Skip navigation
Skip content
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Audiobooks by Indigenous Authors

Audiobooks by Indigenous Authors

Listen to audiobooks by authors of Indigenous descent!

View all playlists

Keeper'n Me

By Richard Wagamese
Narrated by: Deneh'Cho Thompson & Sam Bob
Length: 9 hours 30 minutes

When Garnet Raven was three years old, he was taken from his home on an Ojibway Indian reserve and placed in a series of foster homes. Having reached his mid-teens, he escapes at the first available opportunity, only to find himself cast adrift on the streets of the big city.

Having skirted the urban underbelly once too often by age 20, he finds... Read more »

Audiobook details

For Joshua

An Ojibway Father Teaches His Son

By Richard Wagamese
Narrated by: Craig Lauzon
Length: 5 hours 44 minutes

The heartfelt memoir from one of Canada's most beloved writers.

Staring the modern world in the eye, Richard Wagamese confronts its snares and perils. He sees people coveting without knowing why, looking for roots without understanding what constitutes home, searching for acceptance without extending reciprocal respect, and longing for love... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ragged Company

By Richard Wagamese
Narrated by: Monique Mojica, J.D. Nicholsen, Benjamin Blais & Wesley French
Length: 15 hours 12 minutes

Four chronically homeless people–Amelia One Sky, Timber, Double Dick and Digger–seek refuge in a warm movie theatre when a severe Arctic Front descends on the city. During what is supposed to be a one-time event, this temporary refuge transfixes them. They fall in love with this new world, and once the weather clears, continue their trips to the... Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app in a gift box

Shop small and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Thunder Through My Veins

A Memoir

By Gregory Scofield
Narrated by: Billy Merasty
Length: 7 hours 21 minutes

Gregory Scofield's Thunder Through My Veins is the heartbreakingly beautiful memoir of one man's journey toward self-discovery, acceptance, and the healing power of art.

Few people can justify a memoir at the age of thirty-three. Gregory Scofield is the exception, a young man who has inhabited several lives in the time most of us can manage only... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Reason You Walk

By Wab Kinew
Narrated by: Wab Kinew
Length: 8 hours 33 minutes

A moving father-son reconciliation told by a charismatic First Nations broadcaster, musician and activist.
          When his father was given a diagnosis of terminal cancer, Winnipeg broadcaster and musician Wab Kinew decided to spend a year reconnecting with the accomplished but distant aboriginal man who'd raised him. The Reason You Walk spans... Read more »

Audiobook details

Medicine River

By Thomas King
Narrated by: Wesley French
Length: 7 hours 4 minutes

 When Will returns to Medicine River, he thinks he is simply attending his mother’s funeral. He doesn’t count on Harlen Bigbear and his unique brand of community planning. Harlen tries to sell Will on the idea of returning to Medicine River to open shop as the town’s only Native photographer. Somehow, that’s exactly what happens.

Through Will’s...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Split Tooth

By Tanya Tagaq
Narrated by: Tanya Tagaq
Length: 5 hours 30 minutes

Split Tooth

“Tanya Tagaq is a musical artist in more ways than one. As a world-renowned Inuit throat singer, she has already stunned the world with her powerful songs and lyrics, but now in her first memoir, an explosive combination of narrative, poetry, myth, truth, and ferocity, she weaves the story of a young girl who comes of age in a small Arctic town, bound by boredom and violence, natural wonder and the spirit world. Life is a beautiful and terrifying thing, and Split Tooth contains all of it.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Melinda, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details

Empire of Wild

By Cherie Dimaline
Narrated by: Michelle St. John
Length: 8 hours 16 minutes

INDIGO'S #1 BEST BOOK OF 2019

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE MARROW THIEVES, THE #1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER, MULTI-AWARD WINNER AND CANADA READS FINALIST

"Wildly entertaining and profound and essential." --Tommy Orange, The New York Times


Broken-hearted Joan has been searching for her husband, Victor, for almost a year--ever since he went... Read more »

Audiobook details

Halfbreed

By Maria Campbell
Narrated by: Maria Campbell
Length: 5 hours 46 minutes

A new, fully restored edition of the essential Canadian classic.

An unflinchingly honest memoir of her experience as a Métis woman in Canada, Maria Campbell's Halfbreed depicts the realities that she endured and, above all, overcame. Maria was born in Northern Saskatchewan, her father the grandson of a Scottish businessman and Métis woman--a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Starlight

By Richard Wagamese
Narrated by: Wesley French
Length: 6 hours 27 minutes

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

The final novel from Richard Wagamese, the bestselling and beloved author of Indian Horse and Medicine Walk, centres on an abused woman on the run who finds refuge on a farm owned by an Indigenous man with wounds of his own. A profoundly moving novel about the redemptive power of love, mercy, and compassion--and the land's...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Peace and Good Order

The Case for Indigenous Justice in Canada

By Harold R. Johnson
Narrated by: Craig Lauzon
Length: 3 hours 11 minutes

An urgent, informed, intimate condemnation of the Canadian state and its failure to deliver justice to Indigenous people by national bestselling author and former Crown prosecutor Harold R. Johnson.

"The night of the decision in the Gerald Stanley trial for the murder of Colten Boushie, I received a text message from a retired provincial court... Read more »

Audiobook details

Give Me Some Truth

By Eric Gansworth
Narrated by: Eric Gansworth & Brittany LeBorgne
Length: 14 hours 20 minutes

A powerful new book from Eric Gansworth, author of If I Ever Get Out of Here, that speaks the truth on race, relationships, and rock from two unforgettable perspectives. Carson Mastick is entering his senior year of high school and desperate to make his mark, on the reservation and off. A rock band -- and winning the local Battle of the Bands,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Pushing the Bear

A Novel of the Trail of Tears

By Diane Glancy
Narrated by: George Guidall, Cristine McMurdo-Wallis, Barbara Caruso, Robert Ramirez, Richard Ferrone, Ed Sala, Kate Forbes, Suzanne Toren, Ruth Ann Phimister & Mark Hammer
Length: 8 hours 55 minutes

In 1838, thirteen thousand Cherokee were forced to leave their homeland in the Southeast and walk 900 miles to present-day Oklahoma. Hunger, cold, fatigue, and disease threatened their very survival. Their grueling relocation trek-the Trail of Tears-takes on new immediacy and meaning with this stunning work of fiction. Maritole loses not only... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf

The Tribe: Book #1

By Ambelin Kwaymullina
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

They’re known as Firestarters. Boomers. Skychangers. The government calls them Illegals—children with inexplicable abilities—and detains them in menacing facilities so that society is kept out of harm’s way. Ashala Wolf and her Tribe of fellow Illegals have taken refuge in the Firstwood, a forest eerily conscious of its inhabitants, where they...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Medicine Walk

By Richard Wagamese
Narrated by: Tom Stechschulte
Length: 8 hours

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac... Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Disappearance of Ember Crow

The Tribe: Book #2

By Ambelin Kwaymullina
Narrated by: Cara Gee
Length: 9 hours 35 minutes

In this fast-paced sequel to The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf, Ashala and her friends face a new danger from the least expected source—one of their own.

After a daring raid on Detention Center 3 to rescue their trapped peers, Ashala Wolf and her Tribe of fellow Illegals—children with powerful and inexplicable abilities—are once again entrenched...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America

By Thomas King
Narrated by: Lorne Cardinal
Length: 9 hours 56 minutes

The Inconvenient Indian is at once a “history” and the complete subversion of a history—in short, a critical and personal meditation that the remarkable Thomas King has conducted over the past 50 years about what it means to be “Indian” in North America.

Rich with dark and light, pain and magic, this book distills the insights gleaned from... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Brave

By James Bird
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 9 hours 6 minutes

Collin can't help himself?he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Oklahoma's Atticus

An Innocent Man and the Lawyer Who Fought for Him

By Hunter Howe Cates
Narrated by: Pat Grimes
Length: 7 hours 41 minutes

Tulsa, Oklahoma, 1953: An impoverished Cherokee named Buster Youngwolfe confesses to brutally raping and murdering his eleven-year-old female relative. When Youngwolfe recants his confession, saying he was forced to confess by the authorities, his city condemns him, except for one man—public defender and Creek Indian Elliott Howe. Recognizing in...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Girl in the Photograph

The True Story of a Native American Child, Lost and Found in America

By Byron L. Dorgan
Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
Length: 6 hours 3 minutes

On a winter morning in 1990, Senator Byron Dorgan of North Dakota picked up the Bismarck Tribune. On the front page, a small girl gazed into the distance, shedding a tear. The headline: Foster home children beaten—and nobody's helping. Dorgan, who had been working with American Indian tribes to secure resources, was distressed. He flew to the...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference