Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference

Epistolary Audiobooks

Stories that take the form of letter, Slack messages, emails, texts, and more!

Playlist Tags: epistolary letter

View all playlists

84, Charing Cross Road

By Helene Hanff
Narrated by: Barbara Rosenblat, John Franklyn-Robbins, Jill Tanner, Christina Moore, Simon Prebble, Barbara Caruso & Davina Porter
Length: 1 hours 55 minutes

This charming classic love story, first published in 1970, brings together twenty years of correspondence between Helene Hanff, at the time, a freelance writer living in New York City, and a used-book dealer in London at 84, Charing Cross Road. Through the years, though never meeting and separated both geographically and culturally, they share a... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Tale for the Time Being

By Ruth Ozeki
Narrated by: Ruth Ozeki
Length: 14 hours 43 minutes

A brilliant, unforgettable, and long-awaited novel from bestselling author Ruth Ozeki

“A time being is someone who lives in time, and that means you, and me, and every one of us who is, or was, or ever will be.”

In Tokyo, sixteen-year-old Nao has decided there’s only one escape from her aching loneliness and her classmates’ bullying. But before... Read more »

Audiobook details

Several People Are Typing

A Novel

By Calvin Kasulke
Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews, Neil Shah, Dani Martineck, Sophie Amoss, Neil Hellegers, Cary Hite, Sean Patrick Hopkins, Joshua Kane, Amy Landon, Nicole Lewis, Brittany Pressley & Jonathan Todd Ross
Length: 3 hours 27 minutes

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick! • A work-from-home comedy where WFH meets WTF.
 
"An absurd, hilarious romp through the haunted house of late-stage capitalism."—Carmen Maria Machado, author of In the Dream House

 
Told entirely through clever and captivating Slack messages, this irresistible, relatable satire of both virtual work and...
Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Last Tang Standing

By Lauren Ho
Narrated by: Catherine Ho
Length: 12 hours 38 minutes

Crazy Rich Asians meets Bridget Jones's Diary in this funny and irresistible debut novel about the pursuit of happiness, surviving one's thirties intact, and opening oneself up to love.

At thirty-three, Andrea Tang is living the dream: She has a successful career as a lawyer, a posh condo, and a clutch of fun-loving friends who are always in the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

A Novel

By Annie Barrows & Mary Ann Shaffer
Narrated by: Paul Boehmer, Susan Duerden, Rosalyn Landor, John Lee & Juliet Mills
Length: 8 hours 5 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A NETFLIX FILM • A remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name.

“Treat yourself to this book, please—I can’t recommend it highly enough.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

“I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there... Read more »

Audiobook details

This Is How You Lose The Time War

By Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone
Narrated by: Cynthia Farrell & Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 4 hours 15 minutes

This Is How You Lose The Time War

“Agents for opposite sides of a war without an end or beginning find themselves drawn to one another. It starts as a little deadly competition, but it quickly becomes clear that it's more than just fascination. Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone work together like steak and a fine wine. Some of the most beautiful prose, and two of the most complex characters ever written, This is How You Lose the Time War is a tragic love story wrapped in science fiction. Emily Woo Zeller and Cynthia Farrell narrate with such emotion that the listener believes every word they say. This is one of my favorite Audiobooks of all time.”

Cavalier House Books image Sophie, Cavalier House Books
Audiobook details

Illuminae

The Illuminae Files: Book #1

By Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Narrated by: Olivia Taylor Dudley, Lincoln Hoppe, Johnathan McClain, Kimberly Farr, Donnabella Mortel, Matthew Frow, Ryan Gesell, Sile Bermingham, Beata Pozniak, Jolene Kim, Emma Bering & Full Cast
Length: 11 hours 39 minutes

For fans of Marie Lu comes the first book in an epic series that bends the sci-fi genre into a new dimension.
 
 “A truly beautiful novel that redefines the form."Victoria Aveyard, bestselling author of Red Queen

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
... Read more »

Audiobook details

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

A Novel

By Ocean Vuong
Narrated by: Ocean Vuong
Length: 7 hours 18 minutes

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

“My words can't do justice to how beautiful the language is in this book. Listening to the author read it was so raw and engaging. This book was emotionally painful in a lot of parts but just touched me on so many levels. Definitely the best book that I've listened to (and read) so far this year.”

Tattered Cover image Suzie, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

Meet Me at the Museum

A Novel

By Anne Youngson
Narrated by: Helen Lloyd & Lars Knudsen
Length: 6 hours 29 minutes

Meet Me at the Museum

“This charming novel is told entirely in correspondence between Tina, a woman of a certain age in England who is questioning her place in the world after her best friend’s death, and Kristian, a Danish museum curator who is adrift after the death of his wife. As their correspondence evolves and their friendship develops, they realize that the world may have more to offer than they initially thought. Meet Me at the Museum is sweet without being cloying, gentle without insulting the reader’s intelligence, and a completely enjoyable read.”

Schuler Books image Carol Schneck Varner, Schuler Books
Audiobook details

Gabi, A Girl in Pieces

By Isabel Quintero
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 7 hours 57 minutes

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best Books of 2014

July 24

My mother named me Gabriella, after my grandmother who, coincidentally, didn't want to meet me when I was born because my mother was unmarried, and therefore living in sin. My mom has told me the story many, many, MANY, times of how, when she confessed to my grandmother that she was pregnant with... Read more »

Audiobook details

Texts from Jane Eyre

And Other Conversations with Your Favorite Literary Characters

By Mallory Ortberg
Narrated by: Zach Villa & Amy Landon
Length: 2 hours 22 minutes

Mallory Ortberg, cocreator of the cult-favorite Web site The Toast, presents this whimsical collection of hysterical text conversations from your favorite literary characters.

Everyone knows that if Scarlett O'Hara had an unlimited text-and-data plan, she'd constantly try to tempt Ashley away from Melanie with suggestive messages. If Mr.... Read more »

Audiobook details

The White Tiger

A Novel

By Aravind Adiga
Narrated by: John Lee
Length: 8 hours 6 minutes

No saris. No scents. No spices. No music. No lyricism. No illusions.

This is India now.

Balram Halwai is a complicated man. Servant. Philosopher. Entrepreneur. Murderer. Over the course of seven nights, by the scattered light of a preposterous chandelier, Balram tells us the terrible and transfixing story of how he came to be a success in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ella Minnow Pea

A Novel in Letters

By Mark Dunn
Narrated by: Lauren Ezzo, Renata Friedman, Michael Crouch & Sara Morsey
Length: 4 hours 25 minutes

A hilarious and moving story of one girl’s fight for freedom of expression, as well as a linguistic tour de force sure to delight word lovers everywhere

Ella Minnow Pea is a girl living happily on the fictional island of Nollop off the coast of South Carolina. Nollop was named after Nevin Nollop, author of the immortal phrase containing all... Read more »

Audiobook details

Vanessa and Her Sister

A Novel

By Priya Parmar
Narrated by: Various, Emilia Fox, Clare Corbett, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Daniel Pirrie & Anthony Calf
Length: 10 hours 51 minutes

For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group.
 
London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Dear Committee Members

A novel

By Julie Schumacher
Narrated by: Robertson Dean
Length: 3 hours 55 minutes

Finally a novel that puts the "pissed" back into "epistolary."

Jason Fitger is a beleaguered professor of creative writing and literature at Payne University, a small and not very distinguished liberal arts college in the midwest. His department is facing draconian cuts and squalid quarters, while one floor above them the Economics Department is... Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference