Skip navigation
Skip content
Disability in Fiction for Kids

Disability in Fiction for Kids

Children's fiction featuring characters with various physical, mental, and emotional disabilities. Intended to raise awareness of the possibilities of life even with a disability. #OwnVoices whenever possible.

Playlist Tags: disability-featured topic: disability

View all playlists

The Brave

By James Bird
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 9 hours 6 minutes

Collin can't help himself?he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Many Mysteries of the Finkel Family

By Sarah Kapit
Narrated by: Gabi Epstein
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

Fans of the Penderwicks and the Vanderbeekers, meet the Finkel family in this middle grade novel about two autistic sisters, their detective agency, and life's most consequential mysteries.

When twelve-year-old Lara Finkel starts her very own detective agency, FIASCCO (Finkel Investigation Agency Solving Consequential Crimes Only), she does not... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Chance to Fly

By Ali Stroker & Stacy Davidowitz
Narrated by: Ali Stroker
Length: 6 hours 42 minutes

A heartfelt middle-grade novel about a theater-loving girl who uses a wheelchair for mobility and her quest to defy expectations--and gravity--from Tony award-winning actress Ali Stroker and Stacy Davidowitz

Thirteen-year-old Nat Beacon loves a lot of things: her dog Warbucks, her best friend Chloe, and competing on her wheelchair racing team,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The War I Finally Won

By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Narrated by: Jayne Entwistle
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

New York Times bestseller

Like the classic heroines of Sarah, Plain and TallLittle Women, and Anne of Green Gables, Ada is a fighter for the ages. Her triumphant World War II journey continues in this sequel to the Newbery Honor–winning The War that Saved My Life

 
When Ada’s clubfoot is surgically fixed at last, she knows for certain that... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

By Stacy McAnulty
Narrated by: Ana Isabel
Length: 6 hours 24 minutes

A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The War That Saved My Life

By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Narrated by: Jayne Entwistle
Length: 7 hours 37 minutes

Winner of the 2016 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War 2, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.
 
Nine-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Sal and Gabi Break the Universe

A Sal and Gabi Novel: Book #1

By Carlos Hernandez
Narrated by: Anthony Rey Perez
Length: 9 hours 34 minutes

Sal and Gabi Break the Universe

“In some parallel universe, I am in middle school – yes, this book is so good I would even consider going back to middle school… maybe – Sal and Gabi are my friends, and we are trying to sift our ways through the difficulties and moments of beauty the world throws our way. Listening to this on Libro.fm in my car must have made me quite the sight. I laughed hysterically and yelled “Yes!” while air-hi-fiving all the characters who treated other beings with love and respect. (Thank you, Anthony Perez, for voicing this book SO WELL!) Read it, listen to it, and before you start, find the closest Cuban restaurant because you’re going to definitely want some Cuban food. Can’t wait for Hernandez’ next book! Linda”

Cellar Door Books image Linda, Cellar Door Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

Life of a Cactus: Book #1

By Dusti Bowling
Narrated by: Karissa Vacker
Length: 5 hours 26 minutes

The audio edition of the bestselling middle grade novel about a spunky girl born without arms and a boy with Tourette syndrome navigating the challenges of middle school, disability, and friendship—all while solving a mystery in a western theme park.

Aven Green loves to tell people that she lost her arms in an alligator wrestling match, or a... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Tornado Brain

By Cat Patrick
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 6 hours 35 minutes

In this heartfelt and powerfully affecting coming of age story, a neurodivergent 7th grader is determined to find her missing best friend before it's too late.

Things never seem to go as easily for thirteen-year-old Frankie as they do for her sister, Tess. Unlike Tess, Frankie is neurodivergent. In her case, that means she can't stand to be... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Momentous Events in the Life of a Cactus

Life of a Cactus: Book #2

By Dusti Bowling
Narrated by: Karissa Vacker
Length: 6 hours 35 minutes

Momentous Events in the Life of a Cactus

“Bowling's descriptions are so incredibly inviting that once the story began I couldn't help but be completely immersed in the story and Aven's life. While the previous book was about a new life and secrets coming to the surface (and many other things) this one was about starting high school, making new friends and getting crushes on boys. This book, as well as the first, has incredibly deep material in it, but Aven's voice is so great that it lightens the mood and more difficult aspects of what she's experiencing. The narration of the audio was on point as well. I'm pretty certain I'll read anything Bowling puts out. I'm a HUGE fan of her writing!”

Vintage Books image Candace, Vintage Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Song for a Whale

By Lynne Kelly
Narrated by: Abigail Revasch & Lynne Kelly
Length: 6 hours 34 minutes

In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.

From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old Iris is a tech genius. But she's the only deaf person in her... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Planet Earth Is Blue

By Nicole Panteleakos
Narrated by: Dylan Moore
Length: 5 hours 36 minutes

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.


Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account