Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Hot New Releases

The hottest new audiobooks available through your local, independent bookstore!

Playlist Tags: new releases

View all playlists

Concrete Rose

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that... Read more »

Audiobook details

Across the Green Grass Fields

Wayward Children: Book #6

By Seanan McGuire
Narrated by: Annamarie Carlson
Length: 4 hours 3 minutes

Across the Green Grass Fields

“If you’ve ever wondered if an adult book could be written to be accessible to not just young adult but middle grade readers, too, wonder no longer: The book of your dreams is here. Across the Green Grass Fields is a wonderful coming-of-age story that has all the mandatory trappings: bullying, parental oversight, unicorns, evil queens, and an intersex main character. It’s like Tanith Lee rewriting Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. This standalone novella is a wonderful entrance to the Hooflands, and I can’t wait to double back and read more.”

Copperfish Books image Lizy Coale, Copperfish Books
Audiobook details

Love and Rage

The Path of Liberation through Anger

By Lama Rod Owens
Narrated by: Lama Rod Owens
Length: 9 hours

In the face of systemic racism and state-sanctioned violence, how can we metabolize our anger into a force for liberation?

White supremacy in the United States has long necessitated that Black rage be suppressed, repressed, or denied, often as a means of survival, a literal matter of life and death. In Love and Rage, Lama Rod Owens, coauthor of... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Swim in a Pond in the Rain

In Which Four Russians Give a Master Class on Writing, Reading, and Life

By George Saunders
Narrated by: George Saunders, Phylicia Rashad, Nick Offerman, Glenn Close, Keith David, Rainn Wilson, BD Wong & Renée Elise Goldsberry
Length: 14 hours 43 minutes

A Swim in a Pond in the Rain

“In this literal master class on literature and writing, Saunders earnestly yet playfully dissects 19th-century Russian short stories to discover how they exude life to this very day, while highlighting methods any aspiring writer can employ. The huge bonus: reading the wondrous stories themselves, and experiencing Tolstoy’s authority, Chekhov’s humanity, and the joy and glory of Gogol.”

Northshire Bookstore image Mike Hare, Northshire Bookstore
Audiobook details

The Yellow Wife

A Novel

By Sadeqa Johnson
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 9 hours 31 minutes

“A fully immersive, intricately crafted story inspired by the pages of history. In Pheby, Sadeqa Johnson has created a woman whose struggle to survive and to protect the ones she loves will have readers turning the pages as fast as their fingers can fly. Simply enthralling.” —Lisa Wingate, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were... Read more »

Audiobook details

The House on Vesper Sands

By Paraic O'Donnell
Narrated by: Charles Armstrong
Length: 10 hours 20 minutes

The House on Vesper Sands

“Paraic O’Donnell leavens the dark foreboding of a truly sinister, otherworldly mystery with distinctively clever storytelling and a decidedly marvelous cast of characters. You are in the best of hands with Inspector Cutter and Gideon Bliss on the case, along with the intrepid and resourceful reporter Octavia Hillingdon. Beautifully done!”

Wellesley Books image Peter Sherman, Wellesley Books
Audiobook details

You'll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey

Crazy Stories about Racism

By Amber Ruffin & Lacey Lamar
Narrated by: Amber Ruffin & Lacey Lamar
Length: 5 hours 21 minutes

You'll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey

“I didn’t think it was possible to combine education and humor so effectively in a book about racism, but Ruffin and Lamar proved me wrong. This incredibly well-structured, digestible, challenging, and engaging book opened my eyes to the many ways racism can permeate every interaction in Black people’s lives. The way the sisters play off each other and how Ruffin reflects on Lamar’s experience in contrast to her own make the book especially accessible. A must-read!”

A Seat at the Table Books image Emily Autenrieth, A Seat at the Table Books
Audiobook details

Detransition, Baby

A Novel

By Torrey Peters
Narrated by: Renata Friedman
Length: 12 hours 31 minutes

“An unforgettable portrait of three women, trans and cis, who wrestle with questions of motherhood and family making . . . Detransition, Baby might destroy your book club, but in a good way.”—Andrea Lawlor, author of Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl
 
“Emotionally generous, richly textured, and deeply intelligent.”—Claire Lombardo, New York... Read more »

Audiobook details

When you shop at your local bookstore, you are directly supporting and enriching your own community with your purchases—and your tax dollars.

Join the movement and #ShopLocalBookstores.

Learn more

Aftershocks

By Nadia Owusu
Narrated by: Nadia Owusu
Length: 8 hours 32 minutes

In the tradition of The Glass Castle, a deeply felt memoir from Whiting Award–winner Nadia Owusu about the push and pull of belonging, the seismic emotional toll of family secrets, and the heart it takes to pull through.

A Most-Anticipated Selection by * The New York Times * Entertainment Weekly * O, The Oprah Magazine * New York magazine... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hades, Argentina

A Novel

By Daniel Loedel
Narrated by: Christian Barillas
Length: 10 hours 24 minutes

Hades, Argentina

“Tender and politically evocative, Hades, Argentina is a beautiful portrait of grief and reflection. Loedel has created a breathtaking debut that examines the complexities of love and the way our memories betray us. This book will stay with me for a long time.”

Deep Vellum Books image Cristina Rodriguez, Deep Vellum Books
Audiobook details

Bevelations

Lessons from a Mutha, Auntie, Bestie

By Bevy Smith
Narrated by: Bevy Smith
Length: 8 hours 24 minutes

This program is read by the author.

From the host of the fabulous and popular show Bevelations on SiriusXM’s Radio Andy channel, Bevy Smith’s irreverent and inspiring memoir about learning to live a big, authentic, and unapologetic life—and how you can, too.

Bevy Smith was living what seemed like a glamorous dream as a fashion advertising... Read more »

Audiobook details

What Could Be Saved

A Novel

By Liese O'Halloran Schwarz
Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
Length: 15 hours 35 minutes

What Could Be Saved

“Wow. What a riveting read! Part family saga, part mystery, What Could Be Saved is just extraordinary. It is a moving, powerful story of loss and regret, loyalty and redemption. Schwarz’s crisp, lyrical prose lays bare the emotional journey of each member of this unforgettable family. These beautifully drawn, tragically flawed characters will remain with me long after turning the last page.”

Page and Palette image Anderson McKean, Page and Palette
Audiobook details

Kamala's Way

An American Life

By Dan Morain
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 10 hours 2 minutes

A revelatory biography of the first Black woman to stand for Vice President, charting how the daughter of two immigrants in segregated California became one of this country’s most effective power players.

There’s very little that’s conventional about Kamala Harris, and yet her personal story also represents the best of America. She grew up the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Chlorine Sky

By Mahogany L. Browne
Narrated by: Mahogany L. Browne
Length: 2 hours 4 minutes

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

She looks me hard in my... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Children's Blizzard

A Novel

By Melanie Benjamin
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 11 hours 25 minutes

The Children's Blizzard

“Melanie Benjamin is at her best in this historical fiction account of the terrifying blizzard of 1888. It seemingly came out of nowhere and caught the residents of the Midwest by surprise, especially the children and teachers who were preparing to go home for the day. Benjamin looks at the lives of two sisters — both teachers at different schools — and how their decisions that day meant life or death for their students. I spent several late nights on this one!”

Fiction Addiction image Linda Hodges, Fiction Addiction
Audiobook details

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed

Stories

By Mariana Enriquez & Megan McDowell
Narrated by: Rebecca Soler
Length: 5 hours 47 minutes

Following the "propulsive and mesmerizing" (New York Times Book Review) Things We Lost in the Fire comes a new collection of singularly unsettling stories, by an Argentine author who has earned comparisons to Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.

Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Center of Everything

A Novel

By Jamie Harrison
Narrated by: Jane Oppenheimer
Length: 9 hours 56 minutes

The Center of Everything

“This is a story about family, about history, and about love. The characters are like you and me; their stories are intertwined just as ours are, with a past and a hoped-for future. Author Jamie Harrison wields a mighty pen with precision and care, peopling her book with a myriad of interesting characters living believable lives. Her narrative is insightful and moving, and she has that rare gift of making a fictional story sound like the real thing.”

Auntie's Bookstore image Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore
Audiobook details

Moon U.S. Civil Rights Trail

A Traveler's Guide to the People, Places, and Events that Made the Movement
Travel Guide

By Deborah D. Douglas
Narrated by: Deborah D. Douglas & Bree Newsome
Length:

The U.S. Civil Rights Trail offers a vivid glimpse into the story of Black America's fight for freedom. From witnessing eye-opening landmarks to celebrating triumph over adversity, experience a tangible piece of history with Moon U.S. Civil Rights Trail.

Flexible Itineraries: Travel the entire trail through the South, or take shorter trips wit Read more »h...
Audiobook details

The Last Garden in England

By Julia Kelly
Narrated by: Shiromi Arserio, Marisa Calin, Danielle Cohen, Katherine Littrell & Siobhan Waring
Length: 10 hours 46 minutes

From the author of the international bestseller The Light Over London and The Whispers of War comes a poignant and unforgettable tale of five women living across three different times whose lives are all connected by one very special place.

Present day: Emma Lovett, who has dedicated her career to breathing new life into long-neglected gardens,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Run to Win

Lessons in Leadership for Women Changing the World

By Stephanie Schriock, Christina Reynolds & Kamala Harris
Narrated by: Lisa Cordileone
Length: 8 hours 43 minutes

“I have long believed that women who dream big, work hard, and get back up after they get knocked down can do anything; Stephanie Schriock is one of those women. I’m so glad her thoughtful guidance is now available for women everywhere.”—Hillary Rodham Clinton
 
"Stephanie Schriock leads the leaders.”—Michelle Lujan Grisham, governor of New...
Read more »

Audiobook details