Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Bookshop Santa Cruz - Kids & YA

New Kids and YA audiobooks recommended by Bookshop Santa Cruz staff.

This Time Will Be Different

By Misa Sugiura
Narrated by Joy Osmanski /  9 hours 23 minutes

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.

The author of the Asian Pacific American Award-winning It’s Not Like It’s a Secret is back with another smartly drawn... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

By Ashley Herring Blake
Narrated by Chloe Cannon /  6 hours 6 minutes

A Stonewall Children's & Young Adult Honor Book!
In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.

When a tornado rips through town, twelve-year-old Ivy Aberdeen's house is destroyed and her family of five... Read More »

Price:

$24.98 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Sun is Also a Star

By Nicola Yoon
Narrated by Bahni Turpin, Raymond Lee & Dominic Hoffman /  8 hours 3 minutes

Now a major motion picture starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton! The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award Finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other.

Natasha:
I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate.... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

On the Come Up

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  11 hours 42 minutes

This is the highly anticipated second novel by Angie Thomas, the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give.

Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her first battle. As the daughter of an underground hip hop legend who died right before he hit big, Bri’s got... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Dragon Pearl

By Yoon Ha Lee
Narrated by Kim Mai Guest /  10 hours 18 minutes

Dragon Pearl

“Adventure, Shape shifting, forbidden space travel, mythical magic, and a girl willing to cross the galaxy in search of her missing brother - putting her own safety second. Excellent book! So much fun and I learned a lot about Korean Mythology! I listened to this on Libro.FM and it was fantastically produced!”

Content image Emma, Content
Price:

$35.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Furyborn

The Empirium Trilogy: Book #1
By Claire Legrand
Narrated by Fiona Hardingham /  17 hours 23 minutes

The stunningly original, must-read fantasy follows two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world...or doom it.

When assassins ambush her best friend, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing herself as one of a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light, and a queen of blood. To prove... Read More »

Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Sal and Gabi Break the Universe

A Sal and Gabi Novel: Book #1
By Carlos Hernandez
Narrated by Anthony Rey Perez /  9 hours 34 minutes

Sal and Gabi Break the Universe

“This book was so much fun! The narrator captures the characters so well. I was laughing out loud at the ridiculous situations Sal and Gabi find themselves in, while feeling deeply when confronted with real issues such as friends with hard home lives and sick infants. I love the union of practical magic with science and the unknown. One of my favorite listens on Libro.fm!”

Content image Emma, Content
Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

With the Fire on High

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo /  7 hours 26 minutes

With the Fire on High

“Another fantastic piece of literature by the remarkable Elizabeth Acevedo. "With the Fire on High" weaves together a beautiful story told from the perspective of high school senior and culinary prodigy Emoni Santiago. While tackling the challenges of school, young love, and raising her two-year-old daughter, Emoni must find the strength to fight for the ones she loves while also fighting to pursue her dreams.”

An Unlikely Story image Colleen, An Unlikely Story
Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

New Kid

By Jerry Craft
Narrated by Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey & Ron Butler /  1 hour 58 minutes

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen... Read More »

Price:

$16.09 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Like Vanessa

By Tami Charles
Narrated by Channie Waites /  7 hours 38 minutes

Middle graders will laugh and cry with thirteen-year-old Vanessa Martin as she tries to be like Vanessa Williams, the first black Miss America, by reluctantly entering her own beauty pageant. In this semi-autobiographical debut novel set in 1983, Vanessa Martin's real-life reality of living with family in public housing in Newark, New Jersey is... Read More »

Price:

$19.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

To Night Owl From Dogfish

By Holly Goldberg Sloan & Meg Wolitzer
Narrated by Imani Parks, Cassandra Morris & Full Cast /  6 hours 13 minutes

From two extraordinary authors comes a moving, exuberant, laugh-out-loud novel about friendship and family, told entirely in emails and letters.

Avery Bloom, who's bookish, intense, and afraid of many things, particularly deep water, lives in New York City. Bett Devlin, who's fearless, outgoing, and loves all animals as well as the ocean, lives... Read More »

Price:

$25.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Sorcery of Thorns

By Margaret Rogerson
Narrated by Emily Ellet /  14 hours 20 minutes

Sorcery of Thorns

“Amazing! I wonderful fantasy I loved every bit of. The narrator brought this story to life, and I was hypnotized the entire time. This story has some of my favorite elements in it. A strong, smart heroine? Check. A charming hero with demons and a chip on his shoulder? Check. An evil threatening the safety of the world? Check. Elizabeth is such an interesting character, she is determined and clever and she has approximately no quit in her. Despite all of the things that stand in her way, she never says die. When she is forced to choose between the person she has always been, and sacrificing all she knows about herself to help save a clueless, thankless world, she becomes someone new. Part of this is because of Nathaniel. He embodies everything she has learned to avoid and fear. But the world she lives in is bigger than the fears she has been taught. Nathaniel is mysterious and tortured. Elizabeth is everything he doesn't want to need, and he rebels against that. Their partnership progresses naturally, slowly and arduously as they wrestle with what is happening. By the end of the book they have complete confidence in each other and I reveled in every stage of their relationship. Give me the slow burn partnership that neither wants, but works so well. I'll love it every time. Margaret Rogerson is amazing and this book HAD me from the very beginning.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Sam, Bright Side Bookshop
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Other Words for Home

By Jasmine Warga
Narrated by Vaneh Assadourian /  3 hours 49 minutes

Other Words for Home

“The new words, tasting like America, on our lips." A beautifully-written story of a young Syrian girl's journey to Cincinnati and learning to live her everyday life of a school kid in America. Jude struggles to be brave in making new friends, in auditioning for the school play and in thinking of her brother and father back home.”

River Bend Bookshop image Ernio, River Bend Bookshop
Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrated by Imani Parks /  6 hours 45 minutes

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules.... Read More »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Once & Future

By Cori McCarthy & Amy Rose Capetta
Narrated by Lauren Fortgang /  10 hours 55 minutes

King Arthur as you've never imagined! This bold, sizzling YA retells the popular legend with the Once and Future King as a teenage girl -- and she has a universe to save.

I've been chased my whole life. As a fugitive refugee in the territory controlled by the tyrannical Mercer corporation, I've always had to hide who I am. Until I found... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Black Enough

By Ibi Zoboi, Tracey Baptiste, Coleen Booth, Dhonielle Clayton, Brandy Colbert, Jay Coles, Lamar Giles, Leah Henderson, Justina Ireland, Varian Johnson, Kekla Magoon, Tochi Onyebuchi, Jason Reynolds, Nic Stone, Liara Tamani, Renée Watson & Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by Bahni Turpin & Ron Butler /  11 hours 14 minutes

Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and featuring some of the most acclaimed bestselling Black authors writing for teens today—Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about what it’s like to be young and Black in America.

Black is...sisters navigating their relationship at summer camp in Portland, Oregon, as... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener