Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference

Halloween 2021 Reads

Looking for some audiobooks that go bump in the night? Check out these picks for the spooky season.

Playlist Tags: topic: horror mood: spooky topic: halloween season: halloween

View all playlists

Great Classic Horror Stories

By Mary Shelley, Charles Dickens, Sheridan Le Fanu, Robert Louis Stevenson, Charlotte Perkins Gilman & Bram Stoker
Narrated by: Derek Perkins, Alison Larkin & Clive Hayward
Length: 30 hours 46 minutes

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, The Signalman by Charles Dickens, Carmilla by Sheridan Le Fanu, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson, The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Dracula by Bram Stoker
Read by: Clive Hayward, Derek Perkins and Alison Larkin
Over thirty hours of great classic horror is brought to haunting new life by... Read more »

Audiobook details

Yours Cruelly, Elvira

Memoirs of the Mistress of the Dark

By Cassandra Peterson
Narrated by: Cassandra Peterson
Length: 10 hours 37 minutes

The woman behind the icon known as Elvira, Mistress of the Dark, the undisputed Queen of Halloween, reveals her full story, filled with intimate bombshells—and told by the bombshell herself. 
 
On Good Friday in 1953, at only 18 months old, 25 miles from the nearest hospital in Manhattan, Kansas, Cassandra Peterson reached for a pot on the stove... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ring Shout

By P. Djeli Clark
Narrated by: Channie Waites
Length: 5 hours 36 minutes

If you enjoyed Lovecraft Country, then you’ll love Ring Shout.

“Great for fans of Lovecraft Country, Ring Shout takes very real terrors and mixes them with demonic horrors that feed off hatred and racism in a fast paced novella you won't want to put down. ”

Rediscovered Books image Dany, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Payback's a Witch

The Witches of Thistle Grove: Book #1

By Lana Harper
Narrated by: Jeremy Carlisle Parker
Length: 10 hours 13 minutes

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina meets The L Word in this fresh, sizzling New York Times bestselling rom-com by Lana Harper.

Emmy Harlow is a witch but not a very powerful one—in part because she hasn't been home to the magical town of Thistle Grove in years. Her self-imposed exile has a lot to do with a complicated family history and a desire to... Read more »

Audiobook details

My Heart Is a Chainsaw

By Stephen Graham Jones
Narrated by: Cara Gee
Length: 12 hours 25 minutes

If you enjoyed The Final Girl Support Group, then you’ll love My Heart Is a Chainsaw.

“I love, love, love Stephen Graham Jones and this latest is no exception. An incredible homage to slasher films, this book is perfect for any horror fan. And the audio is AMAZING! Cara Gee gives voice to Jade in such a way that I honestly can't imagine anyone else reading this now. It's an absolute pleasure to listen to her read this!”

BookBar image Becky, BookBar
Audiobook details

The Girl With All the Gifts

Booktrack Edition

By M. R. Carey
Narrated by: Finty Williams
Length: 13 hours 4 minutes

In the ruins of civilization, a young girl's kindness and capacity for love will either save humanity -- or wipe it out in this USA Today bestselling thriller Joss Whedon calls "heartfelt, remorseless, and painfully human."

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius."

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be... Read more »

Audiobook details

Salem's Lot

By Stephen King
Narrated by: Ron McLarty
Length: 17 hours 34 minutes

Ben Mears has returned to Jerusalem's Lot in the hopes that living in an old mansion, long the subject of town lore, will help him cast out his own devils and provide inspiration for his new book. But when two young boys venture into the woods and only one comes out alive, Mears begins to realize that there may be something sinister at work and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Interview with the Vampire

By Anne Rice
Narrated by: Simon Vance
Length: 14 hours 24 minutes

In celebration of the 40th anniversary of its publication

The time is now.

We are in a small room with the vampire, face to face, as he speaks--as he pours out the hypnotic, shocking, moving, and erotically charged confessions of his first two hundred years as one of the living dead. . .

He speaks quietly, plainly, even gently . . . carrying us... Read more »

Audiobook details

Mexican Gothic

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

Mexican Gothic

“Although Mexican Gothic begins in an unassuming Gothic way, with a psychotic cousin and a haunted house, the book slowly turns until you are completely snatched from reality and cannot put the book down. Until the end, I couldn’t figure out which of the creepy characters were trustworthy or even which scenes were reality. The atmosphere and setting of this book were remarkably vibrant; I could picture High Place and each of its residents in full disgusting detail. While the book may begin slowly, and some readers may be tempted to put it down after the first 50 pages, this one was worth sticking it out for me and many others.

This is definitely a horror novel, and some readers may need content warnings for sexual assault, suicide, domestic abuse, incest, hallucinations, murder and gore, cannibalism, eugenics, death of a parent and other family members, miscarriages, and racism. It is difficult to provide a full review of this book without delving into spoilers, but it is certainly more than just a haunted house. Readers of fast-paced action-filled horror and readers of beautiful yet devastating prose will find something to enjoy in this story. Despite the plethora of content warnings, I would recommend this book to young adults as well as adults that enjoy horror.”

Beausoleil Books image Endya, Beausoleil Books
Audiobook details

The Stand

By Stephen King
Narrated by: Grover Gardner
Length: 47 hours 43 minutes

This is the way the world ends: with a nanosecond of computer error in a Defense Department laboratory and a million casual contacts that form the links in a chain letter of death.

And here is the bleak new world of the day after: a world stripped of its institutions and emptied of 99 percent of its people. A world in which a handful of panicky... Read more »

Audiobook details

Slewfoot

A Tale of Bewitchery

By Brom
Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik
Length: 14 hours 14 minutes

Set in Colonial New England, Slewfoot is a tale of magic and mystery, of triumph and terror as only dark fantasist Brom can tell it.

Connecticut, 1666.

An ancient spirit awakens in a dark wood. The wildfolk call him Father, slayer, protector.

The colonists call him Slewfoot, demon, devil.

To Abitha, a recently widowed outcast, alone and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

For the Wolf

The Wilderwood: Book #1

By Hannah Whitten
Narrated by: Inés del Castillo
Length: 13 hours 40 minutes

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Ride Upon Sticks

A Novel

By Quan Barry
Narrated by: Isabel Keating
Length: 14 hours 44 minutes

We Ride Upon Sticks

“This is such a fun romp! It has everything you could possibly want in a book: field hockey, witches, and ’80s bangs that have literally taken on a life of their own. Set in Salem in the 1980s, we follow a group of high school field hockey players as they struggle with their new dark powers and attempt to end their losing streak. One of the strangest, most satisfying books I have read in a long time!”

Hillary Smith image Hillary Smith, Copperfield's Books Calistoga
Audiobook details

White Smoke

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Marcella Cox
Length: 8 hours 56 minutes

The Haunting of Hill House meets Get Out in this chilling YA psychological thriller and modern take on the classic haunted house story from New York Times bestselling author Tiffany D. Jackson!

Marigold is running from ghosts. The phantoms of her old life keep haunting her, but a move with her newly blended family from their small California...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Ex Hex

A Novel

By Erin Sterling
Narrated by: Caitlin Davies
Length: 7 hours 23 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins, writing as Erin Sterling, casts a spell with a spine-tingling romance full of wishes, witches, and hexes gone wrong.


Nine years ago, Vivienne Jones nursed her broken heart like any young witch would: vodka, weepy music, bubble baths…and a curse on the horrible boyfriend. Sure, Vivi knows she...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last House on Needless Street

By Catriona Ward
Narrated by: Christopher Ragland
Length: 11 hours 49 minutes

"The buzz...is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end." —Stephen King

Catriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive listen perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” —Sarah...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Carrie

By Stephen King
Narrated by: Sissy Spacek
Length: 7 hours 23 minutes

An unpopular teenage girl whose mother is a religious fanatic is tormented and teased to the breaking point by her more popular schoolmates and uses her hidden telekinetic powers to inflict a terrifying revenge. Read more »

Audiobook details

No One Goes Alone

A Novel
A Random House Audiobook Original

By Erik Larson
Narrated by: Julian Rhind-Tutt & Erik Larson
Length: 7 hours 35 minutes

From New York Times bestselling author Erik Larson comes his first venture into fiction, an otherworldly tale of intrigue and the impossible that marshals his trademark approach to nonfiction to create something new: a ghost story thoroughly grounded in history.

Pioneering psychologist William James leads an expedition to a remote isle in search...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Shining

By Stephen King
Narrated by: Campbell Scott
Length: 15 hours 49 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Before Doctor Sleep, there was The Shining, a classic of modern American horror from the undisputed master, Stephen King.

Jack Torrance’s new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he’ll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting... Read more »

Audiobook details

World War Z: The Complete Edition - Abridged

An Oral History of the Zombie War

By Max Brooks
Narrated by: Various
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

  World War Z: The Complete Edition (Movie Tie-in Edition): An Oral History of the Zombie War is a new version of Max Brooks' episodic zombie novel. The abridged versions of the original stories are now joined with new, unabridged recordings of the episodes that were not included in the original (abridged) version of the audiobook. These...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference