Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more
Bookseller

Free Audiobook Excerpts, Samplers, and Exclusive Author Events

Dive into bestselling audiobook excerpts, samplers, and a collection of exclusive author events, recorded live at independent bookstores.

Playlist Tags: mentorbox

View all playlists

Ibi Zoboi (My Life) with Rita Williams Garcia at Greenlight Bookstore

By Ibi Zoboi
Narrated by: Rita Williams Garcia
Length: 57 minutes

Rising star Ibi Zoboi (author of the young adult novels American Street and Pride) presents her middle grade fiction debut My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich , in a conversation with her mentor, iconic young people’s fiction author Rita Williams-Garcia, centered on the culture of 1980s Harlem, hip-hop, and sci-fi and black girl nerdiness.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Quarantine Session #20: Raven Leilani + Samantha Irby

By Raven Leilani
Narrated by: Samantha Irby
Length: 57 minutes

In this electrifying pre-publication event, Raven Leilani launches her highly anticipated novel Luster in conversation with fiercely brilliant comedian Samantha Irby. Leilani's novel of a young Black woman's artistic and sexual trajectory is the starting point for a passionate and hilarious conversation about (among other things) the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Boys in the Boat (43-Minute Excerpt)

Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

By Daniel James Brown
Narrated by: Edward Herrmann
Length: 43 minutes

Listen to a complimentary 43-minute excerpt from the #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Quarantine Session #11 Meredith Talusan + Alok Vaid-Menon

By Meredith Talusan
Narrated by: Alok Vaid-Menon
Length: 58 minutes

Award-winning author and journalist Meredith Talusan’s talks about her memoir Fairest — a coming of age story about a precocious boy with albinism, a “sun child” from a rural Philippine village, who would grow up to become a woman in America — with her friend (and former roommate), writer and performance artist Alok. Topics of conversation... Read more »

Audiobook details

Shoe Dog (45-Minute Excerpt)

By Phil Knight
Narrated by: Norbert Leo Butz
Length: 44 minutes

In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s most iconic, game-changing, and profitable brands. Read more »

Audiobook details

Quarantine Session #13 Zaina Arafat + Mallika Rao

By Zaina Arafat
Narrated by: Mallika Rao
Length: 59 minutes

Palestinian-American writer Zaina Arafat presents her debut novel You Exist Too Much with Mallika Rao of the Atlantic. In unfolding the novel's explorations of the longing for love, and a place to call home, they also discuss Arab stereotypes and queer stereotypes in media, the tension between generations and cultures in immigrant families. Read more »

Audiobook details

Ezra Klein (Why We're Polarized) with Ta-Nehisi Coates (Between the World and Me) at Greenlight Bookstore

By Ezra Klein & Ta-Nehisi Coates
Length: 1 hours 11 minutes

Acclaimed podcaster and political analyst Ezra Klein of Vox talks with Ta-Nehisi Coates (Between the World and Me) in front of a packed house about the evolution of America’s broken system as outlined in his book Why We’re Polarized. (Recorded at St. Joseph’s College on February 2, 2020) Read more »

Audiobook details

The Moment of Tenderness (35-minute audiobook excerpt 'The Fact of the Matter')

By Madeleine L 'Engle
Narrated by: Caitlin Davies
Length: 35 minutes

Enjoy this free short story from award-winning author Madeleine L'Engle's newest book, The Moment of Tenderness, a collection of 18 short stories, some never before published.

It was a frigid winter day when Old Mrs. Campbell stormed into the Franklins' general store, decrying the devilish nature of her daughter-in-law-a sentiment that... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

Quarantine Session #8 Nicole Dennis-Benn + Imani Perry

By Nicole Dennis-Benn
Narrated by: Nicole Dennis-Benn
Length: 1 hours 1 minutes

Patsy, in an evening that grapples with intergenerational trauma as well as embracing Black joy. The energetic and inspiring conversation delves into Black women's identity, oppression, and power; post-colonialism and racism; mental health and its stigmas; sexual identity and freedom; the intersection of language and class; literary influences Read more »;...
Audiobook details

Steve Jobs (43-Minute Excerpt)

By Walter Isaacson
Narrated by: Dylan Baker
Length: 42 minutes

From the author of the bestselling biographies of Benjamin Franklin and Albert Einstein, this is the exclusive biography of Steve Jobs. Read more »

Audiobook details

Quarantine Session #21: Akwaeke Emezi + Rivers Solomon

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Rivers Solomon
Length: 1 hours 3 minutes

Two award-winning authors return to Greenlight as Akwaeke Emezi discusses their highly anticipated new novel The Death of Vivek Oji in a lively conversation with Rivers Solomon. The two talk about the challenges of writing a book where the main character dies in the first chapter, the origins of the book in ideas of mis-gendering, the setting... Read more »

Audiobook details

Zero to Five (23-Minute Excerpt)

70 Essential Parenting Tips Based on Science (and What I’ve Learned So Far)

By Tracy Cutchlow
Narrated by: Xe Sands
Length: 23 minutes

Listen to this 23-minute excerpt of Tracy Cutchlow's international bestseller and then get the full-length audiobook of Zero to Five.

Journalist Tracy Cutchlow cuts to the chase, summarizing the best parenting research in bite-sized chunks. She knows from her own experience with motherhood: new parents are too busy and sleep-deprived. Zero... Read more »

Audiobook details

Quarantine Session #27: Mychal Denzel Smith + Brit Bennett

By Mychal Denzel Smith
Narrated by: Brit Bennett
Length: 1 hours

Set squarely in the context of an America ravaged by a pandemic and racial and political violence, Mychal Denzel Smith's discussion of his book Stakes Is High: Life After the American Dream with novelist Brit Bennett is a fierce, brilliant and unapologetic conversation, leavened with gallows humor. Mychal delineates the distinction between being... Read more »

Audiobook details


Nathan Englander (kaddish.com) with Colson Whitehead at Greenlight Bookstore

By Nathan Englander
Narrated by: Colson Whitehead
Length: 39 minutes

Two former Brooklyn neighbors (and longtime friends) of Greenlight take the stage as Pulitzer finalist Nathan Englander discusses his novel kaddish.com with Colson Whitehead, author of The Nickel Boys, in a conversation about family, faith, and the temptations of the internet. (Recorded at the Fort Greene store on March 26, 2019.) Read more »

Audiobook details

Getting Things Done (44-Minute Excerpt)

By David Allen
Narrated by: David Allen
Length: 44 minutes

David Allen reads an all-new edition of his popular self-help classic for managing work-life balance in the twenty-first century—now updated for the new challenges facing individuals and organizations in today’s rapidly changing world. Read more »

Audiobook details

Bridgett Davis (The World According to Fannie Davis) with James Hannaham at Greenlight Bookstore

By Bridgett Davis
Narrated by: James Hannaham
Length: 51 minutes

Award-winning writer and filmmaker Bridgett M. Davis offers an homage to an extraordinary parent in her memoir The World According to Fannie Davis: My Mother’s Life in the Detroit Numbers. She discusses the book (and complicated mothers) with James Hannaham, author of the novel Delicious Foods. (Recorded at the Fort Greene bookstore on February... Read more »

Audiobook details

John Waters (Mr. Know-It-All) with Rob Spillman at Greenlight Bookstore

By John Waters
Narrated by: Rob Spillman
Length: 1 hours 5 minutes

Transgressive auteur/icon John Waters serves it up raw in his memoir-cum-self-help-book Mr. Know-It-All: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder. Fellow Baltimore native Rob Spillman, author of the memoir All Tomorrow's Parties, interviews Waters in an hour full of outrageous one-liners. (Recorded at St. Joseph's College on May 22, 2019.) Read more »

Audiobook details

Blythe Roberson (How to Date Men When You Hate Men) at Greenlight Bookstore

By Blythe Roberson
Narrated by: Blythe Roberson
Length: 56 minutes

Blythe Roberson, writer, comedian, and researcher at The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, launches her debut book How to Date Men When You Hate Men . The audiobook is a humorous guide for dating in the modern age (without going insane), especially for those facing difficulties like how to daydream about a gender that is actively oppressing them.... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Miss You When I Blink (11-Minute Excerpt)

By Mary Laura Philpott
Narrated by: Mary Laura Philpott
Length: 11 minutes

Listen to this 11-minute excerpt of Mary Laura Philpott's bestseller and then get the full-length audiobook of I Miss You When I Blink.

Acclaimed essayist and bookseller Mary Laura Philpott presents a charmingly relatable and wise memoir-in-essays about what happened after she checked off all the boxes on her successful life’s to-do list and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more