Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Flyleaf Books: YA Picks

Flyleaf's Young Adult audiobook recommendations!

Playlist Tags: Flyleaf Books genre: Young Adult bookstore-created audience: teens

View all playlists

The Project

A Novel

By Courtney Summers
Narrated by: Thérèse Plummer & Emily Shaffer
Length: 9 hours 52 minutes

"This audiobook is essential listening. Narrators Therese Plummer and Emily Shaffer shine as Lo and Bea Denham, two teenage sisters whose lives are upended when their parents are killed in a car accident." -- AudioFile Magazine

From Courtney Summers, the New York Times bestselling author of the 2019 Edgar Award Winner and breakout hit Sadie,...

Read more »
Audiobook details

You Have a Match

A Novel

By Emma Lord
Narrated by: Eva Kaminsky
Length: 8 hours 56 minutes

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A REESE'S BOOK CLUB WINTER YA PICK


A new love, a secret sister, and a summer she'll never forget.

From the beloved author of Tweet Cute comes Emma Lord's You Have a Match, a hilarious and heartfelt novel of romance, sisterhood, and friendship...

When Abby signs up for a DNA service, it’s mainly to give her...

Read more »
Audiobook details

You Should See Me in a Crown

By Leah Johnson
Narrated by: Alaska Jackson
Length: 7 hours 18 minutes

You Should See Me in a Crown

“You Should See Me in a Crown is a quintessential prom story with some twists—namely that the protagonist is a queer Black girl. Liz Lighty dreams of following in her late mother’s footsteps and attending Pennington. But she can’t go to college without financial aid, and the music scholarship she was counting on fell through. She has no other choice but to run for prom queen in the tiny Midwestern town where she’s never fit in, fighting for the cash prize like her future depends on it. Campaign sabotage eventually forces her to stand up for herself and her values, because fairytales aren’t just for white heteros. Read on for Black joy and queer romance!”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

By Roseanne A. Brown
Narrated by: Jordan Cobb & A.J. Beckles
Length: 12 hours 3 minutes

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

“A story of magic, champions, and romance, A Song of Wraiths and Ruins is a great start for the duology. Malik and Karina's paths are intertwined in a way that they can't even expect and before the fifty year comet fades from the sky, they'll come to find out how deadly that can be. I absolutely loved this story. I had the pleasure of listening to it on Libro.fm and the performance was masterful. There are two protagonists so there are two different voices. I was at the edge of my seat when I listened.”

Story on the Square image Kaitlin, Story on the Square
Audiobook details

The Black Flamingo

By Dean Atta
Narrated by: Dean Atta
Length: 3 hours 40 minutes

The Black Flamingo

“Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London who goes to college and can't find a place to fit in, until he discovers The Drag Society. This story, told in poetry, is full of stunning language and the joy of finding your place in the world.”

Blue Willow Bookshop image Ann, Blue Willow Bookshop
Audiobook details

Stay Gold

By Tobly McSmith
Narrated by: Theo Germaine & Phoebe Strole
Length: 9 hours 19 minutes

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony just wants to fly under the radar...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You

A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning

By Jason Reynolds & Ibram X. Kendi
Narrated by: Jason Reynolds
Length: 4 hours 11 minutes

Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You

“If I had to choose one book to help start young people talking about race, I would pick this one. In fact, you need to read this book. Everyone should. Not only is it extremely approachable, it is also incredibly informative and inclusive. Most of the audiobook is read by Jason Reynolds, and I could not have picked a better narrator. Though it is targeted toward young adults, this book is great for adults as well. Already upon finishing, there are several books I now want to read to further my knowledge on this subject, many of which were overwhelming to me before. ”

Rediscovered Books image Kalli, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

Nimona

By Noelle Stevenson
Narrated by: Rebecca Soler, Jonathan Davis, Marc Thompson, January LaVoy, Natalie Gold, Peter Bradbury & David Pittu
Length: 2 hours 16 minutes

Nimona

“NIMONA was my first experience enjoying the audio version of a graphic novel, and I am delighted to share that it contains delights of its own in the audio version, thanks to a full cast performance enthusiastically led by Rebecca Soler, and judicious sound effects, including a fair amount of dragon flame! Recommended for Noelle's fans, including fans of Netflix's recent relaunch of "She-Ra and the Princesses of Power."”

Creating Conversations image Maryelizabeth, Creating Conversations
Audiobook details

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 40 minutes

The Hate U Give

“This bestselling, powerful young adult novel about social justice and one teen girl's effort to fight for what is right, will leave you breathless. The narration by Bahni Turpin is hands down the best I've ever heard. This is such an important book it should be required reading for life in general. Or listening. Definitely listening.”

Tattered Cover image Kristen, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

Montague Siblings: Book #1

By Mackenzi Lee
Narrated by: Christian Coulson
Length: 10 hours 47 minutes

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

“The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee was truly a pleasure to hear! A deliciously dry sense of humor pervades this tale of English landed gentry making a tour of the Continent in the 1800s. However, this is no ordinary tour and these no ordinary lords. Unrequited love among the two male protagonists, a racial twist, parental abuse, maladies with no cures and more pervade this fast paced, adventurous novel complete with highwaymen, dukes, alchemy and pirates (sort of). Impossible to stop listening and extremely entertaining!”

Wellesley Books image Phyllis, Wellesley Books
Audiobook details

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

The Poet X

“The Poet X is written and narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo. It is a novel made up of poems by a teenager, Xiomara Batista, growing up in Harlem. Acevedo's narration is wonderful and brings the story to life. Xiomara's dad is MIA even though he lives at home; her mother is extremely religious and pushes her faith onto her daughter; her twin brother is quiet and also working through his own feelings; she starts her first relationship with a guy; and all the time Xiomara is told what she can and cannot do, gets accosted by men, has to defend herself because no one else will, is questioning God and has no one to open up to. She releases her pent of feelings in a notebook. It isn't until her new English teacher introduces her to spoken poetry that she realizes that is what she is meant to be: a poet. This is a lovely story of a young, misunderstood girl, coming of age and showing the world that she is worth it. Great for adults who enjoyed Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson and extremely relevant literature for the #metoo movement.”

M. Judson Booksellers image Kelly, M. Judson Booksellers
Audiobook details

Salt to the Sea

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris & Michael Crouch
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and... Read more »
Audiobook details

Anna and the Swallow Man

By Gavriel Savit
Narrated by: Allan Corduner
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
New York Times Bestseller
A Booklist Editors’ Choice Audio

An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award                             ...
Read more »
Audiobook details

Long Way Down

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by: Jason Reynolds
Length: 1 hours 43 minutes

Long Way Down

“One of the best parts of listening to this audiobook was getting to hear Jason Reynolds breathe further life into the heartbreaking words he wrote. I don't doubt the emotion would have been evident in the text, but as he said in the interview at the end of the audio, only he knew the right beats in order to make sure his message wasn't lost. I highly recommend listening if you get a chance. ”

Rediscovered Books image Dany, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life

By Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Narrated by: Robbie Daymond
Length: 11 hours 48 minutes

“Friendships, family, grief, joy, rage, faith, doubt, poetry, and love—this complex and sensitive book has room for every aspect of growing up!”—Margarita Engle, Newbery Honor–Winning author of The Surrender Tree 


Sal used to know his place with his adoptive gay father, their loving Mexican American family, and his best friend, Samantha. But... Read more »
Audiobook details