Skip navigation
Skip content
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more
Most Anticipated Audiobooks - Fall 2019

Most Anticipated Audiobooks - Fall 2019

These fall audiobooks are the ones that everyone is talking about, and when you pre-order with Libro.fm, you’ll wake up to find them in your audio-library on the release date.

Playlist Tags: topic: best of 2019 season: fall

View all playlists

Frankly in Love

By David Yoon
Narrated by: Raymond J. Lee
Length: 10 hours 10 minutes

Frankly in Love

“This book really hit it out of the park for me; as an Asian-American I could really relate to the main character in a lot of ways. An example of this, is Frank's wanting to please his parents, but yet also be his own person was something that I think most people, myself included can identify with. There are definitely plot twists that keep you on your toes. It was humorous, enjoyable, and well written. I would definitely re-read this one again! I think I would even like a physical copy!”

The Bluestocking Bookshop image Cassie, The Bluestocking Bookshop
Audiobook details

American Royals

American Royals: Book #1

By Katharine McGee
Narrated by: Brittany Pressley
Length: 13 hours 51 minutes

New York Times Bestseller

What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!


Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown.
Two girls vying for the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Darkdawn

Book Three of the Nevernight Chronicle
The Nevernight Chronicle: Book #3

By Jay Kristoff
Narrated by: Holter Graham
Length: 21 hours 34 minutes

The epic conclusion to the internationally bestselling Nevernight Chronicle series from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff.

The greatest games in Godsgrave’s history have ended with the most audacious murders in the history of the Itreyan Republic.

Mia Corvere, gladiatii, escaped slave and infamous assassin, is on the run. Pursued by...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Collage of covers
Thanks for giving with Libro.fm Thanks for giving with Libro.fm

When you spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore from November 24th through November 30th, you can get one of these bestselling audiobooks for free from Libro.fm.

Learn more

Wayward Son

Simon Snow Trilogy: Book #2

By Rainbow Rowell
Narrated by: Euan Morton
Length: 8 hours 57 minutes

**One of AudioFile Magazine's Best Audiobooks of 2019**

"[Euan] Morton brings distinct voices and emotions to every character...Listeners will be hard-pressed to believe they aren't listening to a full-cast production." — AudioFile, Earphones Award Winner


THE HOTLY ANTICIPATED SEQUEL
TO THE NO. 1 BESTSELLER CARRY ON

Simon Snow is back and he's...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Find Me

Shatter Me Novella

By Tahereh Mafi
Narrated by: Vikas Adam
Length: 3 hours 59 minutes

Calling all fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series! This gorgeous paperback bind-up includes Shadow Me and Reveal Me, the third and fourth novellas in the series, both in print for the first time ever.

In Shadow Me, Juliette is still reeling from Warner's betrayal, and Kenji is trying to balance his friendship with...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Giver of Stars

A Novel

By Jojo Moyes
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 13 hours 52 minutes

The Giver of Stars

“In the late 1930s, the Works Progress Administration developed a number of projects intended to provide employment opportunities for unemployed artists, writers, and craftsmen. One of those projects was the Pack Horse Library Initiative, in which mounted horsewomen picked their way along snowy hillsides and through muddy creeks with a simple goal: to deliver reading material to Kentucky’s isolated mountain communities. In The Giver of Stars, Moyes has brought to life the amazing, funny, adventurous stories of a few of these trailblazing women. Historical fiction lovers will devour this story of a little-known piece of U.S. history.”

The Country Bookshop image Angie Tally, The Country Bookshop
Audiobook details

The World That We Knew

A Novel

By Alice Hoffman
Narrated by: Judith Light
Length: 10 hours 8 minutes

The World That We Knew

“A devastating WWII story with a silvery ribbon of magical realism woven in, this could be the love child of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale. Although filled with unimaginable loss and destruction fueled by hatred that we still struggle to comprehend, it provides a much needed contrast showing how redemption is found through tenacity, bravery, hope, and love. After Lea, Ettie, and Ava escape Berlin, we follow the orbits of multiple lives as their paths parallel and intersect at different moments in German occupied France.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

Look Both Ways

A Tale Told in Ten Blocks

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by: Heather Alicia Simms, Chris Chalk, Bahni Turpin, Kevin R. Free, JD Jackson, Guy Lockard, January LaVoy, Jason Reynolds, Adenrele Ojo & David Sadzin
Length: 3 hours 58 minutes

Look Both Ways

“Each chapter is a different voice in the audiobook, with the final chapter read by Jason Reynolds himself (which is perfect, because it is the most poetic, as well). I adored this book, and my students are loving it, too! The little clues throughout about the bus, and the way the characters subtly interact without realizing it is masterful. ”

Lark & Owl image Kim, Lark & Owl
Audiobook details

Family Upstairs

A Novel

By Lisa Jewell
Narrated by: Tamaryn Payne, Bea Holland & Dominic Thorburn
Length: 9 hours 36 minutes

Family Upstairs

“This intriguing story combines classic mystery elements with touches of domestic suspense and all around creepiness. The audiobook uses three different narrators, which provides for a further immersive experience. The three different perspectives are intertwined in a unique way allowing us to watch as three different lives hurtle toward their intersection. Libby and Lucy’s experience in the present are shared through third person narration while Henry’s first person narrating provides his account of the past with an occasional interjection of his perspective of the events unfolding in the present. With a string of bread crumbs along the way, the climax is somewhat inevitable, but some assumptions you will probably make along the way are smashed as the final unexpected twists are revealed.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

Talking to Strangers

What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know

By Malcolm Gladwell
Narrated by: Malcolm Gladwell
Length: 8 hours 42 minutes

Talking to Strangers

“In TALKING TO STRANGERS, Gladwell examines how communication is the key to basically everything. With historical as well as current case studies, this book makes you examine your prejudices and preconceived notions. This is not your typical audiobook. Gladwell uses original clips from news stories, segments from other audio books, and he even has a theme song for this book. This listens like a tightly orchestrated podcast and it is a fabulous way to consume this book. Highly recommend.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

Akin

By Emma Donoghue
Narrated by: Jason Culp
Length: 11 hours 30 minutes

This "soul stirring" novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Room (O Magazine) is one of the New York Post's best books of the year.
Noah Selvaggio is a retired chemistry professor and widower living on the Upper West Side, but born in the South of France. He is days away from his first visit back to Nice since he was a child, bringing... Read more »

Audiobook details

Imaginary Friend

By Stephen Chbosky
Narrated by: Christine Lakin
Length: 24 hours 31 minutes

Imaginary Friend

Imaginary Friend has, in my humble opinion, already earned its spot on the top shelf of classic horror novels. Reminiscent of Stephen King’s It and Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, it is one of the most compulsively terrifying, eerily uncanny novels of our time. Once you pick up this book, you won’t put it down until you’ve devoured it whole (or, should I say, it has devoured you), and once finished, you will feel the dangerous urge to turn to the first page and start all over again. It is an utterly original masterpiece of fear. Thank you, Stephen Chbosky, for the lost sleep and the goosebumps! Signed, a hard-to-scare horror fanatic.”

The River's End Bookstore image Tianna Moxley, The River's End Bookstore
Audiobook details

Little Weirds

By Jenny Slate
Narrated by: Jenny Slate
Length: 4 hours 19 minutes

Little Weirds

Little Weirds, a collection of essays by actress and comedian Jenny Slate, is pure magic—a joyous, thoughtful, and deeply gorgeous peek into the soul of an extremely bright and unique individual. Jenny’s mastery of the English language, the way she arranges words to tell a story, the vulnerability with which she does it, and the purity of her heart is so astounding at times that reading a paragraph once or twice is simply not enough. Little Weirds cuts deeply into what it means to be a woman here on this earth. It is about friendship and growth and learning to love ourselves in all of our tender and wild strangeness.”

BookTowne image Jenna Schenk, BookTowne
Audiobook details

The Witches Are Coming

By Lindy West
Narrated by: Lindy West
Length: 6 hours 27 minutes

The Witches Are Coming

“The Witches Are Coming is a timely and engaging collection of essays (read by the author Lindy West in the audiobook version, which I highly recommend). With a great balance of rage, humor, optimism, and urgency, West addresses the state of American culture and how we can move forward, specifically with regard to how women are framed in the narrative that has been written throughout the past hundred years. But she also talks about race, climate change, getting her book Shrill made into a TV show, Adam Sandler, and a number of other topics. West's book is a rally cry for witches; it will make you feel like picking up a broom and flying off to a coven meeting.”

One More Page image Lelia, One More Page
Audiobook details
  • 2
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more