Skip navigation
Skip content
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more
Bookseller Created
Great Audio for Teens

Great Audio for Teens

Catch up on some great stories with these young adult novels.

Playlist Tags: Blue Willow Bookshop genre: YA Nonfiction audience: teens bookstore-created season: summer

View all playlists

Firekeeper's Daughter

By Angeline Boulley
Narrated by: Isabella Star LaBlanc
Length: 14 hours 13 minutes

If you enjoyed There There, then you’ll love Firekeeper's Daughter.

Firekeeper's Daughter is a wonder! We so rarely hear YA through an Indigenous people's voice and this book does it so very well. Main character Daunis Lorenzo Fontaine lives a fine line between her white French Canadian mother and her Ojibwe father in a complicated family dynamic. She is smart, hockey talented, driven, and tenacious as she navigates the murder of her best friend Lily, rampant drug culture, and the journey to find herself. Angeline Boulley seamlessly incorporates the Ojbiwe language and lifeways that both inform and educate the reader in this amazing story that will stay with me long after I have moved onto other books. A MUST-read (or listen)!”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

You Should See Me in a Crown

By Leah Johnson
Narrated by: Alaska Jackson
Length: 7 hours 18 minutes

You Should See Me in a Crown

“You Should See Me in a Crown is a quintessential prom story with some twists—namely that the protagonist is a queer Black girl. Liz Lighty dreams of following in her late mother’s footsteps and attending Pennington. But she can’t go to college without financial aid, and the music scholarship she was counting on fell through. She has no other choice but to run for prom queen in the tiny Midwestern town where she’s never fit in, fighting for the cash prize like her future depends on it. Campaign sabotage eventually forces her to stand up for herself and her values, because fairytales aren’t just for white heteros. Read on for Black joy and queer romance!”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Clap When You Land

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo & Melania-Luisa Marte
Length: 5 hours 32 minutes

Clap When You Land

“This was my first Acevedo, and I'm kicking myself for not having read her sooner. Her spare language is fantastic, especially in the audio version. ”

Bards Alley image Leah, Bards Alley
Audiobook details
Collage of covers
Thanks for giving with Libro.fm Thanks for giving with Libro.fm

When you spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore from November 24th through November 30th, you can get one of these bestselling audiobooks for free from Libro.fm.

Learn more

They Went Left

By Monica Hesse
Narrated by: Caitlin Davies
Length: 9 hours 6 minutes

They Went Left

“Zofia, the main character, is haunted by memories which cloud her thinking. Great story of perseverance in horrific times.”

Leaves Book and Tea Shop image Todd, Leaves Book and Tea Shop
Audiobook details

Be Not Far from Me

By Mindy McGinnis
Narrated by: Brittany Pressley
Length: 5 hours 28 minutes

Be Not Far from Me

“You think you’re having a bad day? Ashley is alone, lost in the wilderness, without supplies or even shoes, and the infection taking hold of her badly crushed foot will likely kill her before she dies of starvation and/or exposure. This is a thrilling tale of courage and stamina that will remind readers to sign up and pay attention when that next survival training class at summer camp is offered.”

Rediscovered Books image Becky, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

The Gravity of Us

By Phil Stamper
Narrated by: Michael Crouch, Jonathan Davis, Gabra Zackman, January LaVoy, Angelo Di Loreto, Chris Andrew Ciulla, Dorothy Dillingham Blue, Cynthia Farrell, Soneela Nankani, Sullivan Jones, Bahni Turpin & Phil Stamper
Length: 8 hours 16 minutes

The Gravity of Us

“I cannot get over how thoroughly I enjoyed this book. So much so, that I accidentally took a 45 minute detour on a route I know like the back of my hand, because I was so utterly engrossed in it (It's true, ask my family who were wondering why I was so delayed). Stamper has perfectly captured the space race of the 50s & 60s and brought it into our modern social media ethos. And that just barely scratches the surface. You've got one of the sweetest romances I've ever read between Cal & Leon, a super believable bad guy (screw you, Josh), and convincing & ever-evolving family dynamics. But most striking to me was the conversation surrounding mental health (depression in particular) and how incredibly relatable Cal's need to fix things was. His mother's words "Don't aim to fix people. Fixing seems so permanent, so absolute. Like there's no room for error. Aim to make things better.” continue to stick with me long after the last page (or minute rather, since I listened on Libro.fm). I could go on, but you're better off just reading it yourself. ”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

19 Love Songs

By David Levithan
Narrated by: David Levithan, Vikas Adam, Ron Butler, Elle Cohen, Lisa Cordileone, Michael Crouch, Nick Eliopulos, Michael Goldstrom, Graham Halstead, Daniel Henning, Aaron Landon, Rebecca Lowman & Alex McKenna
Length: 8 hours 41 minutes

The New York Times bestselling author of Every Day, Someday, and Two Boys Kissing is back with a short story collection about love!

A resentful member of a high school Quiz Bowl team with an unrequited crush.

A Valentine's Day in the life of Every Day's protagonist "A."

A return to the characters of Two Boys Kissing.

19 Love Songs, from New York... Read more »

Audiobook details

Written in the Stars

By Aisha Saeed
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani & Aisha Saeed
Length: 6 hours 51 minutes

"A wonderfully complex love story unlike any you’ve read before. Saeed has given a novel that is both entertaining and important.”—Matt de la Peña, New York Times bestselling author

This heart-wrenching novel explores what it is like to be thrust into an unwanted marriage. Has Naila’s fate been written in the stars? Or can she still make her own... Read more »

Audiobook details

Suggested Reading

By Dave Connis
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 7 hours 57 minutes

Suggested Reading

“Suggested Reading by Dave Connis is a quick teen read that surprisingly tackles more serious questions that expected. While the crux of the book centers around censorship, the author digs more deeply into how books affect us, who is responsible for deciding what can shape us, and how to grapple with less-than-altruistic motivations for worthy causes.”

Leaves Book and Tea Shop image Tina, Leaves Book and Tea Shop
Audiobook details

Midnight at the Electric

By Jodi Lynn Anderson
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie, Bailey Carr & Fiona Hardingham
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

6 Starred Reviews and a New York Public Library Best Book of 2017!

New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson's epic tale—told through three unforgettable points of view—is a masterful exploration of how love, determination, and hope can change a person's fate.

2065: Adri has been handpicked to live on Mars. But weeks before launch, she...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 50 minutes

The Hate U Give

“This bestselling, powerful young adult novel about social justice and one teen girl's effort to fight for what is right, will leave you breathless. The narration by Bahni Turpin is hands down the best I've ever heard. This is such an important book it should be required reading for life in general. Or listening. Definitely listening.”

Tattered Cover image Kristen, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

Words in Deep Blue

By Cath Crowley
Narrated by: Hamish R. Johnson & Chelsea Bruland
Length: 6 hours 46 minutes

“One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I’ve read in a very long time. . . . I didn’t just read the pages, I lived in them.” —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places
 
A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Crossover

Crossover: Book #1

By Kwame Alexander
Narrated by: Corey Allen
Length: 2 hours 16 minutes

Fourteen-year-old twin basketball stars Josh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health. Review Quotes: "This novel in verse is rich in character and relationships. . . . Poet Alexander deftly reveals the power of the format to pack an emotional punch." --"Kirkus, " starred review... Read more »

Audiobook details

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

By Gabrielle Zevin
Narrated by: Caitlin Greer
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

If Naomi had picked tails, she would have won the coin toss. She wouldn’t have had to go back for the yearbook camera, and she wouldn’t have hit her head on the steps. She wouldn’t have woken up in an ambulance with amnesia. She certainly would have remembered her boyfriend, Ace. She might even have remembered why she fell in love with him in... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Giver

By Lois Lowry
Narrated by: Ron Rifkin
Length: 4 hours 47 minutes

Lois Lowry’s The Giver is the quintessential dystopian novel, followed by its remarkable companions, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.

Jonas's world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear of pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the community. When Jonas turns 12 he is singled out to receive... Read more »

Audiobook details
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more