Skip navigation
Skip content
The Indie Next List

The Indie Next List

With new audiobooks added each month, the Indie Next List is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorite handsells and epitomizes the heart and soul of passionate bookselling!

Playlist Tags: new releases topic: indie next

View all playlists

Love & Saffron

A Novel of Friendship, Food, and Love

By Kim Fay
Narrated by: Kimberly Farr, Cassandra Campbell, Mark Bramhall, Maggi-Meg Reed & Kim Fay
Length: 3 hours 46 minutes

The #1 Indie Next Pick, in the vein of the classic 84, Charing Cross Road and Meet Me at the Museum, this witty and tender novel follows two women in 1960s America as they discover that food really does connect us all, and that friendship and laughter are the best medicine.

When twenty-seven-year-old Joan Bergstrom sends a fan letter--as well as... Read more »

Audiobook details

How High We Go in the Dark

A Novel

By Sequoia Nagamatsu
Narrated by: Julia Whelan, Brian Nishii, Keisuke Hoashi, MacLeod Andrews, Jeanne Sakata, Greg Watanabe, Kurt Kanazawa, Matthew Bridges, Kotaro Watanabe, Brianna Ishibashi, Joe Knezevich, Micky Shiloah, Stephanie Komure & Jason Culp
Length: 9 hours 20 minutes

How High We Go in the Dark

“Finally, a novel I will confidently recommend to fans of Station Eleven! How High We Go in the Dark follows interconnected characters through time and space as humanity returns from the brink of extinction when an ancient virus is unleashed. Mind bending and heartrending, full of hope and humanity, you'll want to start this one from the beginning as soon as you finish it. The audio definitely added to the richness of the reading experience. ”

Main Street Books Davidson image Jessica, Main Street Books Davidson
Audiobook details

The Christie Affair

A Novel

By Nina de Gramont
Narrated by: Lucy Scott
Length: 10 hours 23 minutes

Nina de Gramont's The Christie Affair is a stunning new novel that reimagines the unexplained eleven-day disappearance of Agatha Christie that captivated the world.

Every story has its secrets.
Every mystery has its motives.


“A long time ago, in another country, I nearly killed a woman. It’s a particular feeling, the urge to murder. It takes over...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Shady Hollow

A Shady Hollow Mystery: Book #1

By Juneau Black
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 6 hours 16 minutes

The first book in the Shady Hollow series, in which we are introduced to the village of Shady Hollow, a place where woodland creatures live together in harmony—until a curmudgeonly toad turns up dead and the local reporter has to solve the case.

Reporter Vera Vixen is a relative newcomer to Shady Hollow. The fox has a nose for news, so when she... Read more »

Audiobook details

Electric Idol

Dark Olympus: Book #2

By Katee Robert
Narrated by: Alex Moorcock & Zara Hampton-Brown
Length: 10 hours 53 minutes

Electric Idol

Electric Idol is Katee's modern take on Eros and Psyche and my first ever retelling of these two. I've read my fair share of Hades retellings, but never one of Eros, aka- Greek god of love and sex. You will know him from his Roman counterpart: Cupid (desire). I liked drawing cupids as a teen, so I knew of Cupid and Eros, but I knew close to nothing about Psyche. After finishing the book (because I didn't want to be influenced by the Greek mythology stories) I went and read about her. Goddess of the soul! It works perfectly. Katee's Psyche is a plus size influencer with a heart of gold that you can't help but love. Definitely a modern day Psyche personified!”

Inklings Bookshop image Anne, Inklings Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Violin Conspiracy

By Brendan Slocumb
Narrated by: JD Jackson & Brendan Slocumb
Length: TBA

A riveting page-turner about a Black classical musician’s desperate quest to recover his lost violin on the eve of the most prestigious musical competition in the world

“[A] galvanizing blend of thriller, coming-of-age drama, and probing portrait of racism ... This flawless debut will do for classical music what The Queen's Gambit did for...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Joan Is Okay

A Novel

By Weike Wang
Narrated by: Catherine Ho
Length: 6 hours 36 minutes

A witty, moving, piercingly insightful new novel about a marvelously complicated woman who can’t be anyone but herself, from the award-winning author of Chemistry

“A deeply felt portrait . . . With gimlet-eyed observation laced with darkly biting wit, Weike Wang masterfully probes the existential uncertainty of being other in America.”—Celeste... Read more »

Audiobook details

Vladimir

A Novel

By Julia May Jonas
Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
Length: 9 hours 40 minutes

A provocative, razor-sharp, and timely debut novel about a beloved English professor facing a slew of accusations against her professor husband by former students—a situation that becomes more complicated when she herself develops an obsession of her own...

“When I was a child, I loved old men, and I could tell that they also loved me.”

And so we... Read more »

Audiobook details

Notes on an Execution

A Novel

By Danya Kukafka
Narrated by: Mozhan Marno & Jim Meskimen
Length: 9 hours 42 minutes

Notes on an Execution

Notes on an Execution is a very compelling look at the psyche of a killer. The story is told both thru his eyes and thru the eyes of three woman in his life. I did not expect to like this book at all. From the beginning you know that the main character is a killer and as such should be totally repelling and unlikeable. But the articulate telling of the story and the philosophical questions posed made this a very unusual and riveting book to listen to. The narration was perfect!. I can just imagine the hours of discussion that it will elicit from book clubs.”

Fiction Addiction image Nancy, Fiction Addiction
Audiobook details

Greenwich Park

By Katherine Faulkner
Narrated by: Laura Kirman
Length: 10 hours 13 minutes

“Gripping and haunting and gorgeously suspenseful. I couldn’t put this thriller down and can’t recommend it highly enough.” —Zakiya Dalila Harris, author of The Other Black Girl

A twisty, whip-smart debut thriller, as electrifying as the #1 New York Times bestseller The Girl on the Train, about impending motherhood, unreliable friendship, and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Daughter of the Moon Goddess

A Novel
Celestial Kingdom: Book #1

By Sue Lynn Tan
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 15 hours

A captivating debut fantasy inspired by the legend of the Chinese moon goddess, Chang’e , in which a young woman’s quest to free her mother pits her against the most powerful immortal in the realm and sets her on a dangerous path—where choices come with deadly consequences, and she risks losing more than her heart.

Growing up on the moon, Xingyin...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Devil House

A Novel

By John Darnielle
Narrated by: John Darnielle
Length: 11 hours 17 minutes

Devil House

“Playing with form, voice, and the reader's expectations of how a novel should operate; Devil House is a thrilling, bracing, and unmissable reading experience. Darnielle's latest novel begins straightforward enough - a true crime writer moves into a house where brutal murders took place to research his next project. With each passing chapter, the story morphs and expands; masterfully carried along by Darnielle's incredible writing and nuanced characters. Come for the satanic murder but stay for the fascinating exploration of what it means to the truth about the past.”

Bookmarks image Caleb, Bookmarks
Audiobook details

Don't Cry for Me

A Novel

By Daniel Black
Narrated by: Daniel Black
Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

AN ESSENCE MAGAZINE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR

"Don't Cry for Me is a perfect song."—Jesmyn Ward

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker

As Jacob lies dying, he begins to... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Family Chao

By Lan Samantha Chang
Narrated by: Brian Nishii
Length: 10 hours 57 minutes

The residents of Haven, Wisconsin, have dined on the Fine Chao restaurant’s delicious Americanized Chinese food for thirty-five years, content to ignore any unsavory whispers about the family owners. Whether or not Big Leo Chao is honest, or his wife, Winnie, is happy, their food tastes good and their three sons earned scholarships to... Read more »

Audiobook details

Violeta [English Edition]

A Novel

By Isabel Allende
Narrated by: Yareli Arizmendi
Length: 11 hours 59 minutes

If you enjoyed The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, then you’ll love Violeta [English Edition].

“Before you gas up for your next solo road trip, load up Violeta. With the conversational tone and linear plot line you’ll feel like you’ve got a buddy in the passenger seat who really knows how to tell a story!”

The Country Bookshop image Angie, The Country Bookshop
Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

In the Shadow of the Mountain

A Memoir of Courage

By Silvia Vasquez-Lavado
Narrated by: Silvia Vasquez-Lavado
Length: 15 hours 32 minutes

“In climbing the Seven Summits, Silvia Vasquez-Lavado did nothing less than take back her own life—one brave step at a time. She will inspire untold numbers of souls with this story, for her victory is a win on behalf of all of us.”—Elizabeth Gilbert

This audiobook is read by the author.

"Complex and compelling, Vasquez-Lavado’s quest to heal...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Perpetual West

By Mesha Maren
Narrated by: Tony Chiroldes
Length: 14 hours 48 minutes

When Alex and Elana move from rural Virginia to El Paso, they are just a young married couple, each the other’s best friend, intent on a new beginning. Born in Mexico but adopted to white American Pentecostal parents, Alex is hungry to learn about his heritage and spends every free moment across the border in Juárez—perfecting his Spanish,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Good Son

By Jacquelyn Mitchard
Narrated by: Vivienne Leheny
Length: 11 hours 32 minutes

The Good Son

“The moment Stefan is released from prison, the truth of exactly what happened the night Belinda died begins to unspool. Mitchard has crafted a wonderfully suspenseful tale of obsession, secrets, and guilt, and their far-reaching and devastating effects. This multi-faceted and tautly-woven story kept me captivated to the very end, even after I had surmised the outlines of the truth.”

Raven Book Store image Nancy, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

What the Fireflies Knew

A Novel

By Kai Harris
Narrated by: Zenzi Williams
Length: 8 hours 35 minutes

Named A Most Aniticipated Book of 2022 by *Marie Claire* Buzzfeed* Essence* Bookriot* Bookbub and more! 


In the vein of Jesmyn Ward's Salvage the Bones and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, a coming-of-age novel told by almost-eleven-year-old Kenyatta Bernice (KB), as she and her sister try to make sense of their new life with their...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections

By Eva Jurczyk
Narrated by: Hannah Cabell
Length: 9 hours 40 minutes

What holds more secrets in the library—the ancient books shelved in the stacks or the people who preserve them? Liesl Weiss long ago learned to be content working behind the scenes in the distinguished rare books department of a large university, quietly managing details to make the head of the department look good. But when her boss has a ... Read more »

Audiobook details