Skip navigation
Skip content
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more
11 Fantastic Audiobooks You Might Have Missed

11 Fantastic Audiobooks You Might Have Missed

Arianna Rebolini shares the can't-miss audiobooks that might've flown under your radar in 2021. Read more on the Libro.fm blog!

Playlist Tags: topic: non-fiction topic: fiction under the radar independent publishers indie publishers

View all playlists

Brood

A Novel

By Jackie Polzin
Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
Length: 4 hours 50 minutes

Brood

“Over the course of a year, told in a collection of snapshots, Brood shows the life of a woman grieving by doing anything but. She gives herself purpose by taking care of a small flock of chickens, as well as finding small but kind, funny, or wry ways of interacting with her neighbors, eccentric mother-in-law, and caring husband, Percy. There are plenty of clever and funny moments from scene to scene (not to mention the odd and interesting analyses of a chicken’s life and point of view), but the beauty in this book lies in the narrator’s acceptance of the everyday, and of all the things — bad, good, but mostly in-between — that come therein.”

Oxford Exchange image Cat Chapman, Oxford Exchange
Audiobook details

The Body Scout

A Novel

By Lincoln Michel
Narrated by: Greg Chun
Length: 9 hours 48 minutes

Diamond-sharp and savagely wry, The Body Scout is a timely science fiction thriller debut set in an all-too-possible future, perfect for readers of William Gibson. In the future you can have any body you want—as long as you can afford it.
 
But in a New York ravaged by climate change and repeat pandemics, Kobo is barely scraping by. He scouts the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hot Stew

By Fiona Mozley
Narrated by: Nneka Okoye
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

Hot Stew

“A young millionaire wants to turn an old Soho brothel into luxury condos, but the tenants aren’t going to leave without a fight. A riveting tale about wealth, class, gentrification, power, and gender, this story shows readers just how unjust the world can be. A 2021 must-read!”

Flyleaf Books image Jennie Minor, Flyleaf Books
Audiobook details
Collage of covers
Thanks for giving with Libro.fm Thanks for giving with Libro.fm

When you spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore from November 24th through November 30th, you can get one of these bestselling audiobooks for free from Libro.fm.

Learn more

The Kissing Bug

A True Story of a Family, an Insect, and a Nation’s Neglect of a Deadly Disease

By Daisy Hernández
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 6 hours 55 minutes

Who does the United States take care of and who does it leave behind? This is a riveting investigation of infectious disease, poverty, racism, and for-profit health care—and the harm caused by decades of silence.

Growing up in a New Jersey factory town in the 1980s, Daisy Hernández believed that her aunt had become deathly ill from eating an...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Gone Missing in Harlem

A Novel

By Karla FC Holloway
Narrated by: Kelechi Ezie
Length: 9 hours 30 minutes

The Mosby family, like other thousands, migrate from the loblolly-scented Carolinas north to the Harlem of their aspirations—with its promise of freedom and opportunities, sunlit boulevards, and elegant societies.

The family arrives as Harlem staggers under the flu pandemic that follows the First World War. DeLilah Mosby and her daughter,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Strange Beasts of China

By Yan Ge
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 7 hours 56 minutes

Strange Beasts of China

“A prodigious cryptozoologist turned romance writer begins a series of stories about the beasts of the fictional Chinese city of Yong’an, where she lives. As she uncovers the origins and lifestyles of each type of beast, telling their stories, she also searches for clarity within her own relationships—with her late mother, with her temperamental professor and his young assistant, and with herself. It seems that the more she discovers, the less she truly knows. Dive into this mysterious and wholly original world and see for yourself what’s real and what isn’t.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Shelf Life

Chronicles of a Cairo Bookseller

By Nadia Wassef
Narrated by: Vaneh Assadourian
Length: 7 hours 3 minutes

Frank, fresh, and very funny, this memoir tells all the troubles and triumphs of founding and managing Diwan, a Cairo-based independent bookstore. Read more »

Audiobook details

Lemon

By Yeo-sun Kwon & Kwon Yeo-Sun
Narrated by: Greg Chun, Greta Jung & Jaine Ye
Length: 3 hours 15 minutes

PARASITE MEETS THE GOOD SON IN THIS PIERCING PSYCHOLOGICAL PORTRAIT OF THREE WOMEN HAUNTED BY A BRUTAL, UNSOLVED CRIME. In the summer of 2002, when Korea is abuzz over hosting the FIFA World Cup, eighteen-year-old Kim Hae-on is killed in what becomes known as the High School Beauty Murder. Two suspects quickly emerge: rich kid Shin Jeongjun,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Happy Hour

By Marlowe Granados
Narrated by: Bronwyn Szabo
Length: 8 hours 6 minutes

“A wild ride with a brilliantly cocky young protagonist who’s got the world wrapped around her finger. So propulsive you'll feel like you've been hypnotized.” — Zoe Whittall, author of The Best Kind of People

Happy Hour feels like a breathless whisper at six in the morning when it’s too hot to sleep. Marlowe Granados is a fresh, exciting...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Surviving the White Gaze

A Memoir

By Rebecca Carroll
Narrated by: Rebecca Carroll
Length: 7 hours 28 minutes

A stirring and powerful memoir from black cultural critic Rebecca Carroll recounting her painful struggle to overcome a completely white childhood in order to forge her identity as a black woman in America.

Rebecca Carroll grew up the only black person in her rural New Hampshire town. Adopted at birth by artistic parents who believed in peace,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Somebody Loves You

By Mona Arshi
Narrated by: Mona Arshi
Length: 4 hours 3 minutes

A teacher asked me a question, and I opened my mouth as a sort of formality but closed it softly, knowing with perfect certainty that nothing would ever come out again. Ruby gives up talking at a young age. Her mother isn’t always there to notice; she comes and goes and goes and comes, until, one day, she doesn’t. Silence becomes Ruby’s refuge,... Read more »

Audiobook details
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more