Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

The Indie Next List

With new audiobooks added each month, the Indie Next List is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorite handsells and epitomizes the heart and soul of passionate bookselling!

Playlist Tags: topic: indie next new releases

View all playlists

Once There Were Wolves

By Charlotte McConaghy
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 8 hours 27 minutes

Once There Were Wolves

“Inti and Aggie. Sisters. Twins. Aggie with a gift for language and Inti who belongs in the forest. A complicated intertwined life journey has landed the two of them in the wilds of Scotland as part of a wolf rehoming project where local tempers run hot, scientist's missions are complicated, and wolves howl for love and justice in the hills and peat bogs of the highland forests. McConaghy's writing will destroy you, demand your attention, ask you to be still and listen, and will absolutely change you. Once There Were Wolves and after there were, they'll never leave you. ”

The Country Bookshop image Angie, The Country Bookshop
Audiobook details

Damnation Spring

By Ash Davidson
Narrated by: CJ Wilson, Rebecca Lowman, Mark Sanderlin & Candace Thaxton
Length: 15 hours 38 minutes

An epic, immersive debut, Damnation Spring is the deeply human story of a Pacific Northwest logging town wrenched in two by a mystery that threatens to derail its way of life.

For generations, Rich Gundersen’s family has chopped a livelihood out of the redwood forest along California’s rugged coast. Now Rich and his wife, Colleen, are raising... Read more »
Audiobook details

Nightbitch

A Novel

By Rachel Yoder
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 8 hours 52 minutes

Featured in most anticipated lists by Time Magazine, Entertainment Weekly, Nylon, Glamour, Harper's Bazaar, the Chicago Tribune, Business Insider, Bustle, Lit Hub, Book Riot, Thrillist, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, B&N Reads, The Millions, the Chicago Review of Books, the Pittsburgh City Paper, and more...​​ 
 
"A feral, unholy marriage...
Read more »
Audiobook details

She Who Became the Sun

By Shelley Parker-Chan
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 14 hours 36 minutes

Mulan meets The Song of Achilles in Shelley Parker-Chan's She Who Became the Sun, a bold, queer, and lyrical reimagining of the rise of the founding emperor of the Ming Dynasty from an amazing new voice in literary fantasy.

To possess the Mandate of Heaven, the female monk Zhu will do anything


“I refuse to be nothing…”

In a famine-stricken village...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Manningtree Witches

By A. K. Blakemore
Narrated by: Sofia Zervudachi
Length: TBA

England, 1643. Puritanical fervor has gripped the nation. And in Manningtree, a town depleted of men since the wars began, the hot terror of damnation burns in the hearts of women left to their own devices. Rebecca West, fatherless and husbandless, chafes against the drudgery of her days, livened only occasionally by her infatuation with the...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Intimacies

A Novel

By Katie Kitamura
Narrated by: Traci Kato-Kiriyama
Length: 5 hours 26 minutes

Intimacies

“Katie Kitamura's Intimacies details a few months in the life of an interpreter at The Hague who is looking for belonging to a place and perhaps to a partner. Just as she has to see beyond the words in her work, she has to interpret the actions of her married lover as well as the alleged atrocities of a war criminal she works with at the International Court. This novel is both quiet and thrilling.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

Afterparties

Stories

By Anthony Veasna So
Narrated by: Jason Sean
Length: 6 hours 56 minutes

A Roxane Gay's Audacious Book Club Pick!

Named a Best Book of Summer by: Wall Street Journal * Thrillist * Vogue * Lit Hub * Refinery29 * New York Observer * The Daily Beast * Time * BuzzFeed * Entertainment Weekly 

A vibrant story collection about Cambodian-American life—immersive and comic, yet unsparing—that offers profound insight into the...

Read more »
Audiobook details

All's Well

By Mona Awad
Narrated by: Sophie Amoss
Length: 13 hours 8 minutes

All's Well

“Mona Awad's latest, All's Well, is unhinged. But it's 2021, and after the last year, I think it's safe to say we all feel a little unhinged. I found myself delighted to be in the company of Awad's narrator, a woman with chronic pain who is hell-bent on staging a production of Shakespeare's All's Well with a troupe of mutinous undergrads. Awad has written a novel about pain that is not only funny, but heartbreakingly honest. ”

Parnassus Books image Lindsay, Parnassus Books
Audiobook details

We Are the Brennans

By Tracey Lange
Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik
Length: 9 hours 39 minutes

In the vein of Mary Beth Keane’s Ask Again, Yes and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest, Tracey Lange’s We Are the Brennans explores the staying power of shame—and the redemptive power of love—in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.

When twenty-nine-year-old Sunday Brennan wakes up in a Los Angeles hospital, bruised and battered after a...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Mrs. March

By Virginia Feito
Narrated by: Elisabeth Rodgers
Length: TBA

“I read Virginia’s novel in one sitting and was so captured by it I knew I had to make it and play Mrs. March. As a character, she is fascinating, complex, and deeply human and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into her.” —Elisabeth Moss Library Journal • "Books and Authors to Know: Titles to Watch 2021" A twenty-first-century Highsmith, Virginia... Read more »
Audiobook details

Appleseed

A Novel

By Matt Bell
Narrated by: Mark Bramhall
Length: 15 hours 44 minutes

"Woven together out of the strands of myth, science fiction, and ecological warning, Matt Bell’s Appleseed is as urgent as it is audacious." --Kelly Link, Get in Trouble

A "work of incandescent imagination" (Karen Russell) from Young Lions Fiction Award–finalist Matt Bell, a breakout book that explores climate change, manifest destiny, humanity's...

Read more »
Audiobook details

It Happened One Summer

A Novel

By Tessa Bailey
Narrated by: Charlotte North
Length: 10 hours 48 minutes

Tessa Bailey is back with a Schitt’s Creek-inspired rom-com about a Hollywood “It Girl” who’s cut off from her wealthy family and exiled to a small Pacific Northwest beach town... where she butts heads with a surly, sexy local who thinks she doesn’t belong. 

Piper Bellinger is fashionable, influential, and her reputation as a wild child means the...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Clark and Division

By Naomi Hirahara
Narrated by: Allison Hiroto
Length: 8 hours 56 minutes

Chicago, 1944: Twenty-year-old Aki Ito and her parents have just been released from Manzanar, where they have been detained by the US government since the aftermath of Pearl Harbor, together with thousands of other Japanese Americans. The life in California the Itos were forced to leave behind is gone; instead, they are being resettled two... Read more »
Audiobook details

Made in China

A Memoir of Love and Labor

By Anna Qu
Narrated by: Catherine Ho
Length: 5 hours 41 minutes

A young girl forced to work in a Queens sweatshop calls child services on her mother in this powerful debut memoir about labor and self-worth that traces a Chinese immigrant’s journey to an American future.

As a teen, Anna Qu is sent by her mother to work in her family’s garment factory in Queens. At home, she is treated as a maid and suffers... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Reading List

A Novel

By Sara Nisha Adams
Narrated by: Tara Divina, Sagar Arya & Paul Panting
Length: 12 hours 47 minutes


A BEST OF SUMMER READ ACCORDING TO NEWSWEEK, PARADE MAGAZINE, NBC NEWS, LITHUB, AND POPSUGAR!

An unforgettable and heartwarming debut about how a chance encounter with a list of library books helps forge an unlikely friendship between two very different people in a London suburb.

Widower Mukesh lives a quiet life in Wembley, in West London after...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Goldenrod

Poems

By Maggie Smith
Narrated by: Maggie Smith
Length: 1 hours 5 minutes

“To read Maggie Smith is to embrace the achingly precious beauty of the present moment.” —Time

From the award-winning poet and bestselling author of Keep Moving and Good Bones, a stunning poetry collection that celebrates the beauty and messiness of life.

With her breakout bestseller Keep Moving, Maggie Smith captured the nation with her... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Book of Accidents

A Novel

By Chuck Wendig
Narrated by: Xe Sands & George Newbern
Length: 16 hours 48 minutes

family returns to their hometown—and to the dark past that haunts them still—in this masterpiece of literary horror by the New York Times bestselling author of Wanderers

“The dread, the scope, the pacing, the turns—I haven’t felt all this so intensely since The Shining.”—Stephen Graham Jones, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Good... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Turnout

By Megan Abbott
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 11 hours 40 minutes

Bestselling and award-winning author Megan Abbott's revelatory and mesmerizing new novel set against the hothouse of a family-run ballet studio.

With their long necks and matching buns and pink tights, Dara and Marie Durant have been dancers since they can remember. Growing up, they were homeschooled and trained by their glamorous mother, founder... Read more »
Audiobook details

Falling

A Novel

By T. J. Newman
Narrated by: Steven Weber
Length: 8 hours 26 minutes

Falling

Falling is an absolute masterclass in unique suspense fiction. From the first few lines, I could tell this was going to be a stunner, and boy, was I right. I'll be anxiously waiting until Newman releases her next novel!”

Naughty Dog Books image Shelby Roth, Naughty Dog Books
Audiobook details

A Psalm for the Wild-Built

Monk & Robot: Book #1

By Becky Chambers
Narrated by: Emmett Grosland
Length: 4 hours 8 minutes

A Psalm for the Wild-Built

“What do you do when you have everything you could ever need or want, but still aren't satisfied with what your life is? A Psalm for the Wild-Built is a short and sweet odd-couple road trip set in a beautiful world that could be our world — if we wanted it to be.”

DIESEL, A Bookstore image Joey Puente, DIESEL, A Bookstore
Audiobook details