Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

July's Bookseller Picks

Libro.fm offers recommendations from real people: the dedicated indie booksellers working in our 1,400+ partner bookstores! Below, find the audiobooks that booksellers are loving this month, and get more recommendations here!

Playlist Tags: fiction mystery thriller young adult science fiction bookseller romance nonfiction fantasy historical fiction bookseller recommeded

View all playlists

Filthy Animals

By Brandon Taylor
Narrated by: Kevin R. Free, Nicole Lewis & TL Thompson
Length: 7 hours 42 minutes

Filthy Animals

“These stories about human relationships range from those between lovers, friends, and family. How is it that Taylor can write so that we can see the interior crevices of these characters’ souls?”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel Watkins, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Natural Mother of the Child

A Memoir of Nonbinary Parenthood

By Krys Malcolm Belc
Length: 4 hours 21 minutes

The Natural Mother of the Child

“One of the best memoirs I've ever read about the messiness of parenthood, especially as a parent who gives birth both outside of and within ‘motherhood.’ I — we — so needed this book.”

White Whale Bookstore image Anna Weber, White Whale Bookstore
Audiobook details

All the Lonely People

By Mike Gayle
Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
Length: 12 hours 20 minutes

All the Lonely People

“For fans of Fredrick Backman's Ove, All the Lonely People is all that and MORE. Hubert Bird is cantankerous, opinionated, and lonely. But Hubert has created a whole complicated imaginary life so that his daughter will not worry about him after the death of his wife. On weekly phone calls, he builds the house of cards and she inhabits it. Until one day...she decides to visit and Hubert has a problem. Hubert's journey is heartfelt and engaging. Incredibly human, charming, sweet, touching, and a reminder to enjoy what we have.”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

What Happened to You?

Conversations on Trauma, Resilience, and Healing

By Oprah Winfrey & Bruce D. Perry
Narrated by: Bruce D. Perry & Oprah Winfrey
Length: 8 hours 27 minutes

"[Oprah Winfrey and Bruce D. Perry] are both capable, likable narrators who are sincerely engaged with their subject matter...The performances of these two humanitarians make this a must-hear for anyone recovering from their traumatic past." -- AudioFile Magazine

This program is read by the authors.

Our earliest experiences shape our lives far...

Read more »
Audiobook details

While Justice Sleeps

A Novel

By Stacey Abrams
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo & Stacey Abrams
Length: 14 hours 54 minutes

While Justice Sleeps

“Highly recommend this legal thriller! I was pleasantly surprised by Ms. Abram's writing style and talent. She kept me engaged and on my toes throughout the entire book. I couldn't figure out what was coming and the reveal came as a surprise.”

The Book Worm Bookstore image Julia, The Book Worm Bookstore
Audiobook details

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

A Novel

By Honoree Fanonne Jeffers
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi
Length: 29 hours 48 minutes

“This sweeping, brilliant and beautiful narrative is at once a love song to Black girlhood, family, history, joy, pain… and so much more. In Jeffers' deft hands, the story of race and love in America becomes the great American novel.” —Jacqueline Woodson, author of Red at the Bone and Another Brooklyn

A Ms. Most Anticipated Book of the Year • A...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Ordinary Girls

By Blair Thornburgh
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 8 hours 21 minutes

Ordinary Girls

“Ordinary Girls is a delightful book to listen to in Jorjeana Marie's reading. This tale of two sisters is a contemporary coming of age story based loosely on Sense and Sensibility, but it reminded me most of I Capture the Castle. Plum and Ginny and their mother live in a rambling and beautiful (and rundown) house. While college looms large for older sister Ginny, Plum feels overshadowed by both her sister and her writer father's legacy. What can she do to make her own mark, in her own way? Plum's musing and adventures make for great company while driving, doing chores, or just relaxing on a summer afternoon.”

Annie Bloom's Books image Ruby, Annie Bloom's Books
Audiobook details

Island Queen

A Novel

By Vanessa Riley
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 20 hours 49 minutes

Island Queen

“Both sweeping and intimate, beautiful and painful, this novel based on the life of Dorothy Kirwan Thomas is exquisite. Riley’s research is palpable in the detail of each chapter, and readers will find themselves compulsively turning the pages until the end.”

East City Bookshop image Destinee Hodge, East City Bookshop
Audiobook details

Anne of Manhattan

A Novel

By Brina Starler
Narrated by: Carly Robins
Length: 8 hours 49 minutes

L. M. Montgomery’s classic tale, Anne of Green Gables, gets a romantic, charming, and hilarious modern adaptation, set in New York City.




After an idyllic girlhood in Avonlea, Long Island, Anne has packed up her trunk, said goodbye to her foster parents, Marilla and Matthew, and moved to the isle of Manhattan for grad school. Together with her... Read more »
Audiobook details

Our Woman in Moscow

A Novel

By Beatriz Williams
Narrated by: Nicola Barber & Cassandra Campbell
Length: 12 hours 36 minutes

Our Woman in Moscow

“Ruth Macallister runs a New York modeling agency, while twin Iris Digby chooses marriage and motherhood, but her diplomat husband turns out to be a spy. Can Ruth extricate Iris from exile in Moscow? A wonderful plot weaves around Red Scare events of the early 1950s.”

Signs of Life image Clay Belcher, Signs of Life
Audiobook details

The Darkness Outside Us

By Eliot Schrefer
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: 9 hours 49 minutes

They Both Die at the End meets The Loneliest Girl in the Universe in this mind-bending sci-fi mystery and tender love story about two boys aboard a spaceship sent on a rescue mission, from two-time National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer.

Two boys, alone in space. Sworn enemies sent on the same rescue mission.

Ambrose wakes up on the...

Read more »
Audiobook details

People We Meet on Vacation

By Emily Henry
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 10 hours 46 minutes

People We Meet on Vacation

“What fun! This delightful book should be in every beach bag this summer. A hilariously comedic rom-com with memorable characters, set in varied vacation spots in various years. I enjoyed the changing timeline and seeing the relationship as it grew through the years.”

Monkey and Dog Books image Shelley Lowe, Monkey and Dog Books
Audiobook details

Dial A for Aunties

By Jesse Q. Sutanto
Narrated by: Risa Mei
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

"Sutanto brilliantly infuses comedy and culture into the unpredictable rom-com/murder mystery mashup as Meddy navigates familial duty, possible arrest and a groomzilla. I laughed out loud and you will too.”—USA Today (four-star review)

“A hilarious, heartfelt romp of a novel about—what else?—accidental murder and the bond of family. This book...
Read more »
Audiobook details

The Personal Librarian

By Marie Benedict & Victoria Christopher Murray
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

The Personal Librarian

“I dearly loved this historical fiction based on the life of J.P. Morgan's personal librarian. My favorite combination of entertaining and educational!”

Elizabeth Barnhill image Elizabeth Barnhill, Fabled Bookshop & Café
Audiobook details

Seek You

A Journey Through American Loneliness

By Kristen Radtke
Narrated by: Kristen Radtke
Length: 1 hours 58 minutes

Seek You

“In Seek You, Kristen Radtke approaches the epidemic of American loneliness from a variety of angles. A thoughtful exploration of a complex problem that offers understanding, not easy answers.”

Powell's Books image Keith Mosman, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

Cemetery Boys

By Aiden Thomas
Narrated by: Avi Roque
Length: 13 hours 47 minutes

Cemetery Boys

“"Listening to Cemetery Boys made me smile. A lot. Aiden Thomas presents a story of persistence, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Yadriel, a trans, teenage, latinx boy, lives in a family of brujos and brujas. After coming out as trans his family does not know where he fits within their traditions. With the help of his opinionated cousin Maritza, Yadriel completes the ceremony to become a brujo in secret and accidentally summons the wrong ghost: Julian, a high energy boy from his school. Yadriel, Julian and Maritza set out to solve the mystery of Julian’s death, and to release his spirit. Of course, to make things more awkward, Yadriel develops a crush on the spirit boy. What more could one ask for? Thomas creates a magical but real world highlighting family dynamics surrounding trans identity within a gendered society, the need to prove oneself, and the importance of connecting to family. This book may sound spooky, but instead the story is feel-good, heartwarming, and silly at times; it’s all about celebrating life and being who you are."”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details

Dear Miss Metropolitan

A Novel

By Carolyn Ferrell
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 12 minutes

Dear Miss Metropolitan

“This searing debut is loosely based on the case of three young women who spent years in captivity in a Cleveland basement in the early 2000s. Ferrell moves the action to New York City, but keeps the horror and grief intact. Told in fragmented bursts by multiple voices, the rage and terror of the victims is laid bare, daring the reader to look away. While fragile redemption is achieved, it is weak tea in the face of the abuses endured. A formidable first novel from a powerful, singular voice.”

Mac's Back-Books image Grace, Mac's Back-Books
Audiobook details

A Psalm for the Wild-Built

Monk & Robot: Book #1

By Becky Chambers
Narrated by: Emmett Grosland
Length: 4 hours 8 minutes

A Psalm for the Wild-Built

“What do you do when you have everything you could ever need or want, but still aren't satisfied with what your life is? A Psalm for the Wild-Built is a short and sweet odd-couple road trip set in a beautiful world that could be our world — if we wanted it to be.”

DIESEL, A Bookstore image Joey Puente, DIESEL, A Bookstore
Audiobook details

Owls of the Eastern Ice

A Quest to Find and Save the World's Largest Owl

By Jonathan C. Slaght
Narrated by: Jonathan C. Slaght
Length: 8 hours 43 minutes

Owls of the Eastern Ice

“This was just the kind of escape I needed: an epic adventure in a wild place and conservation story wrapped up in a skillfully crafted narrative. Jonathon Slaght engagingly tells the story of his PhD research project, tracking the Blakiston's Fish Owl in the wild reaches of eastern Russia. The world's largest owl, fish owls are super elusive, feeding on salmon in remote Russia, sharing its habitat with Amur tigers and humans trying to get by in extremely harsh circumstances. The owls haunt the pages, mostly unseen as Slaght and his team track them on snowmobile trips over treacherous ice and terrain. Encounters with the locals along the way add another layer to this conservation story. This is a go-to for birders, conservationists, and nature writing fans.”

Brilliant Books Audio image Rachel, Brilliant Books Audio
Audiobook details

How the Word Is Passed

A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America

By Clint Smith
Narrated by: Clint Smith
Length: 10 hours 7 minutes

"We need this book." Ibram X. Kendi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to be an Anti-Racist

The Atlantic staff writer and poet Clint Smith's revealing, contemporary portrait of America as a slave owning nation


Beginning in his hometown of New Orleans, Clint Smith leads the reader on an unforgettable tour of monuments and landmarks—those...

Read more »
Audiobook details

  • 1