Skip navigation
Skip content
Hot New Releases

Hot New Releases

The hottest new audiobooks available through your local, independent bookstore!

Playlist Tags: new releases

View all playlists

Emotional Inheritance

A Therapist, Her Patients, and the Legacy of Trauma

By Galit Atlas
Narrated by: Galit Atlas
Length: 9 hours 3 minutes

Internationally known psychoanalyst Dr. Galit Atlas draws on her patients' stories—and her own life experiences—to shed light on how inherited family trauma affects our lives; "illuminating" (Lori Gottlieb, author of Maybe You Should Talk to Someone).

The people we love and those who raised us live inside us; we experience their emotional pain,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Miss Me With That

Hot Takes, Helpful Tidbits, and a Few Hard Truths

By Rachel Lindsay
Narrated by: Rachel Lindsay
Length: 10 hours 1 minutes

A candid, witty, and inspiring collection of essays from The Bachelor’s first Black Bachelorette, exploring everything from relationships and love to politics and race
 
The Bachelor gave me an opportunity, but I created my own happy ending.”

ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—Essence, She Reads

Rachel Lindsay rose to prominence as The... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Roughest Draft

By Emily Wibberley & Austin Siegemund-Broka
Narrated by: Dan Bittner & Imani Jade Powers
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

One of...
Amazon's Best Romances of January
Popsugar's Best New Romances of 2022
Buzzfeed, GMA.com, Shondaland, and Bustle's Best of January

Oprah Daily’s Most Anticipated Romances of 2022
E! News' Books to Add To Your Reading List in January
Bookbub's Most Anticipated Romances of Winter
The Nerd Daily’s Swoonworthy 2022 Releases

They were... Read more »

Audiobook details

South to America

A Journey Below the Mason-Dixon to Understand the Soul of a Nation

By Imani Perry
Narrated by: Imani Perry
Length: 16 hours 32 minutes

“An elegant meditation on the complexities of the American South—and thus of America—by an esteemed daughter of the South and one of the great intellectuals of our time. An inspiration.”

—Isabel Wilkerson, New York Times bestselling author of The Warmth of Other Suns and Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents

An essential, surprising journey...

Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Be Perfect

The Correct Answer to Every Moral Question

By Michael Schur
Narrated by: Michael Schur, Kristen Bell, D'Arcy Carden, Ted Danson, William Jackson Harper, Manny Jacinto, Marc Evan Jackson, Jameela Jamil & Todd May
Length: 9 hours 13 minutes

How to Be Perfect

“This is the kind of book that has you taking notes and trying to find ways to recall all the concepts when you'll certainly need them in the future. Invitingly straightforward and charmingly relatable, Schur navigates big ethics questions and players. He delivers hilarious conversational sidebars about how to pronounce words that had me in stitches. A wonderful 'how to lead a moral life 101' guide, he answers questions with insightful humor, wit and delightful engagement that prompts judgment-free introspection. For anyone interested in philosophy and contemplating how they fit in the world while connecting to other folks.”

The Snail on the Wall image Keithe, The Snail on the Wall
Audiobook details

Light Years from Home

By Mike Chen
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 11 hours 42 minutes

A Best Of pick and Most Anticipated Sci Fi and Fantasy novel, as selected by Goodreads • Buzzfeed • BookRiot • The Portalist • IO9 • BookBub • SheReads • BiblioLifestyle • Den of Geek • GeekDad

“A rich backstory… a highly satisfying ending… All the stars for Chen's warmhearted space-travel story.” –Kirkus, starred review

Every family has issues.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Finding Normal

Sex, Love, and Taboo in Our Hyperconnected World

By Alexa Tsoulis-Reay
Narrated by: Kate Handford
Length: 9 hours 54 minutes

Alexa Tsoulis-Reay's Finding Normal is an author's up close tour of people who are using the Internet to challenge the boundaries of what's taboo and what it means to be normal.

Finding Normal explores how people are using the internet to find community, forge connections, and create identity in ways that challenge a variety of sexual norms....

Read more »

Audiobook details

Notes on an Execution

A Novel

By Danya Kukafka
Narrated by: Mozhan Marno & Jim Meskimen
Length: 9 hours 42 minutes

Notes on an Execution

“If this book is trying to show the senselessness of violence against women and critique the ways that society is fascinated by serial killers, it succeeds....The two narrators Mozhan Marno and Jim Meskimen were both excellent. I often avoid literature via audiobook and veer more towards romance for ease of listening. But the writing was so strikingly good and the narrators so excellent that I was really drawn into the audio. All in all, I highly recommend this complex, heavy, and fascinating study of the paths our lives take and the unexpected ways that they veer and intersect.”

Pocket Books Shop image Julie, Pocket Books Shop
Audiobook details

Devil House

A Novel

By John Darnielle
Narrated by: John Darnielle
Length: 11 hours 17 minutes

Devil House

“Playing with form, voice, and the reader's expectations of how a novel should operate; Devil House is a thrilling, bracing, and unmissable reading experience. Darnielle's latest novel begins straightforward enough - a true crime writer moves into a house where brutal murders took place to research his next project. With each passing chapter, the story morphs and expands; masterfully carried along by Darnielle's incredible writing and nuanced characters. Come for the satanic murder but stay for the fascinating exploration of what it means to the truth about the past.”

Bookmarks image Caleb, Bookmarks
Audiobook details

A Killer Sundae

Ice Cream Parlor Mystery: Book #3

By Abby Collette
Narrated by: Diana Blue
Length: 9 hours 15 minutes

Ice cream shop owner Bronwyn Crewse is in for two scoops of murder in this charming mystery from Abby Collette.

Chagrin Falls, Ohio, is gorgeous in the fall, and Bronwyn Crewse, owner of Crewse Creamery, knows just how to welcome the new season. At the annual Harvest Time Festival, residents will get a chance to enjoy hot-air balloons and... Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Win the Bachelor

The Secret to Finding Love and Fame on America's Favorite Reality Show

By Chad Kultgen & Lizzy Pace
Narrated by: Chad Kultgen & Lizzy Pace
Length: 11 hours 16 minutes

Perfect for fans of Bachelor Nation and Seinfeldia, an illuminating deep dive into the most successful reality TV franchise of all time—The Bachelor.

Since its premiere in 2002, ABC’s The Bachelor has become a staple of American television. Now, discover the fascinating history of the show, uncover the ins and outs of the phenomenon that has... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Red Palace

By June Hur
Narrated by: Michelle H. Lee
Length: 8 hours 41 minutes

June Hur, critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones and The Forest of Stolen Girls, returns with The Red Palace―a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.

To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood...

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to... Read more »

Audiobook details

Stolen Focus

Why You Can't Pay Attention--and How to Think Deeply Again

By Johann Hari
Narrated by: Johann Hari
Length: 10 hours 20 minutes

Our ability to pay attention is collapsing. From the New York Times bestselling author of Chasing the Scream and Lost Connections comes a groundbreaking examination of why this is happening—and how to get our attention back.

“The book the world needs in order to win the war on distraction.”—Adam Grant, author of Think Again

“Read this book to...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Hosea Williams

A Lifetime of Defiance and Protest

By Rolundus R. Rice
Narrated by: Arnell Powell
Length: 16 hours 46 minutes

When civil rights leader Hosea Lorenzo Williams died in 2000, U.S. Congressman John Lewis said of him, "Hosea Williams must be looked upon as one of the founding fathers of the new America. Through his actions, he helped liberate all of us." In this first comprehensive biography of Williams, Rolundus Rice demonstrates the truth in Lewis's words... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Magnolia Palace

A Novel

By Fiona Davis
Narrated by: Karissa Vacker
Length: 11 hours 9 minutes

Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue, returns with a tantalizing novel about the secrets, betrayal, and murder within one of New York City's most impressive Gilded Age mansions.

Eight months since losing her mother in the Spanish flu outbreak of 1919, twenty-one-year-old Lillian Carter's life has completely... Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

My Baby First Birthday

By Jenny Zhang
Narrated by: Jenny Zhang
Length: 2 hours 32 minutes

Radiant and tender, My Baby First Birthday is a collection that examines innocence, asking us who gets to be loved and who has to deplete themselves just to survive. It's about existence and nonexistence, about being born—without consent. Jenny Zhang writes about accepting pain, about the way we fetishize womanhood and motherhood, and reduce... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Daily Check-In

A 60-Day Journey to Finding Your Strength, Faith, and Wholeness

By Michelle Williams
Narrated by: Michelle Williams
Length: 3 hours 34 minutes

Read by the author.

In The Daily Check-In, singer and actress Michelle Williams helps you process the emotions that cause you to feel overwhelmed and gives you powerful strategies for discovering freedom and wholeness.

In her book Checking In, Michelle Williams shared the painful seasons of struggle that left her feeling like she couldn't go on....

Read more »

Audiobook details

Augusta Savage

The Shape of a Sculptor's Life

By Marilyn Nelson
Narrated by: Marilyn Nelson & Grace Angela Henry
Length: 2 hours 15 minutes

A powerful biography in poems​ about a trailblazing artist and a pillar of the Harlem Renaissance—with an afterword by the curator of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Augusta Savage was arguably the most influential American artist of the 1930s. A gifted sculptor, Savage was commissioned to create a portrait bust of W.E.B. Du... Read more »

Audiobook details

Camera Man

Buster Keaton, the Dawn of Cinema, and the Invention of the Twentieth Century

By Dana Stevens
Narrated by: Dana Stevens
Length: 12 hours 11 minutes

In this genre-defying work of cultural history, the chief film critic of Slate places comedy legend and acclaimed filmmaker Buster Keaton’s unique creative genius in the context of his time.

Born the same year as the film industry in 1895, Buster Keaton began his career as the child star of a family slapstick act reputed to be the most violent... Read more »

Audiobook details

What's Your Sign?

A Guide to Astrology for the Cosmically Curious

By Sanctuary Astrology
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 4 hours 13 minutes

You don’t have to be famous to dance with the stars—you just need a healthy dose of cosmic curiosity. Explore astrology and dive deep into your birth chart with Sanctuary, featuring insights from the interactive app that go way beyond your horoscope.
What's your sign? It’s not just a pickup line anymore, it’s a whole way of looking at the world.... Read more »

Audiobook details