikazu Kawaguchi
Narrated by: Arina Ii
Length: 6 hours 52 minutes

Before the Coffee Gets Cold

“This was the most interesting and wholesome take on time travel I have ever read. Everything in the world is totally normal, but if you sit in a specific seat in a specific cafe in Tokyo, you can travel back in time. There are some rules in order to time travel, but my favorite one? You can only stay in the past for as long as your coffee is warm. This charming and emotional story of four different women teaches about the importance of making the most with the time you’re given.”

Schuler Books image Lauren Suidgeest, Schuler Books
Audiobook details

Follow Your Heart

Catalina Cove: Book #4

By Brenda Jackson
Length:

To find the right one, all you have to do is follow your heart…

Victoria Madaris is next on her great-grandmother’s matchmaking list—and it suits her fine. This way, Victoria can concentrate on her career as a talk show host, knowing that Mama Laverne is vetting unsuitable candidates—like rising US senator Roman Malone. Even though their... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Jigsaw Man

A Novel
An Inspector Anjelica Henley Thriller

By Nadine Matheson
Length:

A serial killer and his copycat are locked in a violent game of cat and mouse. Can DI Anjelica Henley stop them before it’s too late?

On the day she returns to active duty with the Serial Crimes Unit, Detective Inspector Anjelica Henley is called to a crime scene. Dismembered body parts from two victims have been found by the river.

The modus... Read more »

Audiobook details

Careless Whispers

Jackson Falls

By Synithia Williams
Length:

Don’t miss Careless Whispers, the next sexy and irresistible book in Synithia Williams’s Jackson Falls series featuring the Robidoux family!

Coming soon from HQN Books!

Praise for Synithia Williams’s Jackson Falls series

“Williams (His Pick for Passion) makes waves with this exceptional tale of forbidden love.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Road to Rose Bend

Rose Bend

By Naima Simone
Narrated by: Mari
Length:

If it was only about her, she might never have come back to Rose Bend.

But it’s not only about her anymore.

Sydney Collins left the small Berkshires town of Rose Bend eight years ago, grieving her sister’s death—and heartbroken over her parents’ rejection. But now the rebel is back—newly divorced and pregnant—ready to face her fears and make a... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Could Be Heroes

By Mike Chen
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 10 hours 53 minutes

An extraordinary and emotional adventure about unlikely friends and the power of choosing who you want to be.

Jamie woke up in an empty apartment with no memory and only a few clues to his identity, but with the ability to read and erase other people’s memories—a power he uses to hold up banks to buy coffee, cat food and books.

Zoe is also... Read more »

Audiobook details

Honey Girl

A Novel

By Morgan Rogers
Narrated by: York Whitaker
Length:

A refreshingly timely and relatable debut novel about a young woman whose life plans fall apart when she meets her wife.

With her newly completed PhD in astronomy in hand, twenty-eight-year-old Grace Porter goes on a girls’ trip to Vegas to celebrate. She’s a straight A, work-through-the-summer certified high achiever. She is not the kind of... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last Exiles

A Novel

By Ann Shin
Narrated by: June Angela
Length:

An unforgettable saga inspired by true events, The Last Exiles is a searing portrait of a young couple in Pyongyang and their fight for love and freedom

Jin and Suja meet and fall in love while studying at university in Pyongyang. She is a young journalist from a prominent family, while he is from a small village of little means. Outside the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Backable

The Surprising Truth Behind What Makes People Take a Chance on You

By Suneel Gupta
Narrated by: Suneel Gupta, Landon Woodson & Natalie Naudus
Length:

A groundbreaking book that boldly claims the key to success in business is not talent, connections, or ideas, but the ability to persuade people to take a chance on potential.
No one ever makes it alone. But how come some people can get investors to believe in their ideas while others—sometimes with even better ideas—fall flat? What is it about... Read more »

Audiobook details

You'll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey

Crazy Stories about Racism

By Amber Ruffin & Lacey Lamar
Narrated by: Amber Ruffin & Lacey Lamar
Length: 5 hours 21 minutes

You'll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey

“I didn’t think it was possible to combine education and humor so effectively in a book about racism, but Ruffin and Lamar proved me wrong. This incredibly well-structured, digestible, challenging, and engaging book opened my eyes to the many ways racism can permeate every interaction in Black people’s lives. The way the sisters play off each other and how Ruffin reflects on Lamar’s experience in contrast to her own make the book especially accessible. A must-read!”

A Seat at the Table Books image Emily Autenrieth, A Seat at the Table Books
Audiobook details