Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

2021 BIPOC Audiobooks

Listen to audiobooks by authors who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.

View all playlists

Own the Arena

Getting Ahead, Making a Difference, and Succeeding as the Only One

By Katrina M. Adams
Narrated by: Carolyn Smith
Length: 8 hours 52 minutes

From the former President and CEO of the United States Tennis Association—the first black woman and youngest person ever to hold the position—comes a behind-the-scenes look at the leadership skills involved in hosting the U.S. Open, the largest and most lucrative sports event in the world—lessons that can be applied across business and to any... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Kindest Lie

A Novel

By Nancy Johnson
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 11 hours 5 minutes

The Kindest Lie

“You know you are in the hands of a natural storyteller from the very first pages of The Kindest Lie, a story of unlikely friendships, difficult choices, and the untold burden of our past. Ruth is compelled to return to the hometown she fled to pursue her dreams. Midnight is a boy broken and in search of a safe port amidst the stormy seas of his young life. Both have been impacted by the brutal politics of race and class in modern America, and both must find a way to heal their broken hearts. A moving story of the compassion and strength needed to move past fear and distrust and begin to hope for a better future.”

Book Passage image Luisa Smith, Book Passage
Audiobook details

Sparks Like Stars

A Novel

By Nadia Hashimi
Narrated by: Mozhan Marno
Length: 12 hours 2 minutes

An Afghan American woman returns to Kabul to learn the truth about her family and the tragedy that destroyed their lives in this brilliant and compelling novel from the bestselling author of The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, The House Without Windows, and When the Moon Is Low.

Kabul, 1978: The daughter of a prominent family, Sitara Zamani lives a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Clues to the Universe

By Christina Li
Narrated by: Mimi Chang & Josh Hurley
Length: 6 hours 41 minutes

This #ownvoices debut about losing and finding family, forging unlikely friendships, and searching for answers to big questions will resonate with fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Rebecca Stead.

The only thing Rosalind Ling Geraghty loves more than watching NASA launches with her dad is building rockets with him. When he dies unexpectedly, all Ro... Read more »

Audiobook details

Raceless

In Search of Family, Identity, and the Truth About Where I Belong

By Georgina Lawton
Narrated by: Georgina Lawton
Length: 8 hours 7 minutes

From The Guardian’s Georgina Lawton, a moving examination of how racial identity is constructed—through the author’s own journey grappling with secrets and stereotypes, having been raised by white parents with no explanation as to why she looked black.

Raised in sleepy English suburbia, Georgina Lawton was no stranger to homogeneity. Her parents... Read more »

Audiobook details

While I Was Away - Abridged

By Waka T. Brown
Narrated by: Chieko Hidaka
Length: 7 hours 2 minutes

The Farewell meets Erin Entrada Kelly's Blackbird Fly in this empowering middle grade memoir from debut author Waka T. Brown, who takes readers on a journey to 1980s Japan, where she was sent as a child to reconnect to her family’s roots.

When twelve-year-old Waka’s parents suspect she can’t understand the basic Japanese they speak to her, they... Read more »

Audiobook details

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry

By Joya Goffney
Narrated by: Jordan Cobb
Length: 9 hours 39 minutes

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by debut author Joya Goffney is an own voices story of an overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It’s a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance. Fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Kristina Forest’s I Wanna Be Where... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sure, I'll Be Your Black Friend

Notes From the Other Side of the Fist Bump

By Ben Philippe
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: 8 hours 28 minutes

In the biting, hilarious vein of What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Blacker and We Are Never Meeting in Real Life comes Ben Philippe’s candid memoir-in-essays, chronicling a lifetime of being the Black friend (see also: foreign kid, boyfriend, coworker, student, teacher, roommate, enemy) in predominantly white spaces.  

In an era in which “I have... Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Kidnap the Rich

A Novel

By Rahul Raina
Narrated by: TBD
Length: TBA

An exhilarating and propulsive debut novel from an emerging talent—a fresh, bitingly hilarious, sweeping satire of modern-day India hailed as "a monstrously funny and unpredictable wild ride" by Kevin Kwan, New York Times bestselling author of the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy and Sex and Vanity

The first kidnapping wasn’t my fault. The others—those... Read more »

Audiobook details

Live Free

Exceed Your Highest Expectations

By DeVon Franklin
Narrated by: DeVon Franklin
Length: 8 hours 32 minutes

The bestselling author returns with his biggest book yet in which he teaches us the secret to living a happier life: get rid of as many expectations as possible—of ourselves, our future, our relationships, our career and our family.

Expectations are the secret software, running on the hardware of our minds, controlling our emotions, decisions,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Permission to Dream

By Chris Gardner & Mim Eichler Rivas
Narrated by: Chris Gardner
Length: 6 hours 25 minutes

In the spirit of The Last Lecture, The Secret, and The Alchemist, this small book presents BIG ideas for turning your “one day” into today, including the generational transfer of a dream and a powerful blueprint for a masterpiece life—from the author of the New York Times bestselling memoir and major motion picture The Pursuit of Happyness.

On Read more »a...
Audiobook details

Class Act

By Jerry Craft
Narrated by: Nile Bullock, Jesus Del Orden, Guy Lockard, Marc Thompson, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, January LaVoy, Phoebe Strole, Jordan Cobb, A.J. Beckles, Robin Miles, Ron Butler, Miles Harvey, Kim Mai Guest, Kyla Garcia & Soneela Nankani
Length: 2 hours 6 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft returns with a companion book to New Kid, winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize. This time, it’s Jordan’s friend Drew who takes center stage in another laugh-out-loud funny, powerful, and important story about being one of the few kids of color in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Reaper of Souls

Kingdom of Souls: Book #2

By Rena Barron
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 13 hours 25 minutes

A prince repelled by magic. A king bent on revenge. A witchdoctor who does not walk alone.

Brimming with dark magic, high stakes, and serpentine twists, the second book in Rena Barron’s thrilling YA fantasy saga is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Sabaa Tahir, and Tomi Adeyemi.

After so many years yearning for the gift of magic, Arrah has the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Game Changer

By Neal Shusterman
Narrated by: Andrew Eiden & Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 10 hours 3 minutes

An explosive new novel by the author of the National Book Award-winning Challenger Deep and the New York Times bestselling Arc of a Scythe series, about the limited ways we see our world—and how a jolt out of the ordinary can upend the universe.

All it takes is one hit on the football field, and suddenly Ash’s life doesn’t look quite the way he... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Are Each Other's Harvest

Celebrating African American Farmers, Land, and Legacy

By Natalie Baszile
Narrated by: Tina Lifford
Length: 13 hours 41 minutes

From the author of Queen Sugar—now a critically acclaimed series on OWN directed by Ava Duvernay—comes a beautiful exploration and celebration of black farming in America. 

In this impressive anthology, Natalie Baszile brings together essays, poems, quotes, conversations, and first-person stories to examine black people’s connection to the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Terraform

Building a Better World

By Propaganda
Narrated by: Propaganda
Length: TBA

In this debut collection of essays and poetry, musician, speaker, and activist Propaganda inspires us to create a better, more equitable world.

“If we get to make the very cultures that shape who we are, then let us remake them in the best way possible.”

In this deep, challenging, and thoughtful book, Propaganda looks at the ways in which our... Read more »

Audiobook details

Meet Cute Diary

By Emery Lee
Narrated by: Logan Rozos
Length: 7 hours 2 minutes

Felix Ever After meets Becky Albertalli in this swoon-worthy, heartfelt rom-com about how a transgender teen’s first love challenges his ideas about perfect relationships.

Noah Ramirez thinks he’s an expert on romance. He has to be for his popular blog, the Meet Cute Diary, a collection of trans happily ever afters. There’s just one problem—all... Read more »

Audiobook details

Happy Endings

A Novel

By Thien-Kim Lam
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 9 hours 4 minutes

With her debut novel, Thien-Kim Lam serves up a sexy second-chance romance about exes with unfinished business. When working together reignites their passion, will these former flames sizzle or get burned all over again? 

Trixie Nguyen is determined to make her sex toy business a success, proving to her traditional Vietnamese parents that she can... Read more »

Audiobook details

Concrete Rose

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unsettled

By Reem Faruqi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 2 hours 28 minutes

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family,... Read more »

Audiobook details