Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Hot New Releases

The hottest new audiobooks available through your local, independent bookstore!

Playlist Tags: new releases

View all playlists

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

An Oprah’s Book Club Novel

By Honoree Fanonne Jeffers
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi
Length: 29 hours 48 minutes

If you enjoyed Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist), then you’ll love The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois.

“This book really won me over with its brilliant writing and entrancing story. Honestly, I was intimidated by the length and title (especially as someone who doesn't love poetry) but the blurb was so good and it sounded right up my alley. The narrators, Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi, all have gorgeous voices and immediately draw you in. It took a bit for me to get fully invested in the story but holy cow, Jeffers weaves an IMPRESSIVE tale. It was both too long and too short; I savored every word and was sad it when it was over. There is true talent in being able to hold your attention for 816 pages, especially for a slow burn of a literary novel and this one is well worth it in the end. With rich language, multi-generational family history, borderline poetic (and yet not intimidating poetic), this book is for fans of Pachinko, Homegoing, Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, or any work of Jesmyn Ward's.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Seeing Ghosts

A Memoir

By Kat Chow
Narrated by: Kat Chow
Length: 9 hours 53 minutes

For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told through the prism of three generations of her Chinese American family.

Kat Chow has always been unusually fixated on death. She worried constantly about her parents dying---especially her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hero of Two Worlds

The Marquis de Lafayette in the Age of Revolution

By Mike Duncan
Narrated by: Mike Duncan
Length: 17 hours 19 minutes

From the bestselling author of The Storm Before the Storm and host of the Revolutions podcast comes the thrilling story of the Marquis de Lafayette’s lifelong quest to defend the principles of liberty and equality
 
Few in history can match the revolutionary career of the Marquis de Lafayette. Over fifty incredible years at the heart of the Age... Read more »

Audiobook details

In My Own Moccasins

A Memoir of Resilience

By Helen Knott
Narrated by: Helen Knott
Length: 8 hours 48 minutes

Helen Knott, a highly accomplished Indigenous woman, seems to have it all. But in her memoir, she offers a different perspective. In My Own Moccasins is an unflinching account of addiction, intergenerational trauma, and the wounds brought on by sexual violence. It is also the story of sisterhood, the power of ceremony, the love of family, and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Guide

A novel

By Peter Heller
Narrated by: Mark Deakins
Length: 6 hours 59 minutes

The Guide

“This follow-up to The River is just as pitch perfect, with each bit of suspense doled out at just the right time. You don’t need to read The River before reading The Guide, but it will definitely deepen the experience.”

The Silver Unicorn Bookstore image Paul Swydan, The Silver Unicorn Bookstore
Audiobook details

Not "A Nation of Immigrants"

Settler Colonialism, White Supremacy, and a History of Erasure and Exclusion

By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 12 hours 21 minutes

Debunks the pervasive and self-congratulatory myth that our country is proudly founded by and for immigrants, and urges readers to embrace a more complex and honest history of the United States

Whether in political debates or discussions about immigration around the kitchen table, many Americans, regardless of party affiliation, will say proudly... Read more »

Audiobook details

Feral Creatures

By Kira Jane Buxton
Narrated by: Robert Petkoff
Length: 12 hours 12 minutes

Feral Creatures

Feral Creatures is dark, hilarious, and apocalyptic. It has all the same heart, tenderness, bizarre humor, and hilarity as Hollow Kingdom. This is a follow-up not to be missed!”

Changing Hands image Michelle Malonzo, Changing Hands
Audiobook details

A Heart Divided

The Definitive Edition
Legends of the Condor Heroes: Book #4

By Jin Yong
Narrated by: Daniel York Loh
Length: 22 hours 35 minutes

A Heart Divided is the next in the high stakes, tension-filled epic Legends of the Condor Heroes series, where kung fu is magic, kingdoms vie for power and the battle to become the ultimate kung fu master unfolds.

China: 1200 A.D.

In the fourth and final volume of Legends of the Condor Heroes, Guo Jing is at last forced to make a choice between...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Bombshell

A Hell's Belles Novel

By Sarah MacLean
Narrated by: Mary Jane Wells
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Sarah MacLean returns with a blazingly sexy, unapologetically feminist new series, Hell’s Belles, beginning with a bold, bombshell of a heroine, able to dispose of a scoundrel—or seduce one—in a single night.

After years of living as London’s brightest scandal, Lady Sesily Talbot has embraced the reputation and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Lightning Strike

Cork O'Connor Mysteries: Book #18

By William Kent Krueger
Narrated by: David Chandler
Length: 11 hours 37 minutes

Lightning Strike

“In this prequel set in 1963, we meet 12-year-old Cork’s family as his father investigates a murder. Even as Cork believes he will never be a cop, we can see Cork’s inevitable future as an investigator.”

Northwind Book & Fiber image Carol Blizzard Dunn, Northwind Book & Fiber
Audiobook details

When the Summer Was Ours

A Novel

By Roxanne Veletzos
Narrated by: Imani Jade Powers & Jacques Roy
Length: 9 hours 40 minutes

“This compulsively readable tale of loss and love during and after the Second World War is a masterpiece.” —Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author

“A gorgeously written, impeccably researched historical novel, spanning decades and continents, and filled with a richly drawn cast of characters.” —Jillian Cantor, USA TODAY bestselling... Read more »

Audiobook details

Presumed Guilty

How the Supreme Court Empowered the Police and Subverted Civil Rights

By Erwin Chemerinsky
Narrated by: Perry Daniels
Length: 11 hours 45 minutes

Library Journal ● "Books and Authors to Know: Titles to Watch 2021"

Presumed Guilty reveals how the Supreme Court allows the perpetuation of racist policing by presuming that suspects, especially people of color, are guilty.

Presumed Guilty, like the bestselling The Color of Law, is a "smoking gun" of civil rights research, a troubling history... Read more »

Audiobook details

More Than I Love My Life

A novel

By David Grossman
Narrated by: Gilli Messer
Length: 10 hours 47 minutes

A remarkable novel of suffering, love, and healing—the story of three generations of women on an unlikely journey to a Croatian island and a secret that needs to be told—from the internationally best-selling author of To the End of the Land
 
“A magnificent book . . . The way Grossman writes about these regions is unique,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Noir

Mystery, Crime, and Suspense Fiction by African-American Writers

By Otto Penzler
Narrated by: Sean Crisden & Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Length: 9 hours 23 minutes

Some of the best-known and most influential pieces of crime fiction have been from African American writers. Be it Walter Mosley's great detective Easy Rawlins, or the mean streets of Harlem at the hands of Chester Himes, the stories and characters in this anthology have shaped the mystery genre with their own unique viewpoints and styles.... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Long Goodbye

A Philip Marlowe Novel: Book #6

By Raymond Chandler
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 13 hours 25 minutes

Crime fiction master Raymond Chandler's sixth novel featuring Philip Marlowe, the "quintessential urban private eye" (Los Angeles Times). 

In noir master Raymond Chandler's The Long Goodbye, Philip Marlowe befriends a down on his luck war veteran with the scars to prove it. Then he finds out that Terry Lennox has a very wealthy nymphomaniac... Read more »

Audiobook details

After the Sun

By Jonas Eika
Narrated by: Michael Crouch, Anthony Lee Medina, Chris Andrew Ciulla & Imogen Church
Length: 4 hours 21 minutes

“Relentlessly thrilling . . . an orgy of the unpredictable.” —New York Times Book Review

“Like Thomas Pynchon taking on late capitalism. . . . surrealistic, granular in its details, and concerned with social entropy and desperate attempts at communion.Wall Street Journal

From a major new international voice, mesmerizing, inventive fiction that...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Where Beauty Survived

An Africadian Memoir

By George Elliott Clarke
Narrated by: George Elliott Clarke
Length: 15 hours 53 minutes

A vibrant, revealing memoir about the cultural and familial pressures that shaped George Elliott Clarke’s early life in the Black Canadian community that he calls Africadia, centred in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

As a boy, George Elliott Clarke knew that a great deal was expected from him and his two brothers. The descendant of a highly accomplished... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Pariah

By Anthony Ryan
Narrated by: Steven Brand
Length: 19 hours 57 minutes

"A gritty, heart-pounding tale of betrayal and bloody vengeance. I loved every single word." —John Gwynne

The Pariah begins a new epic fantasy series of action, intrigue and magic from Anthony Ryan, a master storyteller who has taken the fantasy world by storm.

 Born into the troubled kingdom of Albermaine, Alwyn Scribe is raised as an outlaw.... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Second Rebel

The First Sister trilogy

By Linden A. Lewis
Narrated by: Jennifer Aquino, Neo Cihi, Farah Naz Rishi, Gary Tiedemann & Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 19 hours 45 minutes

Linden A. Lewis returns with this next installment of The First Sister Trilogy, perfect for fans of Red Rising, The Handmaid’s Tale, and The Expanse.

Astrid has reclaimed her name and her voice, and now seeks to bring down the Sisterhood from within. Throwing herself into the lioness’ den, Astrid must confront and challenge the Aunts who run the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Aftershocks

Pandemic Politics and the End of the Old International Order

By Colin Kahl & Thomas Wright
Narrated by: Robert Petkoff
Length: 16 hours 56 minutes

This program includes a bonus conversation with the authors.

Two of America's leading national security experts offer a definitive account of the global impact of COVID-19 and the political shock waves it will have on the United States and the world order in the 21st Century.


“Informed by history, reporting, and a truly global perspective,...

Read more »

Audiobook details