Skip navigation
Skip content
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more
Filipino American Authors

Filipino American Authors

In honor of Filipino American History Month, here are audiobooks from Filipino authors to listen to!

Playlist Tags: topic: filipino american history month

View all playlists

Insurrecto

By Gina Apostol
Narrated by: Justine Eyre
Length: 6 hours 58 minutes

Two women, a Filipino translator and an American filmmaker, go on a road trip in Duterte's Philippines, collaborating and clashing in the writing of a film script about a massacre during the Philippine-American War. Chiara is working on a film about an incident in Balangiga, Samar, in 1901, when Filipino revolutionaries attacked an American... Read more »

Audiobook details

In the Country

Stories

By Mia Alvar
Narrated by: Nancy Wu & Don Castro
Length: 13 hours 35 minutes

These nine globe-trotting, unforgettable stories from Mia Alvar, a remarkable new literary talent, vividly give voice to the women and men of the Filipino diaspora. Here are exiles, emigrants, and wanderers uprooting their families from the Philippines to begin new lives in the Middle East, the United States, and elsewhere-and sometimes turning... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Son of Good Fortune

A Novel

By Lysley Tenorio
Narrated by: Reuben Uy
Length: 8 hours 29 minutes

A Recommended Book From:
Refinery 29 * The Minneapolis Star-Tribune * Publishers Weekly * Baltimore Outloud * Omnivoracious

From award-winning author Lysley Tenorio, comes a big hearted debut novel following an undocumented Filipino son as he navigates his relationship with his mother, an uncertain future, and the place he calls home

Excel spends...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Collage of covers
Thanks for giving with Libro.fm Thanks for giving with Libro.fm

When you spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore from November 24th through November 30th, you can get one of these bestselling audiobooks for free from Libro.fm.

Learn more

Dear America

Notes of an Undocumented Citizen

By Jose Antonio Vargas
Narrated by: Jose Antonio Vargas
Length: 5 hours 44 minutes

Dear America

“Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Jose Antonio Vargas didn’t know he was an undocumented immigrant until he went to get his driver’s license at the age of 16. Vargas’s story is sadly not unusual, which is part of why it’s so important. His writing is emotional, powerful, and full of purpose. More memoir than political statement, Dear America is a truly eye-opening look at the realities of immigration in America.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Jade, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details

America Is Not the Heart

A Novel

By Elaine Castillo
Narrated by: Donnabella Mortel
Length: 16 hours 24 minutes

Named one of the best books of 2018 by NPR, Real Simple, Lit Hub, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Post, Kirkus Reviews, and The New York Public Library 

"A saga rich with origin myths, national and personal . . . Castillo is part of a younger generation of American writers instilling literature with a layered sense of...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Arsenic and Adobo

A Tita Rosie's Kitchen Mystery: Book #1

By Mia P. Manansala
Narrated by: Danice Cabanela
Length: 9 hours 20 minutes

One of BuzzFeed’s Highly Anticipated Mystery Novels of 2021!

The first book in a new culinary cozy series full of sharp humor and delectable dishes—one that might just be killer....


When Lila Macapagal moves back home to recover from a horrible breakup, her life seems to be following all the typical rom-com tropes. She's tasked with saving her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fairest

A Memoir

By Meredith Talusan
Narrated by: Meredith Talusan
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

Finalist for the 2021 Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Nonfiction
 
"Talusan sails past the conventions of trans and immigrant memoirs." --The New York Times Book Review

"A ball of light hurled into the dark undertow of migration and survival." --Ocean Vuong, author of On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

A singular, beautifully written...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Body Papers

By Grace Talusan
Narrated by: Grace Talusan
Length: 6 hours 24 minutes

Born in the Philippines, young Grace Talusan moves with her family to a New England suburb in the 1970s. At school, she confronts racism as one of the few kids with a brown face. At home, the confusion is worse: her grandfather's nightly visits to her room leave her hurt and terrified, and she learns to build a protective wall of silence that... Read more »

Audiobook details

Eastman Was Here

By Alex Gilvarry
Narrated by: Bronson Pinchot
Length: 10 hours 29 minutes

“Absorbing...Eastman is a riveting...presence who demands to be loved and remembered.” —The Boston Globe

An ambitious new novel set in the literary world of 1970s New York, following a washed-up writer in an errant quest to pick up the pieces of his life. 

One of Esquire's Best books of 2017 (So Far), The Millions’ Most Anticipated Books of the...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Farm

A Novel

By Joanne Ramos
Narrated by: Fran de Leon
Length: 13 hours 53 minutes

The Farm

“The Farm was eerily haunting and a bit too real at times while being a captivating page turner. Ramos describes women from different backgrounds all with the the need or desire for a better life, all subjecting themselves to be "Hosts" for mysterious clients who would rather pay top dollar than go through with pregnancy themselves. Providing a chilling view into the possibilities of farming humans, Ramos explores the commodification of women's wombs... is this luxury resort and large paycheck worth the costs of maintaining the facade. If you liked The Handmaid's Tale, you will like this book.”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details

Patron Saints of Nothing

By Randy Ribay
Narrated by: Ramón de Ocampo
Length: 9 hours 1 minutes

A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST

"Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing." --Laurie Halse Anderson, author of SHOUT 

"A singular voice in the world of literature." --Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Groom Will Keep His Name

And Other Vows I've Made About Race, Resistance, and Romance

By Matt Ortile
Narrated by: Matt Ortile
Length: 9 hours 26 minutes

A riotous collection of "witty and captivating" essays by a gay Filipino immigrant in America who is learning that everything is about sex (Bitch Magazine) -- and sex is about power.
When Matt Ortile moved from Manila to Las Vegas, the locals couldn't pronounce his name. Harassed as a kid for his brown skin, accent, and femininity, he believed he... Read more »

Audiobook details

Once Upon a Sunset

By Tif Marcelo
Narrated by: Joy Osmanski
Length: 9 hours 7 minutes

The author of The Key to Happily Ever After—“a true gem filled with heart, laughs, and a cast of delightful characters” (Nina Bocci, USA TODAY bestselling author)—returns with a heartwarming and charming novel about a woman who travels to the Philippines to reconnect with her long-lost family…and manages to find herself along the way.

Diana... Read more »

Audiobook details

Something in Between

By Melissa de la Cruz
Narrated by: Cassie Simone
Length: 11 hours 23 minutes

Be the first to hear the thought-provoking new novel from Melissa de la Cruz, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Isle of the Lost and Return to the Isle of the Lost.

She had her whole life planned.

She knew who she was and where she was going.

Until the truth changed everything.

Jasmine de los Santos has always done what's expected... Read more »

Audiobook details

Concepcion

An Immigrant Family's Fortunes

By Albert Samaha
Narrated by: Albert Samaha
Length: 11 hours 24 minutes

“Absolutely extraordinary...A landmark in the contemporary literature of the diaspora.” —Jia Tolentino, author of Trick Mirror

“If Concepcion were only about Samaha’s mother, it would already be wholly worthwhile. But she was one of eight children in the Concepcion family, whose ancestry Samaha traces in this. . . powerful book.” –The New York...
Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

We Dream of Space

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 5 hours 55 minutes

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. A great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Blood of a Thousand Stars

By Rhoda Belleza
Narrated by: Rebecca Soler
Length: 10 hours 11 minutes

War tears the galaxy apart, power tests the limits of family, and violence gives way to freedom in this exhilarating sequel to Empress of a Thousand Skies.

Empress 
With a revolution brewing, Rhee is faced with a choice: make a deal with her enemy, Nero, or denounce him and risk losing her crown.

Fugitive 
Framed assassin Alyosha has one goal in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Trick Mirror

Reflections on Self-Delusion

By Jia Tolentino
Narrated by: Jia Tolentino
Length: 9 hours 45 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “From The New Yorker’s beloved cultural critic comes a bold, unflinching collection of essays about self-deception, examining everything from scammer culture to reality television.”—Esquire
 
Book Club Pick for Now Read This, from PBS NewsHour and The New York Times • “A whip-smart, challenging book.”—Zadie Smith • “Jia...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Holiday Switch

By Tif Marcelo
Narrated by: Leiana Bertrand
Length: 7 hours 46 minutes

Two rival coworkers with two very big secrets . . . What could possibly go wrong? Cozy up with this charming holiday romance by USA Today bestselling author Tif Marcelo. 

Lila Santos is ready for her last winter break of high school. The snow in her small town of Holly, New York, is plentiful, the mood is as cozy as a fuzzy Christmas sweater, and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Mixed Plate

Chronicles of an All-American Combo

By Jo Koy
Narrated by: Jo Koy
Length: 8 hours 18 minutes

Well guys, here it is—my story. A funny, sad, at times pathetic but also kick-ass tale of how a half-Filipino, half-white kid whose mom thought (and still thinks) his career goal was to a become clown became a success. Not an overnight success, because that would have made for a really short read, but an All-American success who could give my...

Read more »

Audiobook details
  • 1
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more