Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

2021 BIPOC Audiobooks

Listen to audiobooks by authors who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.

View all playlists

Terraform

Building a Better World

By Propaganda
Narrated by: Propaganda
Length: 5 hours 38 minutes

Performed by Propaganda and featuring four exclusive original songs.

In this debut collection of essays and poetry, musician, speaker, and activist Propaganda inspires us to create a better, more equitable world.

“If we get to make the very cultures that shape who we are, then let us remake them in the best way possible.”

In this deep, challenging,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Meet Cute Diary

By Emery Lee
Narrated by: Logan Rozos
Length: 7 hours 2 minutes

Felix Ever After meets Becky Albertalli in this swoon-worthy, heartfelt rom-com about how a transgender teen’s first love challenges his ideas about perfect relationships.

Noah Ramirez thinks he’s an expert on romance. He has to be for his popular blog, the Meet Cute Diary, a collection of trans happily ever afters. There’s just one problem—all...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Happy Endings

A Novel

By Thien-Kim Lam
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 9 hours 4 minutes

With her debut novel, Thien-Kim Lam serves up a sexy second-chance romance about exes with unfinished business. When working together reignites their passion, will these former flames sizzle or get burned all over again? 

Trixie Nguyen is determined to make her sex toy business a success, proving to her traditional Vietnamese parents that she can...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Concrete Rose

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Unsettled

By Reem Faruqi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 2 hours 28 minutes

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrating Birds

An Interactive Field and Listening Guide Inspired by the Wingspan Game

By Natalia Rojas & Ana Maria Martinez
Narrated by: Inés del Castillo, Timothy Andrés Pabon & Laura Jennings
Length: 6 hours 44 minutes

A gorgeously illustrated and interactive full-color guide to more than 181 birds of North America, featuring recorded vocalizations of each, based on the bestselling board game, Wingspan.

Praised for its gorgeous illustrations, accurate portrayal of bird habitats, and its gameplay, the bird-focused board game Wingspan has become an international...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Red, White, and Whole

By Rajani LaRocca
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 2 hours 38 minutes

A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Edge of Midnight

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 11 hours 43 minutes

Blackboard bestselling author Beverly Jenkins launches her first contemporary romantic suspense with this exciting sizzler. Sparks fly when Mykal Chandler, the head of a covert government agency, fights to protect the woman he has fallen in love with. 

Sarita Grayson is desperate. That’s the only explanation for her late night rendezvous with a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Lace

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Lynnette Freeman
Length: 11 hours 19 minutes

The last thing Lacy Green needs is trouble—and handsome Mayor Drake Randolph has "danger" written all over him . . . especially when "His Fineness" accidentally runs her off the road. Despite Drake's sensuous charm, irresistible magnetism, and unwavering determination to make amends, she's thinking it might be smart to play it safe and keep her...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Sexy/Dangerous

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 10 hours 18 minutes

Wearing her shades, a black Stetson, and snakeskin cowboy boots, security agent Maxine "Max" Blake is the baddest thing walking. Ex-marine, ex-cop, and a whole lotta 'tude, Max doesn't have time for anything but her job. Her latest assignment: to protect Dr. Adam Gary. Her problem: he doesn't want her there.

Adam wants to focus on his work, not...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Deadly Sexy

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 10 hours 49 minutes

Though her Lexus may be broken down on the California freeway, Jessi Teresa Blake is no damsel in distress. Rich, smart, and beautiful, JT, or "Lady Blake," as she is called, is one of the toughest sports agents around. She's negotiated megabucks contracts for every superstar in the business, and only the most confident of men can match wits...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Tiger's Apprentice

Tiger’s Apprentice: Book #1

By Laurence Yep
Narrated by: James Chen
Length: 4 hours 56 minutes

Soon to be an animated movie!

Don’t miss this middle grade fantasy adventure about a boy, a magical tiger, an outlaw dragon, and a mischievous monkey who carry the fate of the world on their shoulders. From two-time Newbery Honor-winning author Laurence Yep (Dragonwings, Dragon’s Gate), now with an all-new cover and introduction! 

Tom Lee’s life...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

Amari and the Night Brothers

Amari and the Night Brothers is a contemporary children's Sci-Fi/Fantasy in the vein of Men in Black and Supernatural. Monsters, magic, and supernatural beings living amongst us, but not everyone can see them (or even knows that they are there). Amari (and her missing older brother Quinton) can and have to balance living in the modern world and the one full of supernatural beings (and unsavory events). Fast paced, relatable, and a fun listen!”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

Shaking Up the House

By Yamile Saied Méndez
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 5 hours 31 minutes

A friendly prank war at the White House spirals out of control in this hilarious and heartfelt middle grade novel written by acclaimed author Yamile Saied Méndez and perfect for fans of President of the Whole Fifth Grade and Merci Suárez Changes Gears.

Ingrid and Winnie López have lived at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue for eight years, but their...

Read more »

Audiobook details

If I Tell You the Truth

By Jasmin Kaur
Narrated by: Jasmin Kaur
Length: 9 hours 56 minutes

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur, this heartrending story told in prose, poetry, and illustration weaves together the stories of a mother and daughter’s lives.

In this stunning sophomore novel, acclaimed writer Jasmin Kaur explores trauma, fear, courage, community, and the healing power of love in its many forms.

Kiran flees her...

Read more »

Audiobook details

An Emotion of Great Delight

By Tahereh Mafi
Narrated by: Lanna Joffrey
Length: 6 hours 32 minutes

From bestselling and National Book Award–nominated author Tahereh Mafi comes a stunning novel about love and loneliness, navigating the hyphen of dual identity, and reclaiming your right to joy—even when you’re trapped in the amber of sorrow.

It’s 2003, several months since the US officially declared war on Iraq, and the American political world...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Once Upon a Quinceañera

By Monica Gomez-Hira
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Jane the Virgin, this immediately accessible and irresistibly fun #ownvoices rom-com debut will spin readers into an unforgettable summer of late-night dancing, broken hearts, second chances, and telenovela twists.

Carmen Aguilar just wants to make her happily ever after come true. Except apparently “happily ever...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Theft of Sunlight

Dauntless Path: Book #2

By Intisar Khanani
Narrated by: Shiromi Arserio
Length: 13 hours 49 minutes

Perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Sorcery of Thorns, this exhilarating, page-turning fantasy will pull readers into a lush and stunning world where nothing—and no one—can be trusted.

I did not choose this fate. But I will not walk away from it.

Children have been disappearing from across Menaiya for longer than Amraeya ni Ansarim can...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Blackbird Fly

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ferdelle Capistrano
Length: 5 hours 33 minutes

Future rock star or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this acclaimed novel by Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different; with friends and backstabbers; and with following her dreams.

Publishers Weekly called Blackbird Fly “a true triumph,” and the Los Angeles Times Book Review said,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Sea in Winter

By Christine Day
Narrated by: Kimberly Woods
Length: 4 hours 25 minutes

In this evocative and heartwarming novel for readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish, the author of I Can Make This Promise tells the story of a Native American girl struggling to find her joy again.

It’s been a hard year for Maisie Cannon, ever since she hurt her leg and could not keep up with her ballet training and auditions.

Her blended...

Read more »

Audiobook details