Skip navigation
Skip content
2022 BIPOC Audiobooks

2022 BIPOC Audiobooks

Listen to audiobooks by authors who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.

View all playlists

Violeta [English Edition]

A Novel

By Isabel Allende
Narrated by: Yareli Arizmendi
Length: 11 hours 59 minutes

Violeta [English Edition]

“Violeta was born in 1920 during a pandemic and is dying in 2020 during another. In between is her rich, event-filled life. In her long life in a South American nation, she has witnessed and been affected by political upheavals, wars, social unrest and change, and technological advances. She has suffered excruciating loss, endured hardship and abuse, and experienced great passion and undying love. Through it all, she has been intensely independent and strong, always paving her own way. Allende reveals the details of Violeta’s life and character through her final letter to one she loves dearly. Using this technique and her beautiful prose, Allende grants us an intimate view of this fierce and inspiring woman.”

Raven Book Store image Nancy, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Peace Is a Practice

An Invitation to Breathe Deep and Find a New Rhythm for Life

By Morgan Harper Nichols
Narrated by: Morgan Harper Nichols
Length: TBA

Read by the author.

When you breathe in all the grace available to you and release everything that is outside of your control, you'll discover peace that surpasses your circumstances. All it takes is practice.

If you feel overwhelmed with anxiety about the future, you're far from alone. For many of us, when we're not worrying about what is to...

Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Fight Racism Young Reader's Edition

A Guide to Standing Up for Racial Justice

By Jemar Tisby
Narrated by: Jemar Tisby
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

Racism and social justice are important topics kids are dealing with today. In this adaptation of How to Fight Racism for young readers ages 8-12, Dr. Jemar Tisby helps kids understand how everyday prejudice affects them and what they can do to create social change. In this book, he explains the history of racism in America and why it is so...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Miss Me With That

Hot Takes, Helpful Tidbits, and a Few Hard Truths

By Rachel Lindsay
Narrated by: Rachel Lindsay
Length: 10 hours 1 minutes

A candid, witty, and inspiring collection of essays from The Bachelor’s first Black Bachelorette, exploring everything from relationships and love to politics and race
 
The Bachelor gave me an opportunity, but I created my own happy ending.”

ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—Essence, She Reads

Rachel Lindsay rose to prominence as The... Read more »

Audiobook details

Getting His Game Back

A Novel

By Gia De Cadenet
Narrated by: Jonathan Horvath
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

“A thoroughly satisfying love story with a big, beating heart.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“This book is emotional, steamy and sweet—a triple threat! De Cadenet tackles mental health, gender stereotypes, and interracial romance with care and creativity. I loved it!”—Chantel Guertin, author of Instamom


Khalil Sarda went through a rough... Read more »

Audiobook details

Memphis

A Novel

By Tara M. Stringfellow
Length: TBA

A spellbinding debut novel tracing three generations of a Southern Black family and one daughter’s discovery that she has the power to change her family’s legacy.

ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—Oprah Daily, Essence, Glamour, Business Insider, Marie Claire, The Millions, She Reads, Book Riot

Summer 1995: Ten-year-old Joan, her mother,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Cake

A Novel

By Charmaine Wilkerson
Narrated by: Lynnette R. Freeman & Simone Mcintyre
Length: TBA

In this moving debut novel, two estranged siblings must set aside their differences to deal with their mother’s death and her hidden past—a journey of discovery that takes them from the Caribbean to London to California and ends with her famous black cake.

“At turns delightfully juicy and then stunningly wise, Black Cake is a winner.”—Taylor...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Letters to the Sons of Society

A Father's Invitation to Love, Honesty, and Freedom

By Shaka Senghor
Narrated by: Shaka Senghor
Length: 6 hours 2 minutes

The New York Times bestselling author of Writing My Wrongs invites men everywhere on a journey of honesty and healing through this book of moving letters to his sons—one whom he is raising and the other whose childhood took place during Senghor's nineteen-year incarceration.
 
“A visceral and visual journey for the ages . . . the perfect road... Read more »

Audiobook details

When We Were Birds

A Novel

By Ayanna Lloyd Banwo
Length: TBA

A mythic love story set in Trinidad, Ayanna Lloyd Banwo's radiant debut introduces two unforgettable outsiders brought together by their connection with the dead.
 
"A searing symphony of magic and loss, love and hope, where in the middle of death, love comes shiny, sparkling and alive. This book might just heal you."Marlon James, New York Times...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Violin Conspiracy

By Brendan Slocumb
Narrated by: JD Jackson & Brendan Slocumb
Length: TBA

A riveting page-turner about a Black classical musician’s desperate quest to recover his lost violin on the eve of the most prestigious musical competition in the world

“[A] galvanizing blend of thriller, coming-of-age drama, and probing portrait of racism ... This flawless debut will do for classical music what The Queen's Gambit did for...
Read more »

Audiobook details

People Change

By Vivek Shraya
Narrated by: Vivek Shraya
Length: 1 hours 52 minutes

“A deeply generous and honest gift to the world.
Elliot Page
 
The author of I’m Afraid of Men lets readers in on the secrets to a life of reinvention.


Vivek Shraya knows this to be true: people change. We change our haircuts and our outfits and our minds. We change names, titles, labels. We attempt to blend in or to stand out. We outgrow... Read more »

Audiobook details

How Do You Live?

By Genzaburo Yoshino
Narrated by: Brian Nishii
Length: 6 hours 13 minutes

Anime master Hayao Miyazaki's favorite childhood book and a beloved Japanese classic, this uplifting coming-of-age story brings philosophy, history and wonder together, available in English for the first time.

The streets of Tokyo swarm below fifteen-year-old Copper as he gazes out into the city of his childhood. Struck by the thought of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Hero of Our Time

A Novel

By Naben Ruthnum
Narrated by: Raoul Bhaneja
Length: 9 hours 38 minutes

A wry comic novel with an acerbic wit, A Hero of Our Time is a vicious takedown of superficial diversity initiatives and tech culture, with a beating heart of broken sincerity.

Osman Shah is a pitstop on his white colleague Olivia Robinson’s quest for corporate domination at AAP, an edutech startup determined to automate higher education.
Osman,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Opening My Eyes Underwater

Essays on Hope, Humanity, and Our Hero Michelle Obama

By Ashley Woodfolk
Length: TBA

Inspired by the life and quotations of former first lady Michelle Obama, Opening My Eyes Underwater is a collection of essays penned by bestselling author Ashley Woodfolk.

Essays of bullying, heartbreak, racism, and confidence, Ashley taps into her own past and shares those stories that made her who she is today as she seamlessly weaves in...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Uphill

By Jemele Hill
Length: TBA

Uphill by Jemele Hill is a forthcoming audiobook from Henry Holt and Company. Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

How We Can Win

Race, History and Changing the Money Game That's Rigged

By Kimberly Jones
Narrated by: Kimberly Jones
Length: 6 hours 9 minutes

A breakdown of the economic and social injustices facing Black people and other marginalized citizens inspired by political activist Kimberly Jones' viral video, “How Can We Win.”

“So if I played four hundred rounds of Monopoly with you and I had to play and give you every dime that I made, and then for fifty years, every time that I played, if...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Why?

A Conversation about Race

By Taye Diggs
Narrated by: Taye Diggs
Length: TBA

This program is read by Taye Diggs. It contains sound design.

A conversation about race.

"Daddy?"
"Yes, my sweet boy."

"Why are those people shouting?"

"Our people are shouting because we need to be heard. We need to be heard."


Why? is a question asked by children daily, and in this stirking and timely story, it begins a straightforward and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Never After: The Stolen Slippers

The Chronicles of Never After: Book #2

By Melissa de la Cruz
Narrated by: Imani Jade Powers
Length: 7 hours 30 minutes

Discover a new middle-grade fantasy saga from Melissa de la Cruz, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Descendants series, with Never After: The Stolen Slippers, where real life and fairy tales collide!

Tossed back into the not-so-familiar fairy-tale world of Never After, Filomena Jefferson-Cho and her friends set off on another...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Lost Dreamer

By Lizz Huerta
Narrated by: Elisa Melendez & Inés del Castillo
Length: TBA

A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare...

Read more »

Audiobook details

You Sound Like a White Girl

The Case for Rejecting Assimilation

By Julissa Arce
Narrated by: Julissa Arce
Length: TBA

This program is read by the author.

A love letter to our people—full of fury and passion."
José Olivarez, award-winning poet and author of Citizen Illegal

"If you could take Rodolfo Gonzales epic poem 'I Am Joaquin' and explain it through compelling, personal narrative in twenty-first century America, You Sound Like A White Girl would be it.”
—...

Read more »

Audiobook details