Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller
Fantastic Listens for Kids and Families

Fantastic Listens for Kids and Families

Whether your child is listening independently or you're on a family road trip, here are some great audiobooks for everyone to enjoy!

Playlist Tags: Blue Willow Bookshop genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade bookstore-created audience: tweens audience: families

View all playlists

The Usual Suspects

By Maurice Broaddus
Narrated by: Michael Rishawn
Length: 4 hours 31 minutes

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus.

Thelonius Mitchell is tired of being labeled. He’s in special ed, separated from the “normal” kids at school who don’t have any “issues.” That’s enough to make all the teachers and students look at him and his...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Before the Ever After

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: Guy Lockard
Length: 2 hours 14 minutes

Before the Ever After

“Powerful story written in verse form which explores the damaging effect of football-related brain injuries on not only the players, but their families and communities. Paints an honest and difficult picture of grappling with loss and change, while also providing hope and a model of resiliency.”

Leaves Book and Tea Shop image Tina, Leaves Book and Tea Shop
Audiobook details

The One and Only Bob

By Katherine Applegate
Narrated by: Danny DeVito
Length: 3 hours 49 minutes

The One and Only Bob

“"In The One and Only Bob," Katherine Applegate's sequel to her Newberry Award winning "The One and Only Ivan", our scruffy little dog finally gets a chance to make up for when he didn't track down and save his sister, the only other puppy to survive his litter being tossed out of a car. During a tornado, his friends are threatened, he confronts grief and guilt, and he discovers a sense of belonging. In tiny chapters, Applegate allows kids to process some pretty big ideas in a wonderful story full of humor and grace. I adored it and the audiobook, narrated by Danny DeVito, is utterly charming.”

An Unlikely Story image William, An Unlikely Story
Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

The List of Things That Will Not Change

By Rebecca Stead
Narrated by: Rachel L. Jacobs
Length: 4 hours 56 minutes

The List of Things That Will Not Change

“Rebecca Stead has written yet another layered novel about familial love in its myriad of forms. When her parents divorce, Bea is given a journal to write down things that will remain constant in her life. When her dad announces that he is marrying his boyfriend Jesse, Bea is excited to gain a sister. With the help of her notebook and her kind therapist, Bea is ahor.ble to work through her feelings (mostly her anger management ones). It's a quiet book that will resonate with Stead’s fans and hopefully garner new ones.”

Blue Willow Bookshop image Valerie, Blue Willow Bookshop
Audiobook details

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 3 hours 56 minutes

Clean Getaway

“A fast-paced read that has as many funny twists and turns as G-ma's driving! Part historical fiction, part road adventure, Nic Stone's first middle grade novel is perfect for a read aloud!”

Brain Lair Books image Jessica, Brain Lair Books
Audiobook details

My Jasper June

By Laurel Snyder
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 8 hours 27 minutes

My Jasper June

“Laurel Snyder's latest middle grade novel is a pitch-perfect story of a girl dealing with loss, navigating friendship, and (re)learning to speak up for what she believes in. While it's not magical realism, suggestions of magic sparkle at the edges of the story--this theme parallels Leah's own coming of age in a world where she wants to believe in the fantastic but isn't so sure it still exists for her.”

Avid Bookshop image Janet, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

New Kid

By Jerry Craft
Narrated by: Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey & Ron Butler
Length: 1 hours 58 minutes

2020 Audie Awards® Finalist—Middle Grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Heart and Mind of Frances Pauley

By April Stevens
Narrated by: Kathleen McInerney
Length: 4 hours 28 minutes

Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm's The Fourteenth Goldfish and Holly Goldberg Sloan's Counting by 7s, and called "nothing short of magical" by The New York Times, this heartfelt, deeply moving middle-grade debut features an offbeat girl who learns that she can remain true to herself while also letting others in.

Eleven-year-old Frances is an... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Jigsaw Jungle

By Kristin Levine
Narrated by: Erin Cahill
Length: 5 hours 26 minutes

A mysterious treasure hunt helps to heal a broken family in critically acclaimed author Kristin Levine’s first contemporary tale—perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Jennifer L. Holm
 
Claudia Dalton’s father has disappeared. What began as a late night at work has spiraled into a missing persons case—one that’s left twelve-year-old Claudia... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Penderwicks at Last

The Penderwicks: Book #5

By Jeanne Birdsall
Narrated by: Susan Denaker
Length: 8 hours 6 minutes

The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks at Last is the final, flawless installment in the modern classic series from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall!

Nine years, five older siblings, a few beloved dogs, and an endless array of adventures--these are the things that have shaped... Read more »

Audiobook details

Lu

Track: Book #4

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by: Guy Lockard
Length: 4 hours 50 minutes

“Pure gold.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“The perfect anchor leg for a well-run literary relay.” —Kirkus Reviews

SELECTED AS ONE OF THE YOUNG ADULT LIBRARY SERVICES ASSOCIATION’S 2019 TOP TEN AMAZING AUDIOBOOKS FOR YOUNG ADULTS!

Lu must learn to leave his ego on the sidelines if he wants to finally connect with others in the climax... Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference