Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Audiobooks by Indigenous Authors

Listen to audiobooks by authors of Indigenous descent!

View all playlists

Probably Ruby

A Novel

By Lisa Bird-Wilson
Narrated by: Dakota Ray Hebert
Length: 8 hours 1 minutes

For readers of Tommy Orange's There There and Terese Marie Mailhot's Heart Berries, Probably Ruby is an audacious, brave and beautiful book about an adopted woman's search for her Indigenous identity.

Relinquished as an infant, Ruby is placed in a foster home and finally adopted by Alice and Mel, a less-than-desirable couple who can't afford to... Read more »

Audiobook details

As Long as Grass Grows

The Indigenous Fight for Environmental Justice, from Colonization to Standing Rock

By Dina Gilio-Whitaker
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 7 hours 8 minutes

The story of Native peoples’ resistance to environmental injustice and land incursions, and a call for environmentalists to learn from the Indigenous community’s rich history of activism

Through the unique lens of “Indigenized environmental justice,” Indigenous researcher and activist Dina Gilio-Whitaker explores the fraught history of treaty... Read more »

Audiobook details

An Afro-Indigenous History of the United States

By Kyle T. Mays
Length: TBA

The first intersectional history of the Black and Native American struggle for freedom in our country that also reframes our understanding of who was Indigenous in early America

Beginning with pre-Revolutionary America and moving into the movement for Black lives and contemporary Indigenous activism, Afro-Indigenous historian, Kyle T. Mays argues... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sanaaq

An Inuit Novel
Contemporary Studies on the North: Book #4

By Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk
Narrated by: Tiffany Ayalik
Length: 5 hours 54 minutes

Sanaaq is an intimate story of an Inuit family negotiating the changes brought into their community by the coming of the qallunaat, the white people, in the mid-nineteenth century. Composed in 48 episodes, it recounts the daily life of Sanaaq, a strong and outspoken young widow, her daughter Qumaq, and their small semi-nomadic community in...

Read more »

Audiobook details

A Two-Spirit Journey

The Autobiography of a Lesbian Ojibwa-Cree Elder
Critical Studies in Native History: Book #18

By Ma-Nee Chacaby
Narrated by: Marsha Knight
Length: 11 hours 57 minutes

A Two-Spirit Journey is Ma-Nee Chacaby’s extraordinary account of her life as an Ojibwa-Cree lesbian. From her early, often harrowing memories of life and abuse in a remote Ojibwa community riven by poverty and alcoholism, Chacaby’s story is one of enduring and ultimately overcoming the social, economic, and health legacies of colonialism....

Read more »

Audiobook details

In My Own Moccasins

A Memoir of Resilience

By Helen Knott
Narrated by: Helen Knott
Length: 8 hours 48 minutes

Helen Knott, a highly accomplished Indigenous woman, seems to have it all. But in her memoir, she offers a different perspective. In My Own Moccasins is an unflinching account of addiction, intergenerational trauma, and the wounds brought on by sexual violence. It is also the story of sisterhood, the power of ceremony, the love of family, and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last Pow-Wow

By That Native Thomas & Steven Paul Judd
Narrated by: That Native Thomas
Length: 9 hours 33 minutes

Sparkling with magical realism, this book follows nine seemingly separate stories that dovetail in an unexpected and profound climax. It begins with a mysterious pow-wow to be held inside a colossal tipi, 200 feet tall and three miles wide, which suddenly appears on the outskirts of a small town. Advertising fliers blanket the area and all of...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Cherokee America

By Margaret Verble
Narrated by: Emily Sutton-Smith
Length: 15 hours 16 minutes

From Pulitzer Prize finalist Margaret Verble, a multilayered, wholly original epic of the American frontier

A baby, a black hired hand, a bay horse, a gun, and a neighbor have all gone missing in the same corner of the Cherokee Nation West. Cherokee America Singer, known as Check, is none too pleased with these developments. As a wealthy farmer,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings

Poems

By Joy Harjo
Narrated by: Joy Harjo
Length: 1 hours 53 minutes

A musical, magical, resilient volume from the first Native American Poet Laureate of the United States

In these poems, the joys and struggles of the everyday are played against the grinding politics of being human. Beginning in a hotel room in the dark of a distant city, we travel through history and follow the memory of the Trail of Tears from...

Read more »

Audiobook details

An American Sunrise

Poems

By Joy Harjo
Narrated by: Joy Harjo
Length: 1 hours 40 minutes

A stunning new volume from the first Native American Poet Laureate of the United States, informed by her tribal history and connection to the land.

In the early 1800s, the Mvskoke people were forcibly removed from their original lands east of the Mississippi to Indian Territory, which is now part of Oklahoma. Two hundred years later, Joy Harjo...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Peacemaker

By Joseph Bruchac
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 3 hours 33 minutes

A twelve-year-old Iroquois boy rethinks his calling after witnessing the arrival of a mystical figure with a message of peace in this historical novel based on the creation of the Iroquois Confederacy.

Twelve-year-old Okwaho’s life has suddenly changed. While out hunting with his best friend, his friend is kidnapped by marauders from a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

A History of Native America

By Ned Blackhawk
Narrated by: Ned Blackhawk
Length: TBA

In these illuminating lectures from Professor Ned Blackhawk (Western Shoshone), a history of Native America is provided from the time shortly before the expeditions of Christopher Columbus to the present. Focusing on the Columbian Exchange, Indians and the American Constitution, American Indian Removal, the Civil War, and the modern age,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Rez Life

An Indian's Journey Through Reservation Life

By David Treuer
Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
Length: 10 hours 51 minutes

Celebrated novelist David Treuer has gained a reputation for writing fiction that expands the horizons of Native American literature. In Rez Life, his first full-length work of nonfiction, Treuer brings a novelist's storytelling skill and an eye for detail to a complex and subtle examination of Native American reservation life, past and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Soul of the Indian and Seven Native American Tales

By Charles Alexander Eastman
Narrated by: Scott Peterson
Length: 2 hours 18 minutes

CharlesAlexander Eastman, an educated and well-known Sioux, saw both sides of thegreat divide between Indians and whites, and he wrote eleven books attemptingto reconcile the two cultures. Although he was a convert to Christianity,Eastman never lost his sense of the wholeness and beauty of the Indian’srelation to his existence and to the natural...

Read more »

Audiobook details

To You We Shall Return

Lessons about Our Planet from the Lakota

By Joseph M. Marshall
Narrated by: Joseph M. Marshall
Length: 4 hours 53 minutes

“Grandmother, you who listen and hear all, you from whom all good things come…It is your embrace we feel when we return to you…”

This traditional Lakota prayer to Grandmother Earth opens Joseph Marshall III’s newest work, a meditation on our connection to the land and an exhortation to respect it. Using a combination of personal anecdote,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Lakota Way

Stories and Lessons for Living

By Joseph M. Marshall
Narrated by: Joseph M. Marshall
Length: 8 hours 45 minutes

A gifted storyteller, historian, and a member of the Sicunga Lakota Sioux, Joseph M. Marshall III has dedicated his entire life to spiritual fulfillment and to teaching others the essence of Lakota wisdom. In The Lakota Way, Marshall shares his own story and many others imparting the wisdom of the Lakota culture. These stories express the heart...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Grandma Says: Wake Up, World!

The Wisdom, Wit, Advice, and Stories of “Grandma Aggie”
The Legacy of the First Nation, Voices of a Generation Series

By Agnes Baker Pilgrim
Narrated by: Agnes Baker Pilgrim
Length: 6 hours 10 minutes

Agnes Baker Pilgrim, known to most as Grandma Aggie, is in her nineties and is the oldest living member of the Takelma Tribe, one of the Confederated Tribes of Siletz.

A descendant of both spiritual and political tribal leaders, Grandma Aggie travels tirelessly around the world to keep traditions alive, to help those in need, and to be a voice...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Doty Meets Coyote

The Legacy of the First Nation, Voices of a Generation Series

By Thomas Doty
Narrated by: Thomas Doty
Length: 7 hours 51 minutes

Doty Meets Coyote is an audio tapestry of traditional and original Native American stories from the American West told by master storyteller Thomas Doty.

It is Thomas Doty’s work as a storyteller to not only perpetuate the Old Time myths with integrity but to add new stories to the collective basket of folklore, just as tellers before him have...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Our History Is the Future

Standing Rock Versus the Dakota Access Pipeline, and the Long Tradition of Indigenous Resistance

By Nick Estes
Narrated by: Bill Andrew Quinn
Length: 9 hours 12 minutes

How two centuries of Indigenous resistance created the movement proclaiming "Water is life"

In 2016, a small protest encampment at the Standing Rock Reservation in North Dakota, initially established to block construction of the Dakota Access oil pipeline, grew to be the largest Indigenous protest movement in the twenty-first century. Water... Read more »

Audiobook details

Strangers

The Reckoner: Book #1

By David A. Robertson
Narrated by: Malcolm Sparrow-Crawford
Length: 7 hours 51 minutes

When Cole Harper is compelled to return to Wounded Sky First Nation, he finds his community in chaos: a series of shocking murders, a mysterious illness ravaging the residents, and re-emerging questions about Cole’s role in the tragedy that drove him away 10 years ago. With the aid of an unhelpful spirit, a disfigured ghost, and his two oldest...

Read more »

Audiobook details