Skip navigation
Skip content
2020 Great Group Reads

2020 Great Group Reads

October is National Reading Group Month, and to celebrate, the Women's National Book Association has picked out a great selection for book clubs. Here are some of them in audiobook form.

Playlist Tags: audience: book clubs

View all playlists

Continental Divide

A Novel

By Alex Myers
Narrated by: Scott Turner Schofield
Length: 9 hours 24 minutes

Go west, young man. Isn’t that the advice every east coast boy has considered at least once in his life?

At nineteen, almost twenty, Ron Bancroft thinks those words sound pretty good. Newly out as transgender, Ron finds himself adrift: kicked out by his family, jilted by his girlfriend, and unable to afford to return to college in the fall. So he...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Exiles

A Novel

By Christina Baker Kline
Narrated by: Caroline Lee
Length: 10 hours 43 minutes

The Exiles

“I just read The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline (the author of Orphan Train) and loved it. We meet three unforgettable characters whose shocking and disquieting paths bring them together in nineteenth-century Australia. Matheinna, an orphaned aboriginal girl, is taken to live with a wealthy couple as an experiment in civilizing natives, which does not go well. Evangeline and Hazel are criminals sent to Australia to finish their sentences, and their trip across the ocean is frightening and unforgettable. The Exiles shows us the strength and power of female friendships, and the will to survive and find a life worth living. I can’t wait for The Exiles to be published this fall so I can recommend it to readers of historical fiction. This will be a novel that people across the world will want to read, or listen to, more than once. It’s that good.”

Loganberry Books image Sarah, Loganberry Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

In Five Years

A Novel

By Rebecca Serle
Narrated by: Megan Hilty
Length: 6 hours 44 minutes

In Five Years

“Sometimes a book comes along that is exactly what you need at the moment. That's what “In Five Years” was for me last week. Partly because it’s a love story with a bit of magic. Partly because I adored the friendship between the two very different main characters: pragmatic Dannie and whimsical Dannie. This book gave me all the feels, a few laughs and maybe a few tears. It is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes meets Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin. Best paired with whitefish salad on a bagel. Seasoned Broadway veteran Megan Hilty (who also played Ivy Lynn in Smash on NBC) narrates the audiobook, and I loved her performance.”

Aesop's Fable image Tara, Aesop's Fable
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Hierarchies

A Novel

By Ros Anderson
Narrated by: Katharine Lee McEwan
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

In this stunningly original debut novel that will appeal to readers of The Power or Never Let Me Go, a synthetic woman—created solely to serve her human “Husband”—slowly comes to the realization that her Husband is far less invested in her well-being than she is in his . . . sending her on a harrowing emotional journey of self-realization as she... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Miracle Creek

A Novel

By Angie Kim
Narrated by: Jennifer Lim
Length: 14 hours 4 minutes

Miracle Creek

Miracle Creek is a courtroom drama with impeccable pacing, an original plot, and stellar writing. It’s also a remarkably empathetic book, exploring the ripple effects of causality and the urgent need to do right by each other in big and small ways, recognizing that even the best of us will fail once in a while. It is a lovely reminder that even when doing the right thing feels like swimming upstream, we never know what harm may be prevented and what good might come from our actions. Agreat read that deserves broad success.”

Hudson Booksellers image Sara Hinckley, Hudson Booksellers
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Prettiest Star

By Carter Sickels
Narrated by: Charlie Thurston & Tiffany Morgan
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

The Prettiest Star

“This beautiful, elegiac novel tells the story of the last homecoming to rural Ohio for Brian, who is dying of AIDS at the height of the 1980s epidemic. Told with empathy and heart, complemented by a pitch-perfect sense of time and place, The Prettiest Star is a deeply affecting story about what it means to understand each other and where we come from, even when our lives have taken us light years away.”

Ashley Warlick image Ashley Warlick, M. Judson Booksellers & Storytellers
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Royal Abduls

By Ramiza Shamoun Koya
Narrated by: Neil Shah & Soneela Nankani
Length: 9 hours 37 minutes

Ramiza Shamoun Koya reveals the devastating cost of anti-Muslim sentiment in The Royal Abduls, her debut novel about an Indian America family.

Evolutionary biologist Amina Abdul accepts a post-doc in Washington, DC, choosing her career studying hybrid zones over a faltering West Coast romance. Her brother and sister-in-law welcome her to the...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Wanting Life

A Novel

By Mark Rader
Narrated by: Donald Corren
Length: 9 hours 51 minutes

Father Paul, a gay priest, reflects on his life while his sister and niece grapple with the life choices they’ve made.

Set in Rome, Cape Cod, and Wisconsin over the course of the summer of 2009 and in Rome during the spring of 1970, The Wanting Life tells the intertwined story of three members of the Novak family: Father Paul, a closeted gay...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account