Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Hot Audiobook Releases for Summer

Make the most of your summer reading and travel with these anticipated audiobooks, featuring reads hand-picked by booksellers and the Libro.fm team!

Playlist Tags: season: summer

View all playlists

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

An Oprah’s Book Club Novel

By Honoree Fanonne Jeffers
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi
Length: 29 hours 48 minutes

If you enjoyed Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist), then you’ll love The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois.

“This book really won me over with its brilliant writing and entrancing story. Honestly, I was intimidated by the length and title (especially as someone who doesn't love poetry) but the blurb was so good and it sounded right up my alley. The narrators, Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi, all have gorgeous voices and immediately draw you in. It took a bit for me to get fully invested in the story but holy cow, Jeffers weaves an IMPRESSIVE tale. It was both too long and too short; I savored every word and was sad it when it was over. There is true talent in being able to hold your attention for 816 pages, especially for a slow burn of a literary novel and this one is well worth it in the end. With rich language, multi-generational family history, borderline poetic (and yet not intimidating poetic), this book is for fans of Pachinko, Homegoing, Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, or any work of Jesmyn Ward's.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Gearbreakers

Gearbreakers: Book #1

By Zoe Hana Mikuta
Narrated by: Catherine Ho & Cindy Kay
Length: 12 hours 4 minutes

Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose?and falling for each other?in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series. We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead... The shadow of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Shards of Earth

The Final Architecture: Book #1

By Adrian Tchaikovsky
Narrated by: Sophie Aldred
Length: 18 hours 43 minutes

The Arthur C. Clarke award-winning author of Children of Time brings us an extraordinary space opera about humanity on the brink of extinction, and how one man's discovery will save or destroy us all.

The war is over. Its heroes forgotten. Until one chance discovery . . .

Idris has neither aged nor slept since they remade him in the war. And one... Read more »

Audiobook details

Morningside Heights

A Novel

By Joshua Henkin
Narrated by: Kathe Mazur & Shane Baker
Length: 8 hours 57 minutes

If you enjoyed The Dutch House, then you’ll love Morningside Heights.

“Whether you want it to or not, loving someone changes you. Joshua Henkin's newest novel, Morningside Heights, is a captivating family story that examines the love between husband and wife, father and child, mother and daughter. When literature professor Spence Robin starts exhibiting signs of early-onset Alzheimer's disease, the impact on his wife, son, and daughter plays out differently for everyone. Henkin is a gifted writer whose nuanced prose is a delight to read.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

Lightning Strike

Cork O'Connor Mysteries: Book #18

By William Kent Krueger
Narrated by: David Chandler
Length: 11 hours 37 minutes

Lightning Strike

“In this prequel set in 1963, we meet 12-year-old Cork’s family as his father investigates a murder. Even as Cork believes he will never be a cop, we can see Cork’s inevitable future as an investigator.”

Northwind Book & Fiber image Carol Blizzard Dunn, Northwind Book & Fiber
Audiobook details

King of the Rising

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Sterling Sulieman
Length: 11 hours 20 minutes

King of the Rising is the searing conclusion to an unflinching and powerful Caribbean-inspired fantasy series about colonialism, resilience and defiance.
A revolution has swept through the islands of Hans Lollik and former slave Loren Jannik has been chosen to lead the survivors in a bid to free the islands forever.
But the rebels are running... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Cellist

A Novel
Gabriel Allon: Book #21

By Daniel Silva
Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini
Length: 10 hours 12 minutes

From Daniel Silva, the internationally acclaimed #1 New York Times bestselling author, comes a timely and explosive new thriller featuring art restorer and legendary spy Gabriel Allon.

Viktor Orlov had a longstanding appointment with death. Once Russia’s richest man, he now resides in splendid exile in London, where he has waged a tireless...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Better to Have Gone

Love, Death, and the Quest for Utopia in Auroville

By Akash Kapur
Narrated by: Vikas Adam
Length: 12 hours 38 minutes

* A New York Times Editors’ Choice *

A spellbinding story about love, faith, the search for utopia—and the often devastating cost of idealism.

It’s the late 1960s, and two lovers converge on an arid patch of earth in South India. John Walker is the handsome scion of a powerful East Coast American family. Diane Maes is a beautiful hippie from... Read more »

Audiobook details

Aftermath

By LeVar Burton
Narrated by: LeVar Burton
Length: 9 hours 58 minutes

The acclaimed actor’s shockingly prescient novel of speculative fiction “presents a near-future United States torn apart by civil war and deep racial strife” (Tampa Bay Times). For the first time ever, available as an audiobook read by the author.
 
America today is teetering on the edge of the alarming vision presented in LeVar Burton’s debut... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fierce Little Thing

A Novel

By Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 10 hours 12 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Miranda Beverly-Whittemore’s Fierce Little Thing is a mesmerizing story of friendship and its reckonings.

“It’s time to come Home. All five of you. Or else.”

Saskia was a damaged, lonely teenager when she arrived at the lakeside commune called Home. She was entranced by the tang of sourdough starter; the midnight...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Eat the Mouth That Feeds You

By Carribean Fragoza
Narrated by: Marisa Blake
Length: 3 hours 48 minutes

In visceral, embodied prose, Fragoza's imperfect characters are drawn with a sympathetic tenderness as they struggle against circumstances and conditions designed to defeat them. A young woman returns home from college, only to pick up exactly where she left off: a smart girl in a rundown town with no future. A mother reflects on the pain and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Island

A Thriller
A Dewey Andreas Novel: Book #9

By Ben Coes
Narrated by: Ari Fliakos
Length: 11 hours 5 minutes

CIA operative Dewey Andreas is America's last line of defense when terrorists take over Manhattan, targeting the U.N. and the President himself in The Island, the latest in this New York Times bestselling series by Ben Coes.

America is about to face the deadliest terrorist attack on it's soil since 9/11. Iran has been planning a revenge attack...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Startup Wife

A Novel

By Tahmima Anam
Narrated by: Tanha Dil
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

The Startup Wife

“The concept of an app that offers custom-made rituals got me to pick up this new novel, but the fact that the protagonist is a woman of color leading a tech start up alongside her very charismatic husband got me to read it. A great summer read.”

Just One More Page Books image Amber Taylor, Just One More Page Books
Audiobook details

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

A Novel

By Emily Austin
Narrated by: Emily Tremaine
Length: 7 hours 46 minutes

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

“Gilda never wants to disappoint anyone, which is exactly how she ends up with a job as a secretary at a Catholic church. As a gay atheist, it's problematic. Alternatively hilarious and tragic, Gilda’s story is one that stays with you.”

White Birch Books image Laura Cummings, White Birch Books
Audiobook details

The View Was Exhausting

By Mikaella Clements & Onjuli Datta
Narrated by: Tania Rodrigues
Length: 11 hours 59 minutes

“A pure delight! Effortlessly cool, razor sharp, and crazy fun—I couldn’t put it down.”—Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling authors of Daisy Jones & the Six 

"The complex, Hollywood love story we've all been waiting for—I couldn't get enough."—Emily Henry, New York Times bestselling author of Beach Read
 

Faking a love story is a... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Therapist

A Novel

By B.A. Paris
Narrated by: Olivia Dowd & Thomas Judd
Length: 10 hours 1 minutes

The Therapist

“Quick and smart–this thriller will keep you guessing until the end!”

Old Firehouse Books image Tara, Old Firehouse Books
Audiobook details

Harlem Shuffle

A Novel

By Colson Whitehead
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 10 hours 35 minutes

Harlem Shuffle

“Colson Whitehead's Harlem Shuffle is a historical fiction mystery set in 1960s Harlem. A furniture salesman playing both sides, Ray occasionally gets rid of his cousin Freddie's stolen goods. When Freddie involves him in a heist that goes south, Ray's life turns upside down. Harlem Shuffle. shows the changing landscape of Harlem with a side of gangsters, extortion, crooked cops, and the everyday struggle of a Black business owner. This book is suspenseful and funny but also examines race and power in the ways Whitehead writes so masterfully.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

Survive the Night

A Novel

By Riley Sager
Narrated by: Savannah Gilmore
Length: 9 hours 1 minutes

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

One of New York Times Book Review's "summer reads guaranteed to make your heart thump and your skin crawl"; An Amazon Best of the Month Pick; Named a must-read summer book by The Washington Post, USA Today, Vulture, BuzzFeed, Forbes, Entertainment Weekly, CNN, New York Post, Good Housekeeping, E!, PopSugar,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Afterparties

Stories

By Anthony Veasna So
Narrated by: Jason Sean
Length: 6 hours 56 minutes

Afterparties

“These stories of the members of a compact Cambodian-American community, from the refugees to the business owners to the gay teenagers, seamlessly balance humor with hardships.”

Sofia Silva Wright image Sofia Silva Wright, Phoenix Books Burlington
Audiobook details

Island Queen

A Novel

By Vanessa Riley
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 20 hours 49 minutes

Island Queen

“Both sweeping and intimate, beautiful and painful, this novel based on the life of Dorothy Kirwan Thomas is exquisite. Riley’s research is palpable in the detail of each chapter, and readers will find themselves compulsively turning the pages until the end.”

East City Bookshop image Destinee Hodge, East City Bookshop
Audiobook details