Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

2021 BIPOC Audiobooks

Listen to audiobooks by authors who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.

View all playlists

Celebrating Birds

An Interactive Field and Listening Guide Inspired by the Wingspan Game

By Natalia Rojas & Ana Maria Martinez
Narrated by: Inés del Castillo, Timothy Andrés Pabon & Laura Jennings
Length: 6 hours 44 minutes

A gorgeously illustrated and interactive full-color guide to more than 181 birds of North America, featuring recorded vocalizations of each, based on the bestselling board game, Wingspan.

Praised for its gorgeous illustrations, accurate portrayal of bird habitats, and its gameplay, the bird-focused board game Wingspan has become an international... Read more »

Audiobook details

Red, White, and Whole

By Rajani LaRocca
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 2 hours 38 minutes

A heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Edge of Midnight

A Novel

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 11 hours 43 minutes

Blackboard bestselling author Beverly Jenkins launches her first contemporary romantic suspense with this exciting sizzler. Sparks fly when Mykal Chandler, the head of a covert government agency, fights to protect the woman he has fallen in love with. 

Sarita Grayson is desperate. That’s the only explanation for her late night rendezvous with a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Lace

A Novel

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Lynnette Freeman
Length: 11 hours 19 minutes

The last thing Lacy Green needs is trouble—and handsome Mayor Drake Randolph has "danger" written all over him . . . especially when "His Fineness" accidentally runs her off the road. Despite Drake's sensuous charm, irresistible magnetism, and unwavering determination to make amends, she's thinking it might be smart to play it safe and keep her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sexy/Dangerous

A Novel

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 10 hours 18 minutes

Wearing her shades, a black Stetson, and snakeskin cowboy boots, security agent Maxine "Max" Blake is the baddest thing walking. Ex-marine, ex-cop, and a whole lotta 'tude, Max doesn't have time for anything but her job. Her latest assignment: to protect Dr. Adam Gary. Her problem: he doesn't want her there.

Adam wants to focus on his work, not... Read more »

Audiobook details

Deadly Sexy

A Novel

By Beverly Jenkins
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 10 hours 49 minutes

Though her Lexus may be broken down on the California freeway, Jessi Teresa Blake is no damsel in distress. Rich, smart, and beautiful, JT, or "Lady Blake," as she is called, is one of the toughest sports agents around. She's negotiated megabucks contracts for every superstar in the business, and only the most confident of men can match wits... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Tiger's Apprentice - Abridged

Tiger’s Apprentice: Book #1

By Laurence Yep
Narrated by: James Chen
Length: 4 hours 56 minutes

Soon to be an animated movie!

Don’t miss this middle grade fantasy adventure about a boy, a magical tiger, an outlaw dragon, and a mischievous monkey who carry the fate of the world on their shoulders. From two-time Newbery Honor-winning author Laurence Yep (Dragonwings, Dragon’s Gate), now with an all-new cover and introduction! 

Tom Lee’s life... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

If you enjoyed The Trials of Apollo, Book One: The Hidden Oracle, then you’ll love Amari and the Night Brothers.

“This book was fun! As a reference point, I would say it's a Spy Kids/Men in Black/Percy Jackson/Harry Potter hybrid but honestly, it's in a class all of it's own. Amari was a wonderful main character. She is super smart and caring and despite the absolute terribleness of her peers, prevails by learning to trust herself and use her talents to stand out. There was lots of blatant and unpunished racism, classism, and and brutal meanness coming from the majority of Amari's classmates, both in the non-supernatural world and in the Bureau. On their first day, all trainees have to touch a magical orb and one of their already present abilities gets magnified and becomes a special ability (ie general luckiness becomes unnatural/always happens luckiness). When Amari is bestowed with an illegal ability, she becomes the target of both racism and a form of intense otherism in the supernatural world. I also loved her friendship with Elsie, who was the last of weredragons (like werewolves but for dragons!) and suffered her own share of bullies and otherism for being a bit dorky and for not having shifted to her dragon form yet. The audiobook edition of this novel was well done. Imani Parks gives a perfect voice to Amari and the other young main characters. This is a great read for juvenile readers (anywhere from advanced an advance 8/9 years to teens) and is fun and exciting for adults as well so would also be a great read-aloud book for guardians with younger readers. I would recommend for avid Percy Jackson and Harry Potter fans, those that enjoy spy or adventure books, and even those who enjoy fairy tale epics.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Shaking Up the House

By Yamile Saied Méndez
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 5 hours 31 minutes

A friendly prank war at the White House spirals out of control in this hilarious and heartfelt middle grade novel written by acclaimed author Yamile Saied Méndez and perfect for fans of President of the Whole Fifth Grade and Merci Suárez Changes Gears.

Ingrid and Winnie López have lived at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue for eight years, but their... Read more »

Audiobook details

If I Tell You the Truth

By Jasmin Kaur
Narrated by: Jasmin Kaur
Length: 9 hours 56 minutes

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur, this heartrending story told in prose, poetry, and illustration weaves together the stories of a mother and daughter’s lives.

In this stunning sophomore novel, acclaimed writer Jasmin Kaur explores trauma, fear, courage, community, and the healing power of love in its many forms.

Kiran flees her... Read more »

Audiobook details

An Emotion of Great Delight

By Tahereh Mafi
Narrated by: TBD
Length: TBA

From bestselling and National Book Award–nominated author Tahereh Mafi comes a stunning novel about love and loneliness, navigating the hyphen of dual identity, and reclaiming your right to joy—even when you’re trapped in the amber of sorrow.

It’s 2003, several months since the US officially declared war on Iraq, and the American political world... Read more »

Audiobook details

Once Upon a Quinceanera

By Monica Gomez-Hira
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Jane the Virgin, this immediately accessible and irresistibly fun #ownvoices rom-com debut will spin readers into an unforgettable summer of late-night dancing, broken hearts, second chances, and telenovela twists.

Carmen Aguilar just wants to make her happily ever after come true. Except apparently “happily... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Theft of Sunlight

Dauntless Path: Book #2

By Intisar Khanani
Narrated by: Shiromi Arserio
Length: 13 hours 49 minutes

Perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Sorcery of Thorns, this exhilarating, page-turning fantasy will pull readers into a lush and stunning world where nothing—and no one—can be trusted.

I did not choose this fate. But I will not walk away from it.

Children have been disappearing from across Menaiya for longer than Amraeya ni Ansarim can... Read more »

Audiobook details

Blackbird Fly

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ferdelle Capistrano
Length: 5 hours 33 minutes

Future rock star or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this acclaimed novel by Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different; with friends and backstabbers; and with following her dreams.

Publishers Weekly called Blackbird Fly “a true triumph,” and the Los Angeles Times Book Review said,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Sea in Winter

By Christine Day
Narrated by: Kimberly Woods
Length: 4 hours 25 minutes

In this evocative and heartwarming novel for readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish, the author of I Can Make This Promise tells the story of a Native American girl struggling to find her joy again.

It’s been a hard year for Maisie Cannon, ever since she hurt her leg and could not keep up with her ballet training and auditions.

Her blended... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids

By Cynthia Leitich Smith
Narrated by: Kenny Ramos & DeLanna Studi
Length: 6 hours 11 minutes

Edited by award-winning and bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith, this collection of intersecting stories by both new and veteran Native writers bursts with hope, joy, resilience, the strength of community, and Native pride.

Native families from Nations across the continent gather at the Dance for Mother Earth Powwow in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Read more »>...
Audiobook details

When You Look Like Us

By Pamela N. Harris
Narrated by: Preston Butler III
Length: 8 hours 53 minutes

From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Marvelous Mirza Girls

By Sheba Karim
Narrated by: Richa Moorjani
Length: 8 hours 13 minutes

Gilmore Girls meets vibrant New Delhi in this thoughtful and hilarious new novel about a teen facing family expectations, relationship complications, and hidden secrets in a new country—sprinkled with Sheba Karim’s signature wit and steamy romance, and perfect for readers who loved Mary H. K. Choi’s Emergency Contact and Adib Khorram’s Darius... Read more »

Audiobook details

Root Magic

By Eden Royce
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 9 hours 54 minutes

“A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans. Add in a fun, magical adventure and you get everything I want in a book!”—Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation

Debut author... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Rib King

A Novel

By Ladee Hubbard
Narrated by: Korey Jackson & Adenrele Ojo
Length: 10 hours 8 minutes

“Ladee Hubbard’s voice is a welcome original.” —Mary Gaitskill

Upstairs, Downstairs meets Parasite: The acclaimed author of The Talented Ribkins deconstructs painful African American stereotypes and offers a fresh and searing critique on race, class, privilege, ambition, exploitation, and the seeds of rage in America in this intricately woven and... Read more »

Audiobook details