Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Join the #SummerListeningChallenge and play Libro.fm Audiobook Bingo!

Learn more

Disability in Fiction for Kids

Children's fiction featuring characters with various physical, mental, and emotional disabilities. Intended to raise awareness of the possibilities of life even with a disability. #OwnVoices whenever possible.

Playlist Tags: topic: disability

View All Playlists

The War I Finally Won

By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Narrated by Jayne Entwistle /  8 hours 46 minutes

New York Times bestseller

Like the classic heroines of Sarah, Plain and TallLittle Women, and Anne of Green Gables, Ada is a fighter for the ages. Her triumphant World War II journey continues in this sequel to the Newbery Honor–winning The War that Saved My Life

 
When Ada’s clubfoot is surgically fixed at last, she knows for certain that... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

By Stacy McAnulty
Narrated by Ana Isabel /  6 hours 24 minutes

A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

The War That Saved My Life

By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Narrated by Jayne Entwistle /  7 hours 37 minutes

Winner of the 2016 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War 2, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.
 
Nine-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

Wonder

By R. J. Palacio
Narrated by Diana Steele, Nick Podehl & Kate Rudd /  8 hours 6 minutes

A special movie tie-in edition of R.J. Palacio's #1 New York Times bestseller, now a major motion picture starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson, Jacob Tremblay, Daveed Diggs, and Mandy Patinkin.

Over 6 million people have fallen in love with Wonder and Auggie Pullman, the ordinary boy with the extraordinary face, who inspired a movement to Choose... Read More »

Price:

$19.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

Life of a Cactus: Book #1
By Dusti Bowling
Narrated by Karissa Vacker /  5 hours 26 minutes

The audio edition of the bestselling middle grade novel about a spunky girl born without arms and a boy with Tourette syndrome navigating the challenges of middle school, disability, and friendship—all while solving a mystery in a western theme park. Aven Green loves to tell people that she lost her arms in an alligator wrestling match, or a... Read More »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

Momentous Events in the Life of a Cactus

Life of a Cactus: Book #2
By Dusti Bowling
Narrated by Karissa Vacker /  6 hours 35 minutes

Momentous Events in the Life of a Cactus

“Bowling's descriptions are so incredibly inviting that once the story began I couldn't help but be completely immersed in the story and Aven's life. While the previous book was about a new life and secrets coming to the surface (and many other things) this one was about starting high school, making new friends and getting crushes on boys. This book, as well as the first, has incredibly deep material in it, but Aven's voice is so great that it lightens the mood and more difficult aspects of what she's experiencing. The narration of the audio was on point as well. I'm pretty certain I'll read anything Bowling puts out. I'm a HUGE fan of her writing!”

Vintage Books image Candace, Vintage Books
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

Song for a Whale

By Lynne Kelly
Narrated by Abigail Revasch & Lynne Kelly /  6 hours 34 minutes

In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.

From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old Iris is a tech genius. But she's the only deaf person in her... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

Planet Earth Is Blue

By Nicole Panteleakos
Narrated by Dylan Moore /  5 hours 36 minutes

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.


Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of... Read More »

Price:

$25.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

Join the #SummerListeningChallenge and play Libro.fm Audiobook Bingo!

Learn more